We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a wonderful place…” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Seaton Dream B & B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A Seaton Dream B & B
Ranked #10 of 115 Toronto B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Such a wonderful place…”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Peaceful, quiet and so comfortable…the best stay I never got in the city of Toronto.
The place is very clean … do not worry about that and it’s rare in a big city.
Two fantastic hosts with great recommendations and advice.
Jamie and Alan were warm and welcoming and very attentive to my needs.

Breakfasts were prepared with fresh ingredients and everyday was something different
and delicious… A real highlight of the stay there.

I was staying in the Retreat room…perfect if you want to be quiet.
The room and bathroom were neat and clean.
The air conditioning kept the room nice and cool during a heat wave Toronto was experiencing during my visit.

The location was good; I loved the street it was on which had lots of character and we were approximately a ten minute walk from the centre of town.

This B&B is clean and well-run; comfortable and nicely appointed.
I would definitely recommend A Seaton Dream to others visiting Toronto.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    12
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
78
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed with Jamie and Alan at A Seaton Dream for seven nights when visiting Toronto from Norway. We had such an excellent experience both with Toronto and A Seaton Dream. The breakfast is amazing and so are the hosts. We felt very welcomed and Jamie had lots of tips on what to do in Toronto.

We stayed in the East Wing that had it's own balcony. Would recommend this room if you go in summer, always nice to have a little outdoor space.

All in all, a great experience, would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norwegian_aliens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at A Seaton Dream. We stayed in the “Retreat” room, which really did feel like a retreat in that it was private and cozy. The room and bathroom were neat and clean. The air conditioning kept the room nice and cool during a heat wave Toronto was experiencing during our visit. The common areas (living room, dining room, and back garden) were beautifully decorated and very relaxing. The house is located on a tree-lined street with beautiful old Victorian homes.

Jamie, the host, was wonderful. He was so helpful whenever we had questions or needed help or advice. He’s a true professional. We only interacted briefly with Alan, the other host, but he seemed nice, too.

Jamie’s breakfasts were a highlight of our stay! We stayed for five nights, and every morning, he served a different breakfast. All were creative, delicious, and filling. Each breakfast included a main entrée, fruit, some variation on toast, cold cereal, yogurt, coffee/tea, and orange juice.

We were able to park on the street for free since we stayed more than three nights. We didn’t use the car to get around Toronto, though. A Seaton Dream is close to public transportation and within walking distance of the center of the city. There are also good restaurants very close to the B&B. We especially liked House on Parliament and Cafune (Brazilian restaurant).

A few other reviewers questioned the safety of the neighborhood. There is a homeless shelter nearby, so we did see quite a few homeless people around the area. However, we were never approached or threatened by anyone. Still, my husband and I kept our wits about us, especially after dark, just as we would in any big city. We never had any problems.

We highly recommend A Seaton Dream and look forward to returning next time we are in Toronto!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 777884444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

This was our first stop during our honeymoon in Canada and we were not disappointed. Before we had even completed our booking we had an email from Jamie and Alan making us aware that the room we had chosen (the retreat) was in the basement of the house and double checking we would still be happy to go ahead. We really appreciated such contact because it demonstrated their honesty and good service.

We went ahead with our choice of room and were very happy - it felt very private, self-contained and the room was large but felt cozy. Both the bedroom and en suite bathroom were spotlessly clean and decorated to a high standard but was quirky enough to fit in with the overall feel of downtown Toronto where the property is located.

The location was good; we loved the street it was on which had lots of character and we were approximately a ten minute walk from the centre of town. Jamie also organised a parking permit for us which we did not need to pay extra for because we were staying for three nights.

Jamie was a fantastic host with great recommendations for bars, restaurants etc and advice. His breakfasts were absolutely delicious and a real highlight of the stay there. I would definitely recommend A Seaton Dream to others visiting Toronto.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jasmine2404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
199 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

The B&B is one side of a semi-detached home on a street with many lovely homes that likely date from the early 1990's. We've taken the front room on each occasion. It's much larger than the one at the back of the house but that one has a very nice balcony. So, if the weather's nice, it's worth considering. You need a car to get around in Toronto and the on street parking was very convenient. No matter what time we left or returned, we had a spot almost directly in front of the B&B. Jamie is your host. He's very warm and friendly and easy to talk to and he prepares a delicious breakfast - one day sweet and the next savoury. Although the B&B has three rooms, (there's one downstairs that we haven't seen) and although there were other guests during our first visit, we had the table to ourselves. (Jamie's partner, Allan, exists but you rarely see him.) There's so much so see and do in Toronto and there are so many supherb restaurants to enjoy. A Seaton Dream is a great base for your stay.

Room Tip: The front room is larger and there's plenty of light from the bay window and a pretty view but y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pickascreennamepicka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catskill, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

Beautiful tree-lined street a short walk through a beautiful park to the gay village. Our stay was short but very pleasant. Our room (East Wing) was simple but charming. Unfortunately the weather was rainy and cold so we couldn't take advantage of the balcony. And the breakfast was excellent. Thanks, Jamie.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aseatondream, Owner at A Seaton Dream B & B, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Thanks so much for your kind review. We love to make people happy! We just wanted to note for people reading the review that we only charge for the parking permit because the city charges us....but if you stay for three nights or longer we absorb the cost and the parking permit is free.

Cheers!

Jamie and Alan
A Seaton Dream B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

We came here for a night and stayed at the West Wing.
We wish we could've stayed longer and just lounged around the room, enjoying the charming view of the street, the tasteful decor, and that nice tub we never got a chance to try.
Everything was in pristine condition, quiet and comfortable--it gave me the space to compose several poems by the window and even crank out a short review.
Our hosts, Jamie and Alan, gave us the freedom to do our own thing, come and go as we please, and were very accommodating with our dietary and scheduling needs. We got stuck at the border for a while but Jamie was very nice about. He even let us check out later the next day.
Central location is nice to just park and walk towards downtown Toronto, not a bad walk even in cold and wind. Even though the parking pass cost $20, it's good until 12am the next day so we left it there after we checked out and walked around the city some more.

Room Tip: Loved the West Wing, nice view of the street, and some downtown towers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mira B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Grand Hotel Toronto
Grand Hotel Toronto
#21 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,828 reviews
Downtown
The Saint James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Downtown
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
#58 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown
Ramada Plaza Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Seaton Dream B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Seaton Dream B & B

Property: A Seaton Dream B & B
Address: 243 Seaton St | Toronto, Ontario, Toronto, Ontario M5A 2T5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — A Seaton Dream B & B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private bathrooms for all! Experience casual elegance in downtown Toronto. We have carefully planned the decor of our bed and breakfast, which was completely renovated in 2007, to ensure you instantly feel relaxed and comfortable. Whether you are enjoying the garden patio, rejuvenating yourself in the sauna, drifting off to sleep on our new mattresses, or savoring a delicious hot breakfast, we look forward to making you feel at home every minute of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your A Seaton Dream B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing