We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast "with a twist"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
A Seaton Dream B & B
Ranked #12 of 115 Toronto B&B and Inns
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Breakfast "with a twist"”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed here recently in the Retreat. A very comfortable room downstairs in the basement which was very private and had a bathroom with a tub. This was appreciated as a lot of B&Bs only have showers. It was very quiet too, situated on a lovely tree-lined street.

Jamie was very welcoming and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. He gave us information on the restaurants and the area. His cooked breakfasts were delightful - every day something different - "with a twist" he would say.

The B&B was within easy walking distance of the attractions and near to the streetcars and buses so we left our car outside in the street.

Highlights of our stay (apart from Jamie's breakfasts) was Casa Loma and dinner at the top of the CN tower which Jamie kindly booked for us. Unforgettable views of an amazing sunset.

Finally, we would thoroughly recommend this B&B - it was delightful. So much better than being anonymous in a large hotel. We really enjoyed our stay. A big thank you to Jamie - 10/10!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    13
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
79
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Our 5-member adult family occupied all 3 rooms for 3 nights last week and were delighted with our stay.The rooms were exceptionally clean and well maintained.Jamie,our host,was remarkable in his efforts to respond to our questions and needs.His breakfasts were photogenic and delicious,truly gormet.We all enjoyed him and his local knowledge.
The B&B location was enjoyable to us from a people watching perspective.One afternoon,we had our cheese and libations on the front porch and had several pleasant conversations with neighbors and passers-by.Depending upon one's interests,"downtown" Toronto could be in a variety of locations;we felt close to downtown and walked to many attractions.We like to use public transportation and the B&B was 2 blocks from a north-south bus route and 3 blocks from an east-west route so that all attractions were accessible.
We feel fortunate to have discovered Seaton Dream's website,an accurate reflection of the good taste and character of our retreat in Toronto.Cudos to Jamie and Alan.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 532Joel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I stayed at A Seaton Dream last spring and loved it. Jamie and Alan were incredibly welcoming and they have put a lot of effort into creating a beautiful, peaceful and comfortable home. The location is absolutely perfect - a quiet and leafy street, yet only a 15 minute walk to Dundas square, St Laurence market and other downtown attractions.
I stayed in the East Wing, with the balcony, and would highly recommend it - it was lovely to have an outdoor space, even during the cooler months.
Breakfast every morning was superb - made fresh and different every day! (delicious pancakes especially!)
All in all, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would recommend it to anyone looking for a home away from home in Toronto!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jadp86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Peaceful, quiet and so comfortable…the best stay I never got in the city of Toronto.
The place is very clean … do not worry about that and it’s rare in a big city.
Two fantastic hosts with great recommendations and advice.
Jamie and Alan were warm and welcoming and very attentive to my needs.

Breakfasts were prepared with fresh ingredients and everyday was something different
and delicious… A real highlight of the stay there.

I was staying in the Retreat room…perfect if you want to be quiet.
The room and bathroom were neat and clean.
The air conditioning kept the room nice and cool during a heat wave Toronto was experiencing during my visit.

The location was good; I loved the street it was on which had lots of character and we were approximately a ten minute walk from the centre of town.

This B&B is clean and well-run; comfortable and nicely appointed.
I would definitely recommend A Seaton Dream to others visiting Toronto.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed with Jamie and Alan at A Seaton Dream for seven nights when visiting Toronto from Norway. We had such an excellent experience both with Toronto and A Seaton Dream. The breakfast is amazing and so are the hosts. We felt very welcomed and Jamie had lots of tips on what to do in Toronto.

We stayed in the East Wing that had it's own balcony. Would recommend this room if you go in summer, always nice to have a little outdoor space.

All in all, a great experience, would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norwegian_aliens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at A Seaton Dream. We stayed in the “Retreat” room, which really did feel like a retreat in that it was private and cozy. The room and bathroom were neat and clean. The air conditioning kept the room nice and cool during a heat wave Toronto was experiencing during our visit. The common areas (living room, dining room, and back garden) were beautifully decorated and very relaxing. The house is located on a tree-lined street with beautiful old Victorian homes.

Jamie, the host, was wonderful. He was so helpful whenever we had questions or needed help or advice. He’s a true professional. We only interacted briefly with Alan, the other host, but he seemed nice, too.

Jamie’s breakfasts were a highlight of our stay! We stayed for five nights, and every morning, he served a different breakfast. All were creative, delicious, and filling. Each breakfast included a main entrée, fruit, some variation on toast, cold cereal, yogurt, coffee/tea, and orange juice.

We were able to park on the street for free since we stayed more than three nights. We didn’t use the car to get around Toronto, though. A Seaton Dream is close to public transportation and within walking distance of the center of the city. There are also good restaurants very close to the B&B. We especially liked House on Parliament and Cafune (Brazilian restaurant).

A few other reviewers questioned the safety of the neighborhood. There is a homeless shelter nearby, so we did see quite a few homeless people around the area. However, we were never approached or threatened by anyone. Still, my husband and I kept our wits about us, especially after dark, just as we would in any big city. We never had any problems.

We highly recommend A Seaton Dream and look forward to returning next time we are in Toronto!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 777884444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

This was our first stop during our honeymoon in Canada and we were not disappointed. Before we had even completed our booking we had an email from Jamie and Alan making us aware that the room we had chosen (the retreat) was in the basement of the house and double checking we would still be happy to go ahead. We really appreciated such contact because it demonstrated their honesty and good service.

We went ahead with our choice of room and were very happy - it felt very private, self-contained and the room was large but felt cozy. Both the bedroom and en suite bathroom were spotlessly clean and decorated to a high standard but was quirky enough to fit in with the overall feel of downtown Toronto where the property is located.

The location was good; we loved the street it was on which had lots of character and we were approximately a ten minute walk from the centre of town. Jamie also organised a parking permit for us which we did not need to pay extra for because we were staying for three nights.

Jamie was a fantastic host with great recommendations for bars, restaurants etc and advice. His breakfasts were absolutely delicious and a real highlight of the stay there. I would definitely recommend A Seaton Dream to others visiting Toronto.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasmine2404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Downtown
The Saint James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
#60 of 136 in Toronto
6,083 reviews
Downtown
Grand Hotel Toronto
Grand Hotel Toronto
#22 of 136 in Toronto
1,908 reviews
Downtown
Toronto Garden Inn
Toronto Garden Inn
#7 of 115 in Toronto
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Seaton Dream B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Seaton Dream B & B

Property: A Seaton Dream B & B
Address: 243 Seaton St | Toronto, Ontario, Toronto, Ontario M5A 2T5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — A Seaton Dream B & B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private bathrooms for all! Experience casual elegance in downtown Toronto. We have carefully planned the decor of our bed and breakfast, which was completely renovated in 2007, to ensure you instantly feel relaxed and comfortable. Whether you are enjoying the garden patio, rejuvenating yourself in the sauna, drifting off to sleep on our new mattresses, or savoring a delicious hot breakfast, we look forward to making you feel at home every minute of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your A Seaton Dream B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing