We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real dream of a b & b”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
A Seaton Dream B & B
Ranked #13 of 117 Toronto B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 June 2007

We stayed here at the beginning of our honeymoon in May. What a find. Jamie and Alan are the perfects hosts, and the attention to detail was excellent. The house was tastefully decorated, the room was quiet, clean and made us feel like we were the only guests ever to have stayed here. The jacuzzi tub is a real treat after a hard day's sightseeing. The breakfasts were excellent, really well presented, and nothing was ever too much trouble. A 15 minute walk from the main tourist area of Toronto, we would recommend this retreat to anyone wanting to avoid the impersonal stay of a hotel. Jamie and Alan we will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Honeymooners_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
There are newer reviews for A Seaton Dream B & B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2007

Our trip to Toronto was all the better for staying at the excellent 'A Seaton Dream' in very pleasant Seaton Street. Don't you just love it when people running a place get it right! Very tastefully decorated, this is a stylish yet incredibly homely b & b - an absolute breath of fresh air for those wanting to avoid the faceless, couldn't-care-less hotel chains. Jamie & Alan are superb hosts; laid back but very efficient and quick to help with anything you need. Breakfast truly delicious - and chatting to fellow guests, a very relaxed way to start the day. Without doubt, one of the friendliest and most interesting places we've ever stayed. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Podule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2007

After a long North America trip it was like coming home a few weeks early, before actually going back to Germany. The B&B immediately felt like home and Jamie and Alan, the two owners, were absolutely welcoming and helpful.
During the days at the B&B we met more nice and openminded people from all over the world, than in later months living in Toronto!
The atmosphere was very relaxed and the service more than satisfying. The breakfast gets you through the day easily and you can always count on the recommendations given by the two.
In future, there will be ensuite bathrooms for all the rooms, which will make a stay even more comfortable.
The cute little garden looked very inviting to wind down after a long day of walking around the city. And you can walk literally everywhere from Seaton Street. Alternatively there is two different street cars nearby.
The area of 'Cabbage Town' where the 'Seaton Dream' is located is an up and coming area with a very interesting social mix and a very authentic feel, urban along the main streets and cosy in the side streets with a couple of small bars and restaurants in walking distance.
All in all I have to say that Jamie and Alan evolved from perfect hosts to even better friends!

  • Stayed: March 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank HardyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2006

The positive points about this B&B are as follows:
1. The location in terms of distance from the city centre is good as it is only some 15 minutes walk to the Eaton Centre.
2. The hosts are friendly and the atmosphere in the B&B is relaxed. It is more like staying with friends rather than a commercial deal.
3. The breakfasts are both wholesome and sufficent for most peoples needs.
4. It was not particulary expensive.
The negative points are:
1. The area that the B&B is situated in, is not the most salobrious. Indeed on arrival by taxi from the train station I started to wonder if the driver was heading in the wrong direction. The problem with the area for those of a nervous disposition is that the B&B is situated in the east side of the city. As with most big industrial or port cities the east side tended to be populated by the workers and consequently was generally last to receive any positive attention from the city authorities.
Whilst I had no particular problem with the area I could see where others would be put off as there are a number of single mens hotels and homeless refuges in the area, though not in Seaton Street itself. If you are concerned about walking in this type of area, this B&B is not for you!
2. Seaton Street and its immediate environs are situated in an area that is presently undergoing something of a renaissance. The B&B itself is an old period house that sits in a quiet tree lined street with similar type properties on both sides of the street. This is obviously an area that is now being populated by the better off of the city and there is clear evidence of significant renovation and redevelopment of the existing property in the area, but there is still away to go.
3. If you visit the home website for the B&B, I would warn that in its present form it substantially oversells the property, e.g. the west wing is really just the large front room of the property and the rear garden and sauna is not really something to write home about.
4. Whilst friendly and easygoing the guys who own the property need to realise that if they wish to encourage guests, particularly women, to avail themselves of the kitchen facilities then they need to ensure that it is kept clean and tidy at all times. I am afraid that used dishes and pans left in the sink and on the cooker does not leave a good impression.
5. They also have to realise that guests expect to have their towels changed, or at least be offered a change, on a daily basis and that rubbish bins in the room should also be emptied. We found that this was not done, even though I would describe myself as being a fairly low maintenance type of guest.
6. The "shared" bathroom was right out of the 1960's, however the B&B is closed for renovations for four months and the rooms are to be fitted out with en-suite facilities so this issue should be resolved.
In conclusion, I was disappointed with the overall standard of the accomodation on offer. This was my first stop on a five city vacation to Canada, which I was visiting for the first time. I am glad to say however that this negative experience was not repeated throughout the rest of my journey.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
66  Thank Jigsawman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2006

This was a great B&B to stay in. We felt so welcomed by our hosts. The room was great, as well as the breakfast every morning.
I had originally planned to stay in a hotel, and am glad I chose this option. It is a lovely, cozy house to come home to at the end of the day.
Everything was clean and well cared for.
We were able to walk downtown within minutes, or take a street car to major attractions.
I would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
43  Thank Aradia76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2006

Firstly let me start by thaking other people who have written reviews about this place, it was this that prompted me to book this B & B.

Our hosts Alan & Jamie were great, Jamie is a good cook, and we looked forward to our beakfast everymorning, because everyday was something different.

The room we had was at the front of the house and it was lovely, tastfully decorated, and spacious. Both of us usually find hotel beds uncomfortable after a couple of days. The beds at this B & B were so comfortable, and we had a really good nights sleep everynight.

Considering we were only a 20 minute walk from the City Centre (Well the Eaton Centre) it was also so very peaceful.

I wasn't looking forward to having to share a bathroom, but as they said in the advertisement, it was not a problem, even when the house was fully booked, we still did not have to wait for anyone else to vacate it before we could use it.

On the day we arrived Jamie gave a few pointers on where we might like to eat, and all the places he suggested were very good, be warned the portions are on the large size

Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts, and you can be sure my husband and I will be returning again. They are going to be doing some work on the property adding ensuite bathrooms and then re-decorating, so can't wait.

I am only sorry I did not take any photos of the property for others to see how nice it was, but i'm sure anyone who stays won't be disappointed

We were going to stay in one of the hotels by the waterfront, and I am so glad we didn't, we were right in the heart of the community

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
40  Thank Lissypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2004

We stayed here for a fabulous week in August and Jamie and Alan were the perfect hosts. Fantastic breakfasts (we didn't have the same one twice), beautiful bedrooms and garden. They don't have any en-suite, but we had the downstairs room and the bathroom was right across the hall and we had sole use of it. They were really helpful with any queries we had, in fact they couldn't do enough for us. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
39  Thank AliGZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#56 of 137 in Toronto
2,698 reviews
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown
Grand Hotel Toronto
Grand Hotel Toronto
#26 of 137 in Toronto
1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
#60 of 137 in Toronto
6,435 reviews
Downtown
The Saint James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Downtown
Toronto Garden Inn
Toronto Garden Inn
#7 of 117 in Toronto
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Seaton Dream B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Seaton Dream B & B

Address: 243 Seaton St, Toronto, Ontario M5A 2T5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range: £94 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — A Seaton Dream B & B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private bathrooms for all! Experience casual elegance in downtown Toronto. We have carefully planned the decor of our bed and breakfast, which was completely renovated in 2007, to ensure you instantly feel relaxed and comfortable. Whether you are enjoying the garden patio, rejuvenating yourself in the sauna, drifting off to sleep on our new mattresses, or savoring a delicious hot breakfast, we look forward to making you feel at home every minute of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your A Seaton Dream B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing