We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not hotel but hostel, nobody at the office”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites
Ranked #67 of 103 Speciality Lodging in Toronto
Opava
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not hotel but hostel, nobody at the office”
Reviewed 2 July 2009

This place is not the hotel but a hostel. If you take up with that you ok. There was missing button on air conditioning in my room but I had no chance tell it to the manager - he never appeared in the office. The blanket was quite ugly but fortunately bed sheet was enough because night was hot.
Carefully arrange your arrival out of front desk hours and do not give the signed paper to the notice board - I did, paper somehow disappeared (I hope nobody enjoys my credit card number printed on it) and later I obtained an abusive mail from the manager ("You ought to be ashamed of yourself").
Never more.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tlustoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAINTLAWRENCERESIDE, General Manager at Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites, responded to this review, 13 October 2010
Thanks for your comments. In a way you are half right. We are Hostel as well as Hotel, and you as a customer decide what you want. We make a no secret of our limited hours, inspite of all our efforts, if a guest arrives late at night without informing us, we still do our best to provide them a remote check-in. The remote check-in is strictly to help you, as a guest, we rather see you come in during the limited front desk hour. One of the imprtant thing is, we provide you the access to the property and to your room remotely; and you provide signed folio, and credit card slip (that were left for you, as you never provided us the arrival time) You failed to fulfill your part. Remote check-in is, on honour basis, and when you try evade the payment for room, it makes you suspecious. Talking about credit card, the industry survives only because it guarantees you that fraudulent charges will not be forced on you. We use credit card with that assurance that we will never have to pay, for what we have been defrauded.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    6
    5
    3
    48
See reviews for
6
12
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2009

A good place for people just arriving to toronto with no clue of what to do with themselvees; very centric place minutes away from anywhere by walking and seconds away from the streetcar/TTC (Toronto Transport Comission).
the common area is hardly used by some sociological, personal reason, but you are free to use it to you desire and it's very comfty. Walls however, are a little too thin for persons loke me who sing day and night. Nice view from my window.
In overall, a good place to start, but not a place to stay forever. more like a temporary place.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shagiedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAINTLAWRENCERESIDE, General Manager at Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites, responded to this review, 13 October 2010
Appreciate you comments. Being a small property, we tend to fulfill many needs, like short term for guests like you, long term for students in nearby universities and colleges. Hostel, when price is the major motive, and Hotel with Suites; when you don't mind spending a little extra. Drop in and stay with us, if your needs brings you to downtown Toronto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2007

Worse place I have ever stayed in my life. What a dump. I do not even classify this as a hotel, suites or residence for that matter. The owner guy was rude not understanding at all. The place is very ghetto to say the least. I recommend to any and all people to stay away from this place if you do not want to be sorely disappointed.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — all of it
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank hmmmm37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAINTLAWRENCERESIDE, PROPERTY MANAGER at Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites, responded to this review, 20 August 2007
Usually when some one leaves extreme remarks, we know from the text, who the person is. You! ....We have no clue. Either you have never been a guest and grudging on behalf of someone else. Whatever are your reasons, let me tell you something, no one gets rude for no reason. If you push anybody to extreme, then be prepared to be pushed back. Hopefully, we live in a world of sensible people, I didn't say saints. If your expectation are right, you will always get what you paid for. As someone said, "there are no FREE bananas"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Toronto hotels

Toronto,Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2006

Never ever give your credit card information to the owner of this crappy hotel. He will rip you apart! He charged me 100s of dollars claiming telephone charges !!!
He is extremely rude and has no professionalism what so ever. He doesnt hesitate to hang up on you, if you try to ask for justification.
He will charge you for each and everything, without even discussing it with you.
Be very careful! Dont recommend at all.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Owner/MAnager's attitude,Unprofessionalism
  • Tips/Secrets — NEver EVER stay here.You will get ripped and treated badly!
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank tmgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAINTLAWRENCERESIDE, Property Manager at Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites, responded to this review, 16 February 2007
There are some people who will never be happy. You demand, not request, unreasonable things be done for you. You don't to pay after using the services. You call asking to look around for your husband, on the property, just because he did not answer you phone calls. Then you make long distance calls, knowling fully well, it is only the local calls that are free, even after advising you to use calling card for long distance call. Finally, when charges are put on the credit card, you complain to credit card bank. Then you you turn around and call the owner a Cheat, Rude, and unprofessional. All I can say is, I couldn't have expected any less from you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2006

Do not book with this hotel unless you can handle very rude and unprofessional management. The owner/operator claims that being a small business excuses him from common courtesy and customer service but it does not. He will hang up on you. He will ignore you. He will hide behind the obnoxious “legal terms and conditions” and do everything in his power to make money off of you while providing as little value as possible. That is his idea of a running a business: money first, customers second. If you wish to support this type of business go right ahead and book, but you have been warned.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The owner
  • Tips/Secrets — Dont stay here. It is not worth any savings on the rate.
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank Glycolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAINTLAWRENCERESIDE, PROPERTY MANAGER at Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites, responded to this review, 1 December 2006
I guess, you are right. There is no excuse for being rude and discourteous, neither is being a small business. In fact, no business can survive with such attitudes with anyone. Online booking is great convenience. You will also agree, it brings lots of abuses, and fraudulent uses. Every online business has to represent accurately, especially if they accept credit cards as a mode of guaranty, and payment. In case of cancellation, we require it to be done in writing. It is just the right way to do. When traveler asks for a guaranteed room available for certain dates, the traveler also accepts the responsibility to cancel according to the cancellation policy. After making a booking, if you do not feel like following the cancellation procedure, then there is nothing we can do about it. Harassing the property with continuos calling, repeatedly is not the way to go about it. At some point, courtesy becomes a two-way street. At the other end of telephone line may be a real human being, and if you go beyond the limit, then do not be surprised when that other human being is not too receptive to your harassing calls
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2006

Me and my girlfriend stayed at the St. Lawrence for 4 nights in July 06. The Location of the accomodation was great and within easy reach of all the attractions Toronto has to offer.

The room we stayed in was very small, with one double bed, cable tv, refigerator and air conditioning - but there was little space for us to store our suitcases and bags and there were no window in our room - but a skylight above the bed.

There is a clean communal kitchen that offers complimentary drinks and snacks (tea, coffee, water cereal etc) and suffiecent dining and seating areas. There are also loads of bathrooms and showers too choose from, which were always kept in a clean condition. There was also unlimited complimentary internet outside our room, which is never a bad thing!!!

The residences and Suites is also very safe, there is an outside lock to get into the building, then a key code door that lets you in to the floor area and sufficient key locks for our room.

Helpful?
2 Thank cashad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saintlawrence, Property Manager at Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites, responded to this review, 20 August 2006
Thank you for sharing your good experience. Having read your comments, I would like to add, next time try one of our SUITES. Suite are almost 60% larger, have private bathrooms, shower & kitchenette. Great thing is the price is only 20 - 30% more. For under $150 it is a great deal in Downtown Toronto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2006

I had booked a room at this particular hotel through hotels(-) and after reading all the reviews cancelled it the very next day well in advance to what hotels(-) 's cancellation policy is, yet the manager had charges me $700 dollars to my credit card. Now I have disputed the charges with my card company. I am seriously thinking of filing a law suite with this manager if I dont get my money back . The manager is a theif.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
9 Thank shyama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saintlawrence, Property Manager at Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites, responded to this review, 20 August 2006
I am sorry to hear about your experience. I don't wish to teach you the law, or tell you about your responsibilities, when you are making an online booking. However, you create a legal and binding contract, when you click on, " I have read the terms and conditions, and agree with the conditions". No one but you make that decision. The posted policy that we have is 1. There is 10% non-refundable deposit required. 2. If you have a need to change or cancel the booking, then do so 3 days prior to arrival. If you don't agree, or your arrival date is less than 3 days, and you feel you may not be able go through with the booking, then DO NOT book. You incur the charges, only, when you make us stop selling the room, and you turn around and want to rescind contract. You know that there is penalty when one arbitrarily breaks the contract. Booking and agreeing one day prior to arrival does not exempt you from your obligations. The contract is both ways, once agreed, we are bound to provide you the room, and in return you must pay the charges for the room, for the duration of the booking. Some hotels may not charge, or charge you for any number of nights. In a FREE society one can have one or more legal conditions, as long as everyone agrees. Why must a contract be any different than what it says? You may not like our terms and conditions, and you don't have to agree with them. At least, when you don't book, we can offer the room to someone who needs the room. Room inventory is a non-bankable commodity. It is not fair to us, when you wish to break the contract without any penalty, because it suits you.
Your booking agent came through for you and had the funds credited back to your account. Be a good citizen, don't agree to any terms that you don't like, but once you agree, then live with the consequences. If there were no losses and gains, then no one will need contracts. Contracts are meant to protect the rights of both parties, and NOT JUST ONE.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown
Downtown
bE SixFifty Hotel
bE SixFifty Hotel
#84 of 137 in Toronto
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Cambridge Suites Toronto
Cambridge Suites Toronto
#37 of 137 in Toronto
1,805 reviews
Downtown
89 Chestnut
89 Chestnut
#103 of 137 in Toronto
116 reviews
Downtown
Hostelling International Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites

Property: Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites
Address: 135 Jarvis St, Toronto, Ontario M5C 2H6, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 103 Speciality Lodging in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites 1.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown, St. Lawrence Residences & suites is designed to handle all accommodations-leisure travels, business travels, extended stay or student housing. Our rooms are moderately priced and includes amenities such as: -air-conditioner - Color TV -Free wifi -Microwave -fridge -double cook-top -pots, pans & dishes. -Linens and towels provided Dining table or love seat or both depends on room configuration. Guests are welcome to use common kitchen and bathroom. Laundry facilities are within the premises. Phone in the lobby is free for local calls, Free Wi-Fi available all over the property. The dishes, pot and pans are yours to use at no extra charge all we expect is clean dishes, and pots & pans, for the next person. We offer accommodations geared to budget minded travelers. The Linen is provided Free for a limited time and includes bed sheets, pillow cover, blanket or comforter, and a bath towel, Limited secure parking available at property for $35 a night. Neighbourhood unsecured surface parking at reduced rates may be searched A 13% HST & 8% sundry charge is added to room charges etc. Our front desk hours are 2:30 PM to 6:30 PM, Monday to Saturday. Sundays closed. Please contact us 48 hours prior to arrival, by email. Check out time is 11:00 AM House keeping service if required No pets allowed No smoking in the building ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Lawrence Residences Hotel Toronto
Saint Lawrence Residences And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing