We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend get away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Centennial College Residence
Ranked #104 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Reviewed 12 June 2012

My stay was excellent!! The staff were very friendly and professional. Easy access to downtown Toronto and highways. Enjoyed breakfast! Comfortable beds! I stayed at lots of hotel and this one I got my money's worth!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Collette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
There are newer reviews for Centennial College Residence
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2012

We were there for a five night stay with tao volleyball teams and had a Great stay. Mind you this isn't the Sheraton or Fairmont but the price isn't the same either. The staff was very Nice and did everything to accomodate us. The rooms aren't new but were cleaned every day. The kitchen facilities were food and the continental breakfast was good. We would stay there again if we come back with teams.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I cannot even begin to rate this "hotel"! It is a dorm residence 10 months of the year and they try and pass it off as a hotel the other 2. We were reminded of this several times like when we asked if there was a printer to use, clean rooms, hair dryers, computer access....WE ARE NOT students if we are paying hotel guests so if you want to pretend to be a hotel then you need to provide for your guests. This place is disgusting! Filthy, run down, old, stinky - I could go on and on. The pool was open from 6:00 pm to 10:00 pm - which are the hours our girls were supposed to be attending the volleyball nationals at the Energy Centre. Therefore they could not even access the pool. There were drunks and fights in the parking lot EVERY night! One night we were to scared to get out of our vehicle because of the fight going on right in front of the door. The sheets on the beds were filthy, the mattresses stained, missing equipment, patched dirty wallpaper, disgustingly filthy windows, old worn out towels, on and on. I don't know who would want to use this as a conference centre. They don't even have a business space. If you want to print anything you have to go behind the front desk, use their computer and then print to their personal computer!! very personal! And if you want to use your laptop...you have to retrieve a lovely 20 ft bright blue cord from the front desk to plug your computer in in your room but before you can plug it in I hope you brought your muscles because you have to pull out the wall unit from the wall to plug it in - and I mean PULL IT ALL THE WAY OUT! And the best part...the bed bugs!!! Yes several of the rooms found bed bugs! We have all just spent a couple of days debugging all of our belonging for fear the critters caught a ride home. I have not one good thing to say about this place. The organization that recommended this place as a host hotel needs to give their head a shake. There is not way that anyone actually checked this place out. Either be a dorm where students can live in their own filth or be a hotel and treat your guests like they are in a hotel.

Room Tip: there is not a good room to be had so no tips!!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sugar1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie S, Manager at Centennial College Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Over the last couple of years Toronto has seen an increased amount of bed bugs incidences and as such the Centennial College Residence & Conference Centre has taken a proactive approach in dealing with the problem. In doing so, we have enlisted the help of a pest control company that provides efficient service in a timely matter and is knowledgeable in the area of bed bugs.

As outlined by Toronto Public Health, it is illegal to fumigate a building/unit without reason. Our policy outlines that all suspected rooms are inspected by both a trained member of our staff and a pest control professional. If bed bugs are found, the room is treated along with the surrounding rooms as a preventative measure. As an added measure twice a year the building undergoes a K9 inspection at which time every suite is inspected.

Please be assured The Centennial College Residence & Conference Centre takes all concerns serious to ensure the health and happiness of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

This is not a hotel. The linens and mattresses were stained. The bathroom was dirty, tub stained black, hair on the wall. They have bed bugs. The pool is only available 6-10 PM. The breakfast is minimal. Everything is old and beat. The staff was nice considering how much they must deal with.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ten_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Our room was ready when we arrived and it was clean and comfortable. This is not a high end hotel, but neither is it a run down motel. In terms of amenities and overall condition it's much like an Amerisuites hotel. I would stay there again if I have reason to be in the area. during the summer.
This is a college residence most of the year, so the room had two double beds, two desk, two dressers, a small fridge/freezer that worked very well (it re-froze our ice pack over night), microwave, and coffee maker (but only one disposable cup). The AC worked very well and the room was comfortably cool when we arrived. This means that the housekeeping staff is attentive enough to turn it on when they know the room will be occupied. Many hotels don't do this, to save energy I guess.
The hotel is just off the 401 and very easy to get to and from.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingstonsean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

please always read these reviews.this a very low class hotel.the class is so low it's lower class than a hoste.it gets a half a start.they had a lot of bed bugs.i told the management and they told me to go and get them and show them for as a prove it.it was so bad i slept in the car outside in my car and had to cancel the other two days.i never got my money back..please be careful.i'll never ever go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leqwedz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

This was not a good hotel as seen from the reviews so the expectations were not very high. And the reviews are right. The hotel is definitely below average.

It is a 5 floor building which serves as residence for students as well as a hotel as well as a meeting place for gatherings (there are conference rooms and meals).

Elevator: There were only two elevators, both of which are not even located together (yes, they are about 50m apart which is just pathetic). The wait is often very long. The stairs are not very clean and had a "drug-like" smell. To show the lack of maintenance, parts of the elevator such as some buttons don't light up, the elevators are very dirty and noisy as well.

Rooms: The beds are below average, hard, plain, not very comfortable. The television in-room has horrible picture quality. The room is VERY small, there is hardly any open space except for the beds and table and TV.

Bathroom: Bathroom was very dirty, pieces of the wall were falling off here and there, toilet did not seem clean. Some other guests complained that there was not any hot water for the shower (or water of a comfortable temperature)

The Internet is only LAN (broadband), it is okay in speed, but the socket to the wall is behind the TV furniture. You actually have to move the furniture to access the LAN socket. Also some other power sockets in the room looked like they were about to fall off so generally, a poorly maintained and bad hotel.

Hotel representatives and staff were quite rude. It sort of shows with the lack of experience because it seems that the college uses the hotel as an internship program for staff in-training. Some of the receptionists were quite rude.

Also, huge pile of garbage was just sitting in front of the entrance, close to the windows of some of the second floor rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toronto
Scarborough
Holiday Inn Express Toronto East
Scarborough
Best Western Plus Executive Inn
Comfort Inn Pickering
#1 of 1 in Pickering
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scarborough
Delta Toronto East
Delta Toronto East
#66 of 137 in Toronto
821 reviews
North York
Radisson Hotel Toronto East
North York
The Westin Prince Toronto
The Westin Prince Toronto
#58 of 137 in Toronto
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centennial College Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centennial College Residence

Address: 940 Progress Ave, Toronto, Ontario M1G 3T5, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Scarborough
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Hotel Class:2 star — Centennial College Residence 2*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centennial College Residence is a unique and affordable alternatively for travellers on a budget. Conveniently located off Markham Road and Highway 401, this location features 190 spacious guest rooms fully furnished with all the amenities you will need. Guests will enjoy our indoor pool, common kitchen, laundry room and a relaxing seat in our garden atrium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Centennial College Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centennial Residence Hotel Scarborough
Centennial Residence And Conference Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing