We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as expected...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre
Ranked #53 of 138 Hotels in Toronto
Reviewed 18 October 2007

There are many things that have to be renovated and repaired on the room: many things on the bathroom, walls to be painted, furniture and lamps to be well cleaned... The decoration, particularly on the bathroom, was sloppy. Examples: the wash-basin was not glued on the wall; there was a support for 2 candles on the wall, but there was only one candle... The view from my room was unqualified - to a dirty and dark back of the building.
Good things: The bed was big and very comfortable, and the room had good dimensions too. Some people of the staff were very kindly. Great location too.
The lobby is too dark and small. We arrived at night, so it was not very comfortable and cozy to get to the hotel, as we wished… The runners are also dark and not very well cleaned and treated. The decoration is to dark and not very comfortable. When we arrived at our room, just in front of our door there was an opened door to the stairs, with dirty dishes of the room service on the ground…
The breakfast is poor for the supposed quality of the hotel. After my stay on this hotel, I stayed on the Novotel Toronto Centre, which has a smaller rate, and I had a wonderful breakfast, on a much more decent and bigger room. I confess I got surprised, because on the internet, this one looked like one of the most modern and sophisticated hotels at Toronto (it is not so easy to find a sophisticated at Toronto…).

Stayed: October 2007
2  Thank marialbuquerque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,008)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

815 - 821 of 1,008 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2007

I stayed in Toronto on business recently. I was booked into one of the suites on the 4th floor, and was really pleased with the decor & room size, and was really looking forward to using the spa as much as
possible. The hotel lobby and rooms I saw were great. The service left a lot to be desired.

The drain in my whirlpool tub and in the sink were broken and a repairman had to be sent up to fix them (which happened, promptly). The battery on the room phone was drained and the phone would work for a minute and then drop calls. That never got fixed. Room service
I ordered for dinner one night sat outside my door until 2pm the next
afternoon.

I booked a massage at the spa my first day. I told them of my interest in the water spa (the WHOLE hotel is built around this theme), and was informed that the whirlpool was broken. In general, the service at the spa was weak. The massage itself was good, but they had double booked us and there was a terribly awkward moment in the waiting area while they sorted out who would see which therapist.
I pressed on afterwards to use the steam room and sauna. They were buried down the hall past the elevators and hotel gym in a locked room that felt like a big janitor's closet. Nothing was turned on so they told me I could use it but I'd have to wait while they heated up.

Don't spend your spa money here - go instead to the Hammam Spa which can be reached by subway/tram. That's a real deal spa with a huge steam room and proper spa feel. They don't have a dry sauna or plunge
pools, but it's a gorgeous space and great service.

Overall, this is a nice hotel - great looking, good bedding, well thought out from a design standpoint, but it doesn't seem to be very well maintained. Service was spotty all around, despite some helpful people.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank pollysmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2007

Tired after a transatlantic flight from UK, the hotel was a quiet oasis.

Arrival was smooth (used the valet parking, bit expensive at $30) and check-in was efficient (even though we were bit early).

Stayed in a deluxe suite (booking via travelzoo) and we were absolutely delighted with the room. Immaculate, spacious and quiet. Unexpectedly the room also had a washing machine/dryer with complimentary powders etc which was a convenience for us!

No time for us to use the spa so no comment on that!

Breakfast was simple verging on basic but came with the package so can't complain I guess. Served in lobby (which is really small) and bit chilly (a/c setting questionable) but nice enough.

Staff were pleasant, courteous and helpful throughout.

It's a really nice place, close to the Eaton shopping mall and convenient for most city centre pursuits also.

Loved it! Wouldn't hesitate to use it again or recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank PunxsutawneyPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2007

It seems like people have had bad experiences here, but I really couldn't find a single fault in my whole stay! I mean, the room was beautiful and everything worked like it should. The staff were attentive and very helpful. The food was, though not top notch, well priced and very nice. And, best for me, the hotel was in a great location at queen and yonge, right beside the Eaton Centre and from where I could go anywhere in downtown toronto easily. The point is, this was a flawless stay and I really don't understand why people were unhappy.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank maxben111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2007

Arrived at the hotel after a 14hr journey to a warm welcome. Stayed in a deluxe suite (worked out the same price as a reg rm by booking with travelocity) and we were absolutely delighted with the room. Immaculate, spacious and lovely views.
Contrary to previous comment, we both used the spa and found it an excellent experience, discounts offered to guests at hotel.
Breakfast was great, continental came with package and was more than enough. There was a complimentary turn-down service in evenings. Staff were only ever helpful and friendly.

Totally made our stay, would recommend to everyone. It really was first class.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maccorq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2007

It was my friends 40th and we wanted to head to Toronto for the week-end. I found this hotel on Expedia and it looked good on-line and looked good when we arrived.

Our room was huge, full kitchen, decent bathroom, and decorated well. VERY quiet hotel, as it is all plush carpeting, and padded beds.

Great location for night life, however we did get lost. Front Desk gave us the wrong directions. Went to JUMP for dinner, and then a nightclub.

breakfast was the best! Downstairs in the diner.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephanieinOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2007

The spa is physically beautiful and relatively new. However, I would never go there as the staff are incompetent and have no idea how to run a spa. I paid for a session in the whirlpool and a massage with a Registered Massage Therapist. I got neither. I was not told where the whirlpool was but was escorted into a waiting room with an acquarium in it. This area was nice and was relaxing. They offered me 1 glass of water (nothing else) and I sat and waited for my massage. The therapist came and he performed the massage. I asked for an RMT but was told only upon checkout that they don't employ many RMT's and that my therapist wasn't an RMT.

Once my massage was over, I inquired about the whirlpool and was told it was out of order. I went into the ladies changeroom only to find out the showers were also out of order. Picture this - massage oil all over your body and no shower to wash it off with. I was not given a refund for the lack of amentiies which weren't available to me (I paid $15 for the whirlpool treatment). I complained to the manager and never even got a phone call back.

Why this spa or hotel is still in business is beside me.

Even upon entering the hotel to inquire where the spa was, the front desk staff were obviously more interested in having conversations and hanging out than serving their customers. I felt very unwelcome.

I'm not hard to please, but do expect to receive the services for which I have paid for.

Stayed: May 2005
1  Thank RosaSalerno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#59 of 138 in Toronto
2,747 reviews
Downtown
Cambridge Suites Toronto
Cambridge Suites Toronto
#33 of 138 in Toronto
1,855 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel
Downtown
Executive Hotel Cosmopolitan Toronto
Downtown West
One King West Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre

Address: 200 Victoria St, Toronto, Ontario M5B 1V8, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#41 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#50 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: £91 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amid the best dining, shopping and entertainment Toronto has to offer, sits the Pantages Hotel. Designed by world-renowned architect Moshe Safdie, the personality of the hotel is inspired by the Theatre focused neighbourhood. When traveling for business or leisure, guests can find all the very best that Canada’s largest metropolis presents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pantages Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing