We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Birthday Getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre
Ranked #54 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Reviewed 24 October 2012

I recently spent my birthday at the Pantages Hotel and cannot say enough great things about it! The decor, the staff, the rooms, the martini's - all are top notch! My house is very loud and chaotic, so I decided to book a room for some peace and quiet. It was just what I needed! Ryan at the front desk was phenomenal. When I arrived to check in, he greeted me with a smile and was extremely kind, professional and was able to answer all of my questions. After I had settled into my room, I was having difficulty with my internet. I called the front desk and Ryan helped me get connected. He even gave me a late checkout the next day! Talk about taking good care of his guests. I would highly recommend staying at this beautiful hotel. I know I'll be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PJ_Princess_KK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ragnar P, General Manager at Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share a review on Trip Advisor about on your recent visit to the Pantages Hotel. Your kind words about the hotel and staff, particularly Ryan at the front desk very much appreciated. I will personally share you’re the feedback with our team. I am happy that you enjoyed room and the Martini Bar whilst staying at the hotel a relaxing time for your birthday. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the Pantages Hotel in the near future.
Happy Belated Birthday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,000)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

632 - 638 of 1,000 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2012

I just spent one night on business at the Pantages. Friendly, efficient and helpful staff and the location is very good. Unfortunately, despite having some modern-looking furniture in the room, the hotel and rooms just look old and used. It would take some fairly major reno work to overcome this ambiance, but the location would make it worth the investment. Surprisingly, the bed was quite hard - no where near comparable to the Sheraton or Hilton beds. I only raise this because as someone who travels a lot, the quality of bed is a major factor in the hotel choice - we are ultimately there to get a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 4CdnSunSeekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ragnar P, General Manager at Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Thank you for sharing your feedback as this helps us improve our future guest’s experiences. I am happy to report that we have recently structured a maintenance program to freshen up the appearance of the hotel and I am positive that you will notice and approve of the changes on your next visit to the Pantages Hotel. I will share your comments about the friendly staff one our daily news letter that is distributed through the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

My wife and I just spent two nights at Pantages. A really good location. Near Eaton Center, major streets, across from Starbucks, yet on relatively quiet street. The room was oversized, pretty well appointed with only decent bathroom. Very impressed with front desk staff. We were helped a lot by Ryan and others with restaurants, directions etc. on a bad note on check in they didn't give free breakfast, despite having it included in reservation, and we got stuck in an elevator early on. On good note staff admitted mistake re breakfast, which wasn't much to write home about anyway, and gave us free wi-fi in room to make up for elevator experience. All in all I would recommend this hotel, a good value as well.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Volares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ragnar P, General Manager at Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2012

Thank you for your response about your stay at our hotel and you kind comments about our friendly and helpful staff. Please accept our apology that you were stuck in the elevator, along with the confusion over the breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.. Sincerely Ragnar Pederse, General Manager Pantages Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

This was my third stay at the pantages and it was consistent, posh and the service was amazing. Ryan at the front desk is an endless resource for great places to eat as well as key Toronto sites. The rooms are great and always comfortable and spa like. If you want a great hotel in the center if the action I would recommend this one.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ami0715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ragnar P, General Manager at Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor about your 3rd stay at the Pantages Hotel. We are very proud of our front desk team and appreciate positive comments about our team. I will personally be thanking Ryan for looking after you. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the Pantages Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Pantages is very centrally located – surrounded by shops, restaurants and theatres. Very easy to walk to CN Tower and the harbour. Room was very comfortable, staff were helpful and friendly. Lawrence Street market which is about 10 minutes walk from the hotel is a great place to visit, plenty of history and character.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bonnifido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ragnar P, General Manager at Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write about on your recent stay at the Pantages Hotel. We pleased that you were comfortable found the staff friendly. We take great pride in ensuring our guests feel welcome when visting the Pantages Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Pantages Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

I stayed at the Pantages in Toronto this past Tuesday evening on business. I was provided a room that when I opened the door was occupied by a couple engaged in sex. When I returned to the front desk to complain, I was told that I was wrong and that the room was empty. After insisting that I was correct, an employee was dispatched to my room and returned to the front desk confirming my own findings. The room was indeed occupied. I was then asked to wait in the lobby while the occupants were evicted and the room was cleaned. I stated that that was not an acceptable solution and was then provided a new room on the forth floor directly located under the fifth floor gym. Needles to say, the noise and vibration of weights being dropped on the ceiling of my room was surprising and poor value given $300+ a night room rate. The decor of the room was cold, the fixtures cheap and there was no clock or phone provided in the bedroom. Out of five stars I would rate this experience as 1/2 a star at best.

Room Tip: Do not stay on forth floor rooms given the fifth floor location of the hotel gym.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Chippers22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ragnar P, General Manager at Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay with us. We’re sorry to hear that you were mistakenly given an occupied suite. This is extremely uncharacteristic of our hotel because for us privacy and security are our top priority. I can assure you that the occupants of the first suite you were given were in fact registered guests and not evicted. They were merely enjoying themselves in the suite they had reserved with us for that evening. We did rectify the situation immediately upon realizing what had happened. This was an unfortunate system error and not a security issue and we take complete responsibility for this incident. We are sorry to hear you were not satisfied with the alternate suite you were given. We will be sharing your comments with our management team and staff and will contact you directly to resolve the matter shortly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

I booked a one night stay at the Pantages hotel, travelling on a business trip to Toronto. I picked the hotel because it was conveniently close to the Eaton centre and startbuck, both accross the street. I also booked there because it looked new, modern and highclass.
The hotel lobby is very dark and has neons lights everywhere, it felt more like entering a night club. The guy at the desk was a little too flirty and the manager next to him looked like a mob guy. I walked into my room only to realise there was no chain lock to the door, I did not feel safe. The room was not super clean, the paint was peeling off on the walls, the 2 armchairs were very dirty. It did not feel like a luxurious hotel at all, it gave me the impression that this place was more of an bar kinda place. If you're travelling on business (or even on leisure for that matter) this is not the place to be.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fansy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ragnar P, General Manager at Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay at the Pantages Hotel. We’re sorry to hear that your room was not cleaned to your standards. This uncharacteristic of our housekeeping staff as we take great pride in the cleanliness of the rooms and the hotel as whole. I will be sharing your comments with our staff. We have recently implemented program to paint and touch rooms that have had bit more wear and tear. We are in the finale process of scheduling a refurbishment of our lobby and Martini Bar towards the end of the year.
Please contact me directly, next time you are visiting Toronto and I will arrange for you experience the Pantages Hotel is proud of.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#58 of 137 in Toronto
2,734 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Cambridge Suites Toronto
Cambridge Suites Toronto
#34 of 137 in Toronto
1,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel
Downtown West
One King West Hotel & Residence
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre

Address: 200 Victoria St, Toronto, Ontario M5B 1V8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#36 Family Hotel in Toronto
#41 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#50 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: £98 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amid the best dining, shopping and entertainment Toronto has to offer, sits the Pantages Hotel. Designed by world-renowned architect Moshe Safdie, the personality of the hotel is inspired by the Theatre focused neighbourhood. When traveling for business or leisure, guests can find all the very best that Canada’s largest metropolis presents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pantages Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing