We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre
Ranked #54 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My husband and I booked the trip for my birthday and although the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful our room was very disappointing. When we got up to our room we were greeted with a floor that was clearly water damaged and coming apart. There was black hair in and on the bed (we have blonde and red hair). We called the front desk and they sent someone up to replace the sheets, as he was doing so he noticed that there was also mascara on the pillow cases. Later that night when we returned from the baseball game, I went to shower. There was a face cloth in the shower covered in makeup ans again more maacara. The night manager came up to room took notice of all this and said he would talk to the day manager, as there was nothing he could do. Upon checkout when my husband raised these concerns we were told that we shouldn't have waited till checkout, even though they had all the notes of complaint in their system.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gillian Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ragnar P, General Manager at Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Gillian, I would like to apologize on behalf of the Pantages Hotel for your less than positive experience during your recent stay with us. I have passed your concerns on to the Executive Housekeeper and her team. I will be following up with the team on the front desk to address the communication between the team. I tried calling you this afternoon and let a short message apologizing for the experience you had at the hotel and requesting that you call me at your convenience Again, I apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Warm Regards, Ragnar Pedersen, General Manager Pantages Hotel Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    326
    133
    92
    82
See reviews for
97
365
63
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Great place to stay. Perfect location across from St.Michael's Hospital. Has a nice spa, and a workout room. And the service is fantastic! The front desk makes you feel like they are really happy you are there. It makes a big difference. Rapulta was at the desk everyday and she actually made me happy to come back to the hotel after my days of meetings. She was great. She and her colleague (don't know her name) helped me to find a restaurant and helped me with reservations. They are no concierges but went the extra mile to help me. Also Dave was there at 4:00 AM when i had to leave and he was very helpful in getting me to the airport on time. Great staff! :)

Room Tip: stay in one of the suites. nice. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bohlero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ragnar P, General Manager at Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Bohlero, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay Pantages Hotel. I am very pleased to read your appraisal of our team and your overall experience. I know my colleagues will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts and that you enjoyed your visit to the spa. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Warm Regards, Ragnar Pedersen, General Manager Pantages Hotel Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fergus, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

First time I sayed here. Loved the place. Large room or should I say rooms. All the amenities including the kitchen sink plus cloths washer and dryer. Only thing missing was my wife to do laundry:-)
Just around the corner from Massy Hall (2 minutes walk) maybe another 5 to get to the Eatons Centre. Loads of shopping, restaurants and bars just around the corner plus and on site restaurant bar.

I'll be back and bring my wife.

Room Tip: Had a higher floor witha corner room, great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ragnar P, General Manager at Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Paul J, Thank you for such a wonderful review. Your comments regarding your stay at our hotel made our colleague’s day. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming back with your wife. Warm Regards, Ragnar Pedersen, General Manager Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights and found the location really convenient. Dundas Square and Massey Hall are on the block so you kind of feel like you are in a mini Broadway/Times Square environment. The lobby is modest until you reach the reception desk and there you find happy, shiny people. Service with a smile and everything was done well and excellently, very impressed with that!

I went to the spa and that too was great. Massage with Antoine and a brilliant mud wrap.

The room was surprisingly big. Too much really for just me ... full kitchen, living room and bedroom. Furniture was a little beat up, bed was a bit hard nut comfortable, no plug by the desk, TV was average size but far away from the couch, shower had lots of pressure but needle-like water spring out of the rain shower head and I found it odd that the shampoo is in a holder in the shower and conditioner in little bottles - two different brands. The doors to the units seem to not close quietly so I heard lots of doors slamming. Outside of that, the room was very quiet.

All in all, I'd recommend this hotel. Good price, great location and suburb service.

Room Tip: Away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slhice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ragnar P, General Manager at Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Slhice, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay Pantages Hotel. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forwarding to welcoming you back. Warm Regards, Ragnar Pedersen, General Manager Pantages Hotel Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My husband and I had a great time at this hotel this past weekend. We had no complaints, we were right in the middle of everything and we walked everywhere we needed to go. The rooms were clean, nicely decorated and I loved the wooden floors. I mean was it absolutely perfect, how some people expect it to be, no, but nothing creepy, no price differences, no dirty floors, dirty items in the room, bed a little squeaky but that's because the frame is wooden...I'd stay again definitely.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffani G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ragnar P, General Manager at Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Tiffani, Thank you for such a wonderful review. I am very happy to hear you had a wonderful stay. Thank you for the great comment about Stephanie. Thank you for taking the time to share the details regarding your most recent stay. Warm Regards, Ragnar Pedersen, General Manager, Pantages Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed here for the first time because I had meetings in the area. I have to say the rooms are looking a little tired. The Martini bar looks nice (never went there) but the rooms themselves could use an upgrade. My toilet decided to stop working just as I was getting ready for bed the first night. The closet doors wouldn't open without a massive tug. I expected more for a four star hotel. Having said that, the front desk service promptly reacted when I complained about the toilet and it worked fine for the rest of my stay. And the mattress on the bed was the perfect firmness (pillows not so much). The room was quite spacious and no issues with noise.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vancitytraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ragnar P, General Manager at Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear vancitytraveller1 , I would like to apologize on behalf of the Pantages Hotel that the room did not meet your expectations during your during your recent stay with us. We are in in the process of repainting our guest room and will check and repair the closet doors to ensure they open and shut smoothly. Warm Regards, Ragnar Pedersen, General Manager, Pantages Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I just spent Sunday and Monday at Pantages. Where so I begin. The location was wonderful. The staff could not be any nicer. My room which I booked through hotwire was their standard room. It was huge with a living room and lovely hard wood flowers. The shower was the kind you didn't want to get out off. I had 4th floor and it was very quiet. Stephanie the bartender was a sweetheart. I would stay there again at full price. WONDERFUL experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ragnar P, General Manager at Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Linda, Thank you for such a wonderful review. I am very happy to hear you had a wonderful stay. Thank you for the great comment about Stephanie. Thank you for taking the time to share the details regarding your most recent stay. Warm Regards, Ragnar Pedersen, General Manager, Pantages Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Cambridge Suites Toronto
Cambridge Suites Toronto
#38 of 136 in Toronto
1,787 reviews
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#56 of 136 in Toronto
2,643 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#40 of 136 in Toronto
1,037 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Cosmopolitan
Downtown West
One King West Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre

Property: Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre
Address: 200 Victoria St, Toronto, Ontario M5B 1V8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#36 Family Hotel in Toronto
#41 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#50 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amid the best dining, shopping and entertainment Toronto has to offer, sits the Pantages Hotel. Designed by world-renowned architect Moshe Safdie, the personality of the hotel is inspired by the Theatre focused neighbourhood. When traveling for business or leisure, guests can find all the very best that Canada’s largest metropolis presents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pantages Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing