We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fine, given the price”
Review of 89 Chestnut

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
89 Chestnut
Ranked #110 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Vancouver
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just fine, given the price”
Reviewed 7 June 2012

It is University dorm, but I was very comfortable and the staff was incredible. Great location too. Certainly not good for business, but a great place to crash for a ;few nights in Toron59.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chasicakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    29
    33
    15
    22
See reviews for
16
20
20
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
171 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

this hotel is pretty rough but a great price in a great location and the breakfast was good.
the room was not clean so bring shower shoes and clorox wipes. brwereing windex if you want clean mirrors. bring a portable fan for the bathroom because it doesn't have an exhaust fan.
bring your own toiletries because i think the ones on the counter had been refilled as the bottle description did not match the scent of what was really in there.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amyintax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We often stay at college/university residences when we travel in the summer, so I was not expecting luxurious accommodations and exemplary service. The members of the staff at 89 Chestnut Residence were friendly. The location of the residence is central. However, the room we stayed at was TERRIBLE - filthy is the only way to describe it. The linen seemed freshly washed, but the mattresses and the chair seats were filthy and stained. The carpet, curtains and windows were also really disgusting. Needless to say, we checked out as soon as we could. I find it very difficult to understand how a place like this is allowed to be in business.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank V O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Ninety nine dollars a night seemed like a good rate for a downtown hotel. We booked for four nights. They tried to charge $119.00 for the last 2 nights, but we got it reversed. As it was the shoulder season, we could have got a mid-range hotel in the same neighbourhood for $20 to $30 more a night. Our rationale was, who spends much time in the room? In the end however, we were reluctant to spend any time in the room.
Reasons:
- One bedside lamp
- Fluorescent overhead lighting, one of which was burnt out
- Cheerless atmosphere
- No maid service
- No TV
- No coffee maker
- No glasses or cups
- No fridge
- No ice
- Thin cheap towels (one each)
- Beds were double, not queen
- Outside windows had not been cleaned for, I would think, many, many years, maybe since U of T bought the hotel
- Small balcony was locked up, and wire mesh placed over the opening
- Furniture was Good Will reject level, and in the case of the single useable wardrobe, broken.
- No hangers were supplied. When I phoned, we were given 5.
- Cooling/heating unit was extremely noisy.
- Toilet did not flush properly

The breakfasts are mentioned by many as a plus. However, unless you are a big breakfast eater, it really is not worth it. On the plus side, there were free copies of the Toronto Star in the lobby, however, no Globe and Mail. I have stayed in University residences in the past, and this was the least pleasant experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neamster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Aug 9, 2011
We stayed for one week due to family event. It was very unfortunately and shameful that there was absolutely NO standard of cleaninless and NO repair maintenance monitoring and applied to the facilities.
The room were very very dirty and layer of dust had shown on top of the furniture. Annoyingly, the water from the sink in the bathroom is always cold and rusty water is running out of the faucet.
We paid $99.00 per night. We filed the compliant to the front desk and all they said to us is "this is not a hotel. take it or leave it"
The photo shown on the web is totally different compared to seevery on the site.
Not worth of the consideration to stay at this "89 Chestnut Residence"

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 89Chestnutresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

The hotel is located in the center of the city, steps to Dundas subway station, Eaton Centre, City Hall and Nathan Phillips square where many events happen. We liked Japango Sushi & Noodle Restaurant on Dundas & Elizabeth Street. Buffet breakfast in the hotel was OK. You can use wired Internet for extra $5 by taking a modem and LAN cable on the reception. This is not luxury hotel but rooms are large. There is no TV set in the room.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

This is a former luxury hotel that has been serving as a university residence for several years, so if you're looking for luxury now, go elsewhere. But if you want a great place to stay right in downtown Toronto, just a few minutes' walk from the Eaton Centre, this is the place to stay.

My grown son and I stayed here for two nights at $99 (+ tax) and really enjoyed it. Parking is $24 a night, but is in a garage right below the building. There's a huge hot breakfast buffet included in the price of the room.

In order to have Internet, you must rent a high-speed modem Ethernet modem for $5 a night, but it is well worth it, especially if you're traveling with your iPhone and have shut off international data roaming. It was easy to set up the computer and we were online in minutes, using our Macbook Pro as a wireless router for our iPhones.

I will stay here again on my next trip to Toronto. I just don't think you can get a better bargain anywhere. The room and bathroom were clean and linens, towels, soap and shampoo were provided. I don't think there is daily maid service but we were only there for two nights, so we were fine with that.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TBGBoodler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Filmores Hotel
Filmores Hotel
#101 of 136 in Toronto
22 reviews
Downtown
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown
Downtown
University of Toronto - New College Residence - Wilson Hall Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Studio 6 Toronto
Studio 6 Toronto
#88 of 136 in Toronto
172 reviews
Chinatown
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#100 of 136 in Toronto
189 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Inn City Centre
Comfort Inn City Centre
#80 of 136 in Toronto
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 89 Chestnut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 89 Chestnut

Property: 89 Chestnut
Address: 89 Chestnut St, Toronto, Ontario M5G 1R1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 89 Chestnut 2.5*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
89 Chestnut offers accommodation in Downtown Toronto, with the look and feel of a hotel and the economy of a University Residence. 89 Chestnut, is located in the heart of downtown with Toronto's famous City Hall and Nathan Phillip's Square as our direct neighbours. Near shopping, business, entertainment districts and all major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your 89 Chestnut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
89 Chestnut Toronto
89 Chestnut Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing