We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Toronto is expensive? This place is cheap and OK.”
Review of 89 Chestnut

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
89 Chestnut
Ranked #105 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Toronto is expensive? This place is cheap and OK.”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I looked for cheap hotels to rest for 2 nights and most of the hotels in Toronto are too expensive.

The residence is pretty nice for the price. And it is located next to the city hall downtown!

We booked a two double bed room and while the AC is very noisy (waked me up until I switched it off) the rest of the room was very clean.

Bathroom is clean, breakfast is alright and included in the price. Black spots : no kitchen, no TV (not too big a deal if you go around a lot, but still appreciated).

The hotel feels very safe as you need to have a key if you wish to go to the floor where your room is. And there is security in the lobby.

Floor can be a bit dirty though. Bring slippers!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank e W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    32
    34
    18
    22
See reviews for
17
21
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Truro NS
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

What a great place to stay. Our team stayed there in early may. The service was great, the rooms quality matched the cost. It was a 4 minute walk away from the busiest corner in Toronto - Dundas and young - eatons center, red lobster, johney rockets, hardrock cafe, etc. Right around the corner was a starbucks, subway,grocery store and mac's convenience store. The hotels breakfast and supper buffets were fantastic. Given it's location in Downtown Toronto - it was relatively quiet. Great value -recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The 27th floor has a look-off - beautiful panoramic view of toronto - great quiet area
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doanster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

It is University dorm, but I was very comfortable and the staff was incredible. Great location too. Certainly not good for business, but a great place to crash for a ;few nights in Toron59.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chasicakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

this hotel is pretty rough but a great price in a great location and the breakfast was good.
the room was not clean so bring shower shoes and clorox wipes. brwereing windex if you want clean mirrors. bring a portable fan for the bathroom because it doesn't have an exhaust fan.
bring your own toiletries because i think the ones on the counter had been refilled as the bottle description did not match the scent of what was really in there.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amyintax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We often stay at college/university residences when we travel in the summer, so I was not expecting luxurious accommodations and exemplary service. The members of the staff at 89 Chestnut Residence were friendly. The location of the residence is central. However, the room we stayed at was TERRIBLE - filthy is the only way to describe it. The linen seemed freshly washed, but the mattresses and the chair seats were filthy and stained. The carpet, curtains and windows were also really disgusting. Needless to say, we checked out as soon as we could. I find it very difficult to understand how a place like this is allowed to be in business.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank V O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Ninety nine dollars a night seemed like a good rate for a downtown hotel. We booked for four nights. They tried to charge $119.00 for the last 2 nights, but we got it reversed. As it was the shoulder season, we could have got a mid-range hotel in the same neighbourhood for $20 to $30 more a night. Our rationale was, who spends much time in the room? In the end however, we were reluctant to spend any time in the room.
Reasons:
- One bedside lamp
- Fluorescent overhead lighting, one of which was burnt out
- Cheerless atmosphere
- No maid service
- No TV
- No coffee maker
- No glasses or cups
- No fridge
- No ice
- Thin cheap towels (one each)
- Beds were double, not queen
- Outside windows had not been cleaned for, I would think, many, many years, maybe since U of T bought the hotel
- Small balcony was locked up, and wire mesh placed over the opening
- Furniture was Good Will reject level, and in the case of the single useable wardrobe, broken.
- No hangers were supplied. When I phoned, we were given 5.
- Cooling/heating unit was extremely noisy.
- Toilet did not flush properly

The breakfasts are mentioned by many as a plus. However, unless you are a big breakfast eater, it really is not worth it. On the plus side, there were free copies of the Toronto Star in the lobby, however, no Globe and Mail. I have stayed in University residences in the past, and this was the least pleasant experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neamster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Aug 9, 2011
We stayed for one week due to family event. It was very unfortunately and shameful that there was absolutely NO standard of cleaninless and NO repair maintenance monitoring and applied to the facilities.
The room were very very dirty and layer of dust had shown on top of the furniture. Annoyingly, the water from the sink in the bathroom is always cold and rusty water is running out of the faucet.
We paid $99.00 per night. We filed the compliant to the front desk and all they said to us is "this is not a hotel. take it or leave it"
The photo shown on the web is totally different compared to seevery on the site.
Not worth of the consideration to stay at this "89 Chestnut Residence"

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 89Chestnutresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown
Downtown
Filmores Hotel
Filmores Hotel
#113 of 137 in Toronto
22 reviews
Downtown
University of Toronto - New College Residence - Wilson Hall Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#91 of 137 in Toronto
196 reviews
Chinatown
Studio 6 Toronto
Studio 6 Toronto
#96 of 137 in Toronto
179 reviews
Downtown
bE SixFifty Hotel
bE SixFifty Hotel
#85 of 137 in Toronto
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 89 Chestnut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 89 Chestnut

Property: 89 Chestnut
Address: 89 Chestnut St, Toronto, Ontario M5G 1R1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 89 Chestnut 2.5*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
89 Chestnut offers accommodation in Downtown Toronto, with the look and feel of a hotel and the economy of a University Residence. 89 Chestnut, is located in the heart of downtown with Toronto's famous City Hall and Nathan Phillip's Square as our direct neighbours. Near shopping, business, entertainment districts and all major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your 89 Chestnut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
89 Chestnut Toronto
89 Chestnut Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing