We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Jap food”

Daio Japanese Cuisine
Ranked #1,263 of 8,650 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Japanese
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Jap food”
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

The best sushi in town, its a must if you are in Toronto, excellent service and the food is beyond expectations, great japanese scenario

Helpful?
Thank Najas00
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    19
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We have never tasted such good sushi!! Our waitress was nice and helpful and the food was amazing. We really enjoyed this experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Tasty!”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Good food, close to my hotel. The waitress was very nice and suggested Goyza for us to try - it was homemade, and ended up being amazing!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Way over priced!”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I had salmon sashimi and Tuna sashimi and a avocado hand roll. $39 taxes included and nothing to drink.
there were 7 very thin pieces of salmon (the smallest pieces I have ever had) and the same for the tuna.
I'll admit the salmon sashimi ($15!!!) was excellent but the tuna($16!!) had no taste at all.
It took 25 minutes for takeout and there was only 2 other people in there.
After reading reviews I had high hopes but for $40 I was pretty hungry and only half satisfied when I finished eating.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JCDOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Quite wonderful. Don't blink though, or you'll miss it.”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Must have walked by this place at least a dozen time. What I shame I've missed such great food for so long. The service was lovely and attentive; not pushy or rushed, we were able to dine. The ginger tea is - amazing. It's the real deal, not from a tea bag. The yam tempura maki roll was wonderful, as was the avocado maki. Hubby had the vegetarian bento and enjoyed with gusto. The pickled ginger was delicate with a good cleansing zing - it wasn't the bottled pink stuff so many places plop on the plate. The tempura fried bananas with green tea ice cream was a lovely finish.When visiting Toronto we will now have this place on our flight path. Seriously, the ginger tea - terrific. The food here among the best we've had in town for the price range.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank travellingdoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Daio Japanese Cuisine also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Daio Japanese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing