We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value in downtown Toronto”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Glen Grove Conservatory Tower
Ranked #13 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Toronto
Ireland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great value in downtown Toronto”
Reviewed 12 July 2009

Stayed In Conservatory Tower for 4 nights and we were delighted at the value for money in such a central location. Unfortunately we had two days of rain during our visit, but we used the subway around the corner to visit the Ontario Science Centre, Casa Loma and did some shopping in the Eaton Centre to escape the bad weather. Like the previous reviewer, we noticed that the safety netting on the balcony of our condo was ripped but it didn't bother us as our kids are teenagers. We were glad of the two bedroooms and made good use of the kitchen and washer and drier. We didn't get to use the pool as it was being refurbished. Would certainly recommend for families looking for clean central accommodation who don't want to break the bank. Go see Jersey Boys musical as we really enjoyed the show.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aprilfool1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glengrove, General Manager at Glen Grove Conservatory Tower, responded to this review, 20 August 2009
Dear Ma'am,

Thank you for your kind words about our suites at Conservatory tower. We make every effort to provide clean, functional living spaces for our guests.

Your observations about the safety netting have been noted and we are working to address the issue. The swimming pool is now fully functional and we would love to welcome you once again so you can enjoy it with your family.

Once again, thank you for the wonderful review.

Warm regards,

Brian Pereira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    35
    15
    5
    9
See reviews for
30
18
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cayman
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2009

We had a great trip to Toronto and made the best of a bad situation with our stay at Glen Grove.
When we checked in we tried to see the good side of it with the location and that is good for shopping and visiting downtown attractions.
The room however was in desperate need of repair and renovation. Doors not closing properly and fittings falling off. The balcony looked like it was never finished properly and the protective netting was ripped.
We e-mailed management twice politely about some of our concerns and comment about safety for our young children and the general state of the apartment and received no response. In my opinion this speaks more about the establishment then the state of the apartment. As I have worked as management in the hospitality industry and firmly believe that a complaint can be a gift for a business that want to provide the best service they can for all the guest.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DayCareDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glengrove, General Manager at Glen Grove Conservatory Tower, responded to this review, 22 June 2009
Dear Guest,
You're correct when you say that a complaint is a gift as it helps a business improve. And we certainly appreciate you bringing this to our attention.

However, I'm concerned about your emails to the management as they did not reach me. Perhaps you were given an incorrect email address, in which case, we would like to ensure that this is never the case again. We do come across maintenance issues from time to time and guest feedback is essential for us to keep our standards high.

Conservatory Tower is a favorite among our guests, and this makes guest opinion even more valuable.

Thank you once again for bringing this to our attention. Our maintenance team has been instructed to review the unit.

Should you be in town again, I would welcome the opportunity to personally ensure your unit is to your satisfaction. Please do get in touch with me at brian@glengrove.com

Warm regards,

Brian Pereira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Toronto hotels

Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2009

We keep returning to this location because it is central to everything: restaurants, museums, shopping, theatre/entertainment, across the street from College Park and all of its amenities (subway, bank, Metro Supermarket, etc.) -- all Toronto has to offfer. However, some maintenance issues do exist: outsourced housekeeping can be lax and requires more management attention. Variety of suites in hi-rise condo .

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Repeatres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glengrove, General Manager at Glen Grove Conservatory Tower, responded to this review, 24 March 2009
Thank you for your wonderful review of our property. The location is definitely a plus for our guests. We appreciate the housekeeping issues you have brought to our notice. These will be addressed immediately.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Glen Grove again.

Warm regards,

Brian Pereira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2007

We stayed in a 2 bedroom condo (suite 2003) for 4 nights in April with 2 adults and 2 children (ages 3.5 and 1.5). We booked through the hotel website and since we booked less than a week in advance we got the benefit of last minute rates ($139 CAD per night).

We knew this wasn't a hotel so we weren't expecting any of the usual hotel services (daily cleaning, concierge to answer area questions), so our expectations were met on that front.

We booked this hotel because with two young children, we find having a fridge and microwave essential and there was also a pool which we knew our kids would enjoy.

When we got to the unit, we were pleasantly surprised to find out that not only did we have two bedrooms but we also had two full bathrooms, which was great for four people. We were also surprised to see that there was a dishwasher. The master bedroom had a queen size bed with an ensuite and the second bedroom had two twins. There was a separate living room with a sofa bed (which we didn't use) and a dining room with seating for 4. There was also a desk and chair in the dining room. There was a balcony which could be accessed from the living room and from the master bedroom. There was natural light in all the rooms except the dining room and the two bathrooms.

Unit amenities included a full kitchen incl dishwasher with pots, pans, plates, spoons, cutlery, etc and ensuite laundry. The only disappointment on this front was the lack of dishwashing liquid and laundry detergent and the lack of small dishcloths for wiping up. (We bought dishwasher pellets and just used the laundry for rinsing out our bathing suits and towels and we used face cloths to wipe the dining room table and kitchen counters.) I can understand not providing laundry detergent, but the small dishcloths and dishwashing liquid would have been appreciated.

There is a pool with a hot tub, male/female lockers each with a sauna and an exercise room. We only used the pool once and the doors were locked, so we had to ask the security guard to open the doors for us - apparently, you need to sign in. We were the only ones in the pool that day so we had it, the hot tub, the change rooms, and the saunas all to ourselves which was nice. My husband used the exercise room once and found it fine although he commented that there was no TV.

The condo is located about a 5-min walk from the subway and is walking distance (about 15-20 mins) to downtown attractions. There is a grocery store (Dominion) at the subway station which we made ample use of. There are also lots of restaurants around (nice ones on Elm, south of College and take out ones on Yonge north of College).

All in all, we enjoyed our stay and thought it was great value for the money and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again!

  • Liked — Great value - lots of space and amenities
  • Disliked — Only the security guard available to help
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerWithTwoKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2006

We stayed in Toronto for two weeks in July 2006. Our apartment was on Bay street in a Condo Residence. It was a one bed appartment . We were really pleased with the apartment in general, but the sofa bed was a little uncomfortable. It was clean, and there was warm water and a fully functioning kitchen. It is ideally located downtown and just two blocks north of the Eaton centre and 2 mins walk to subway. The management of the building were extremely helpful and friendly.

The most important thing for us was cleanliness and central location, and I would rate these two as excellent.

I did not like the fact that you had to hand in your bed sheets to be cleaned and then they are returned later. However there was a washer and drier in the room which turned out to be brilliant and were able to go home with very little laundry to do. We were also able to wash sheets and towels as we liked.

There was building going on across the street at the time but I did not find this of any disturbance.

The swimming pool was small but was clean.

The management of the building were extremely helpful and pleasant. However as we were staying in a condo, the management were from the building, not the hotel, so I cannot comment on the glen grove management as we had no need to deal with them.

  • Liked — central location, cleanliness
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank gnilsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 13 March 2006

I stayed at the Conservatory Tower in June 2005 for a week.
It was an adequate accommodation and I was able to do my shopping in the downtown core.
My wife and I are going to come back to stay there.
R Cox
Barbados

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, MO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2005

We stayed at the Conservatory Tower location of Glen Grove Suites in Toronto June 30 - July 6. The 2 bedroom condo was roomy and that is all that is good about it.

Upon arrival we had to wait ten minutes for a guard to show up to give us our keys. There were 4 of us but only 2 keys and one passcard (required for access into the building). We asked the guard for more keys he said we'd have to call the help #. When we called they said they only supplied 2 keys but they would try to get more. We checked in on Thursday - on Monday 1 more key and 1 more passkey was delivered.

There is construction right next door to the condo. A sign at check-in warned residents to stop throwing things at construction workers. We were concerned about the calibur of our fellow tenants. We understood there frustration when we were woke up at 7:30 am every day but Sunday by jackhammers right outside the window. On our second night at this location a fire alarm sounded at 3 am and we all had to leave our rooms and walk down stairs (11 flights) to discover there was no fire. On the night before we left there was a power outage - again requiring the walk down 11 flights.

There is parking provided but the space we were given was 6 floors down and we had to exit the car before parking there because it was so tight. The remotes given to open the doors only worked if you were right next to the pad - it was very frustrating using the garage.

The condo provides no paper towels, dish cleaning facilities, laundry soap or anything like this. When I called about my blowdryer not working the help desk said they couldn't get us another one until after the weekend, nor could they authorize reimbursement for me if I chose to buy one. We never did get one.

This neighboorhood is also very shabby. I also visited the Jefferson, another property of Glen Grove - this was in a better location but my friends who were staying there couldn't get wash cloths for two days.

Don't even think about staying here - even though the pictures look nice it is a very shabby property.

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
10 Thank loislane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
#60 of 133 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,990 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
The Saint James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Grand Hotel Toronto
Grand Hotel Toronto
#22 of 133 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Grove Conservatory Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Grove Conservatory Tower

Property: Glen Grove Conservatory Tower
Address: 736 Bay St, Toronto, Ontario M5G 2M4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glen Grove Conservatory Tower 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glen Grove Conservatory Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Grove Conservatory Tower Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing