We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, good for long-term”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Glen Grove Conservatory Tower
Aussie
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location, good for long-term”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2011

We stayed here for 2 weeks after we had just moved to Toronto. The bedroom was very spacious, and the living/dining was a fine size, although the kitchen was tiny with very little bench space. Comfortable big bed, pay TV, iron, lots of linens, all the kitchen tools you could need were all supplied. Our only real gripe was that the place wasn't properly cleaned - a maid came in once a week but she didn't actually vacuum (only sweep), and as a result the floor was constantly covered in dust (I think maybe the heating vent was blowing dirt in?) 247 security, which was great. It's also very quiet - we never heard a peep from anyone! The gym was very basic (two treadmills, a few weights), but fine.

The location is FANTASTIC - around the corner from College subway station, across the road from pharmacy, Starbucks, mini-mart, food places, etc. Short walk to the Eaton Centre. Definitely good for long-term rentals, but I'd probably want to stay somewhere a bit nicer if you're in Toronto for a holiday (the building is fine, just a little dated).

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank buns123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glengrove, General Manager at Glen Grove Conservatory Tower, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Thank you for your review of the Conservatory Tower. We appreciate your positive comments as well as description of areas for improvement.

As the floors are laminate, our housekeeping procedures require the rooms to be mopped. But you may be right that the dust could be coming in from the vents. We are in the process of having this checked out.

We're glad you found the building to be well connected to everything from entertainment, to food, to public transit.

We look forward to welcoming you again to the Glengrove.

Regards,

Brian Pereira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    34
    15
    5
    9
See reviews for
30
17
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
184 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2010

SIx adults, three couples, stayed in #505 (one queen, two twins) at The Conservatory for 3 nights. The location is wonderful. The #505 apartment was a fine size with two bedrooms and two bathrooms. We knew one couple would be sleeping on the pull out sofa when we booked the place. However, this was the worst pull out mattress ever. We put it on the floor but it was so thin all you could feel were the coils. I ended up on the mattress on the floor and my husband slept on the couch which was very narrow and sloped back. We made it work but I would not recommend #505 for six adults. It would be wonderful for a group of 4 adults or adults and children. Other apartments Glen Grove rents might have better pull out beds.
Over all, this is a great alternative to hotel rooms. We could have breakfast every morning, cook meals if we wanted and plenty of room for all of us to "hang out."
It is about 1 1/2 blocks to subway. We walked most places, within 2 miles.
There is a little restaurant named Somethin' 2 Talk About south on Bay at 78 Gerrard Street West with delicious reasonably priced food. More of a take away than a sit down but there is seating. Open from 8-5 weekdays only.
We paid $199 per night plus $10 underground parking for total stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ReeSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glengrove, General Manager at Glen Grove Conservatory Tower, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Thank you for your frank review of our property. Yes, while the condo is spacious and airy, it is ideally suited for max 5 people (though technically, it can sleep 6 - 4 Adults and 2 small children).

Taking cue from your review, we are in the process of changing our policy to indicate that the unit is suitable for max 5 adults. We'd certainly like to thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Somethin' 2 Talk About is one of our favorite places as well. Our personal favorite is the Bar Burrito on the ground floor of the building.

We look forward to welcoming you at the Conservatory Tower the next time you're in Toronto.

Regards,

Brian Pereira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2009

We spent 5 nights here and were very happy with the apartment although it could probably do with a bit of attention - some of the flooring had been damaged. However, this did not detract from the fact that the apartment was very comfortable and well equipped and also it was in a good location.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiltygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glengrove, General Manager at Glen Grove Conservatory Tower, responded to this review, 18 June 2010
Thank you for your positive review of our property. We do try our level best to ensure that the apartment meets expectations.

Your comments about the flooring are well taken. We are in the process of renovating our suites and hope that the next time we welcome you, all the suites will have been renovated.

Warm regards,

Brian Pereira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2009

We just returned from a 4 night stay with our 3 kids. Great location right downtown, 5 min. walk to subway. Apartment was a nice size for our family of 5. It was great to have 2 baths and a kitchen. The apartment was clean, some of the furniture is a little tired looking but functional. The beds were comfy. Personal toiletries are provided but not dish soap. Also would have been nice to have coffee filters and or coffee provided. Pool was clean. Exercise room functional. Parking garage was a bit tricky but once the car was parked we just left it. Overall I would say it was a great value and would definitely recommend as a place for families that need a little more space and would like to economize by dining in for a few meals.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zaboodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glengrove, General Manager at Glen Grove Conservatory Tower, responded to this review, 2 September 2009
Dear Guest,

We thank you for the warm review of the Conservatory Tower. The service design and location is the reason its a favorite among families. The kids always love the pool.

Thanks to your review, we are actively considering making dish soap and coffee filters available in our suites.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you to the Conservatory Tower once again.

Warm regards,

Brian Pereira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2009

Stayed In Conservatory Tower for 4 nights and we were delighted at the value for money in such a central location. Unfortunately we had two days of rain during our visit, but we used the subway around the corner to visit the Ontario Science Centre, Casa Loma and did some shopping in the Eaton Centre to escape the bad weather. Like the previous reviewer, we noticed that the safety netting on the balcony of our condo was ripped but it didn't bother us as our kids are teenagers. We were glad of the two bedroooms and made good use of the kitchen and washer and drier. We didn't get to use the pool as it was being refurbished. Would certainly recommend for families looking for clean central accommodation who don't want to break the bank. Go see Jersey Boys musical as we really enjoyed the show.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aprilfool1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glengrove, General Manager at Glen Grove Conservatory Tower, responded to this review, 20 August 2009
Dear Ma'am,

Thank you for your kind words about our suites at Conservatory tower. We make every effort to provide clean, functional living spaces for our guests.

Your observations about the safety netting have been noted and we are working to address the issue. The swimming pool is now fully functional and we would love to welcome you once again so you can enjoy it with your family.

Once again, thank you for the wonderful review.

Warm regards,

Brian Pereira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayman
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2009

We had a great trip to Toronto and made the best of a bad situation with our stay at Glen Grove.
When we checked in we tried to see the good side of it with the location and that is good for shopping and visiting downtown attractions.
The room however was in desperate need of repair and renovation. Doors not closing properly and fittings falling off. The balcony looked like it was never finished properly and the protective netting was ripped.
We e-mailed management twice politely about some of our concerns and comment about safety for our young children and the general state of the apartment and received no response. In my opinion this speaks more about the establishment then the state of the apartment. As I have worked as management in the hospitality industry and firmly believe that a complaint can be a gift for a business that want to provide the best service they can for all the guest.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DayCareDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glengrove, General Manager at Glen Grove Conservatory Tower, responded to this review, 22 June 2009
Dear Guest,
You're correct when you say that a complaint is a gift as it helps a business improve. And we certainly appreciate you bringing this to our attention.

However, I'm concerned about your emails to the management as they did not reach me. Perhaps you were given an incorrect email address, in which case, we would like to ensure that this is never the case again. We do come across maintenance issues from time to time and guest feedback is essential for us to keep our standards high.

Conservatory Tower is a favorite among our guests, and this makes guest opinion even more valuable.

Thank you once again for bringing this to our attention. Our maintenance team has been instructed to review the unit.

Should you be in town again, I would welcome the opportunity to personally ensure your unit is to your satisfaction. Please do get in touch with me at brian@glengrove.com

Warm regards,

Brian Pereira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Toronto hotels

Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2009

We keep returning to this location because it is central to everything: restaurants, museums, shopping, theatre/entertainment, across the street from College Park and all of its amenities (subway, bank, Metro Supermarket, etc.) -- all Toronto has to offfer. However, some maintenance issues do exist: outsourced housekeeping can be lax and requires more management attention. Variety of suites in hi-rise condo .

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Repeatres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glengrove, General Manager at Glen Grove Conservatory Tower, responded to this review, 24 March 2009
Thank you for your wonderful review of our property. The location is definitely a plus for our guests. We appreciate the housekeeping issues you have brought to our notice. These will be addressed immediately.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Glen Grove again.

Warm regards,

Brian Pereira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
#59 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,903 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
The Saint James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Grand Hotel Toronto
Grand Hotel Toronto
#22 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Grove Conservatory Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Grove Conservatory Tower

Property: Glen Grove Conservatory Tower
Address: 736 Bay St, Toronto, Ontario M5G 2M4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 97 Speciality Lodging in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glen Grove Conservatory Tower 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glen Grove Conservatory Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Grove Conservatory Tower Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing