We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for a beer after the show”
Review of Firkin on Yonge

Firkin on Yonge
Reserve with OpenTable
Firkin on Yonge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #958 of 8,509 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Cross street: Queen
Transit: Steps away from the Queen St. Exit
Level Contributor
145 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great spot for a beer after the show”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stopped here after seeing a show at the Ed Mirvish. Great atmosphere and friendly staff. Sat in tables open to the street. Staff were attentive and looked right after us. There was certainly a regular visit from people begging for change but that's what you get when you chose a table by the street. We will definitely go back

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    53
    26
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Average 'Firkin' lunch .... but good atmosphere.”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

In the big city for the day and stopped here for lunch, it provided a welcome respite from shopping and walking. Arriving just about noon, we were pleasantly greeted and seated immediately. The staff were friendly and tried not to rush us, though this became more difficult as the place filled up. Food was as expected, we had a 'Firkin Burger' which was a bit overdone but big enough and reasonably tasty and a 'Butter Chicken Pie' which I'm told, was a bit dry. Add 2 pints of beer and a half of cider and the bill was almost exactly $50 plus tip (20% automatically on the credit card machine unless you manually change it). The good points were the location, the staff and the general atmosphere (which was quite 'jumpin'). Bad points were cramped table space and unfortunately the food (though not that bad).

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ianjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A good place to eat near Westin Harbour Castle in Toronto”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

After a long day at a conference at the Westin Harbour Castle , we ate at this pleasant pub in Toronto. The weather was chilly so the short walk across the street and through the plaza was ideal.
The pub was nicely appointed with good space between tables and given that the pub was not super busy, we had good and relaxed conversation during our meal. The food was tasty and nicely presented. Although the chilly weather precluded sitting outside, the patio was large and would be inviting on a hot summer evening. We would go back here with no hesitation if we were to stay at the Westing Harbour Castle again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greentree33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
502 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Good pub food and ale”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stopped in here for lunch during our recent trip to Toronto and were very happy with the lunch and beers that we ordered. In actuality, we got a different wrap than what we ordered and did not realize it. The manager came over and admited that they made the wrong chicken wrap for us and made us the right one and gave to us free of charge. Overall, nice pub!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
767 reviews
474 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 592 helpful votes
“Firkin Mediocre!”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Went out for drinks with colleagues after work and had wings and a drink at the Firkin on Yonge. Pub fare is pretty simplistic and does not have to complicated. My wings were greasy, greasy bad. Okay sauce, but nothing to write home about. The blue cheese dressing for the wilted celery was horrible. The location is close to many things, shopping, the theatre and Dundas Square. You just wish that better service and food would come from the Firkin on Yonge. With so much close by, this Firkin needs to get their act in order!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tdsuperstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Firkin on Yonge also viewed

 

Been to Firkin on Yonge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing