We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Canada Suites on Bay
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convenient”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We enjoyed our one bed, one bath apartment on the 31st floor. It had a very nice view of the city, CN Tower and the lake. The bed was extremely comfortable! The apartment was not overly luxurious but still perfectly fine. The location was good for us, about a 15 minute walk from the train station and office where I was working. In the area, there are countless restaurants, shops, theatres, museums, galleries etc. We received excellent service upon arrival. I used booking.com, which did not include the $79 cleaning fee in the quoted room rate (or maybe I just missed it), so that was a surprise, however, the overall price compares very well with hotel rates in the area. There is construction right next door but was only noisy during the day when we were out. We really enjoyed our stay and I wish I could have booked another night!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    30
    8
    4
    8
See reviews for
41
11
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 6 days in a two bedroom unit. The unit was clean. Furniture and equipment were very good.
Location is central to downtown. Walking distance from the Eaton center and most downtown shopping places. Many good restaurants nearby.
The noise of the nearby construction site gets disturbing when you open the windows to get fresh air. They have noisy equipment operations from Monday to Thursday from 7:00 am till 4:00 pm.
Service was good and staff was helpful.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ahmed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanadaSuites, Manager at Canada Suites on Bay, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write this review. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed our Presidential 2 Bedroom 2 Bathroom suite and that you have found our furniture and equipment to be "very good". We have recently upgraded sofa beds in each suite to Made in Canada bonded leather sofa beds so that our clients fully enjoy their stay with us.

Also thank you for praising the efforts of our staff and our cleaning team. We are here to help!

It is great to hear that you had found our downtown Toronto Bay street location to be convenient and a short walk to shopping, Eaton's centers and restaurants.

We regret to hear that construction work was noticeable by you when suite windows were open. We are closely monitoring the situation and were informed that work is completed now and the site is being cleaned up.

It was our pleasure accommodating you, come back to our beautiful city of Toronto soon!

Sincerely,

Amy
Team Leader - Reservations Team
CanadaSuites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed Sept 17-22, 2013. The one bed apt was as advertised, nice, clean, decent gym, comfy bed, washer/dryer. Kitchen had all utensils needed but no extras like oil, salt/pepper etc that often come with these type of places. Our big problem was the noise!! There is MAJOR construction or actually demolition going on next door which was ridiculously loud even on the 27th floor. Couple that with the no AC after mid Sept law and we were either deafened with the windows open or broiling with them closed (and the noise was still bothersome with them closed). Also note that the building is very close to a hospital so we were charmed awake with sirens at night before the construction started bright and early. It's too bad bc the place really was pretty nice.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Aileen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanadaSuites, Front Office Manager at Canada Suites on Bay, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. I am glad that you have found the bed comfortable and the whole apartment clean and overall pretty nice.

We are glad to let you know that nearby construction project is completed.

It would be our pleasure to accommodate you again soon.

Sincerely,

Amy
Canada Suites Reservations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

It was nice to be met personally and shown to our suite. It was really nice, had all amenities, laundry right in suite, even a welcome pack, nice touch. Fully equipped kitchen if you want to cook.
Would definitely stay again

Room Tip: Choose the executive suite, well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

We booked our 2 bed presidential suite direct via the Canada suites website . Emailing asking about various suites and locations before booking. We booked the suite CB 027 after looking at the photos online and being assured it was on a high floor.
We arrived at 4pm as agreed and the security guard shouted across a young lad who advised that we had not yet been allocated an apartment. I assured him we had and he tapped away on his blackberry for a while and said we were on the 4th floor ! I told him this was not what had been agreed and said we had emails to show this.
We agreed to look at the apartment and it was so disappointing the view was a building site or multi story carpark through Windows's at which none of the curtains actually closed. The furniture was nothing like that shown on the website. After much tapping away on his phone he got us to call the office who denied we had booked a specific suite but said they would refund our money but we would have lost too much due to the exchange rate refunding it back to our UK credit card also where would we go?
The big shock was to come next when we had to give a €300 deposit that was actually taken from our credit card and has been refunded today 1week after we left at a lose of nearly £20 due to exchange rates we were never at any stage during the booking told about this charge.
The rooms were not too noisy although very bright due to curtains not shutting fully and work started on the construction site at 7am sharp .
The good about the apartment was it did have the 2 bed rooms we wanted and was in a great location the number 6 bus stopped outside and it was a 5 min walk to the subway.
The bad although this Is sold on holiday sites it is in no way aimed at tourist , no advise available , after 2 days we found the metro supermarket in the bottom of the college park. The security guards were extremally miserable and did not appear to speak English.
This review may seem like a rant but we have stayed at apartments in Toronto on 3 previous occasions and many others in Chicago and Europe and never come across such a company.
The actual location of the building saved our holiday and luckily we were never in during the day to have to look out on the view.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank ruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

i stayed in the appartment for a few weeks. I was on the top floor and had trouble sleeping due to the loud noise of what im guessing was the air con equipment in the floor above.

Positives: nice interior, very clean and a superb location if you want to be in the heart of the city and close to the subway for easy commuting.

An easy walk to queent st west or bloor for shopping or eating out.

Negatives: noisy and unfortunatley I found the staff were very rude and unaccomodating when it came to a late check out request. I was quite shocked by the rudeness of the emails i got as a reply, considering it is at heart a business.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fifitrix_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanadaSuites, Manager at Canada Suites on Bay, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad to hear that you have liked our luxury 1 Bedroom suite's interior and have commented that your suite was "very clean". I will pass your comments to the housekeeping team.

It is also great that you had found our Downtown Toronto location on Bay street to be "a superb location if you want to be in the heart of the city and close to the subway for easy commuting"

Our guests are often surprised by how convenient our location is and how close it is to everything our beautiful city of Toronto has to offer.

We regret to hear that you felt that our email to you indicating that you could not extend your stay for a few days was rude. It was not our staffs intention to upset you, our staff has only stated the fact that we were fully booked and could not extend your stay past your scheduled move out date.

Thank you again for staying with us and for your next stay should you choose to extend your stay for a few days, kindly contact me directly so that I can personally assist you. I am here to help!

Sincerely,

Amy
Team Leader - Reservations Team
CanadaSuites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This is a great place when travelling with a group of friends and wanting to stay all together. The kitchen facilities give you freedom of choice in terms of breakfast etc. Location wise - it is dead at the weekend but Toronto is small enough for you to be able to walk anywhere. There was a welcome gift of chocolate and wine waiting for us.

Some minor negatives include: the leather couch in the living room is not too comfortable to sleep on as it is slippery and also has a gap in the middle. However there was another couch, which was a bit more comfortable. The building itself is a residential block of flats so there is no one on site to help you in case you need it and also sometimes there was a long wait for the lift.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank masenka18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
#60 of 136 in Toronto
6,078 reviews
Downtown
The Saint James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canada Suites on Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canada Suites on Bay

Property: Canada Suites on Bay
Address: 736 Bay St., Toronto, Ontario M5G2M4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Canada Suites on Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make Canada Suites on Bay furnished apartments your Home Away from Home in Toronto. We offer some of the largest Toronto furnished rentals - Our Family Friendly 2 bedroom 2 bathroom furnished apartments are approximately 1000 square feet and offer fully equipped kitchens, 3 plasma LCD TVs, fireplaces, and in suite laundry machines. Our central downtown Toronto location is across the street from the Sick Kids Hospital, College Park complex and the Subway station. We are just a short walk away from the Eaton's Center, Toronto City Hall, AGO, ROM, University of Toronto (U of T), Ryerson, Princess Margaret Hospital, Toronto General Hospital, and Mount Sinai Hospital. Our furnished apartments can be rented on a daily (Min. 3 or more nights), weekly, and monthly basis. Our furnished apartments are an ideal choice for families, university faculty, hospital patients and staff, business travelers, and government officials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Canada Suites on Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing