We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth visiting, but don't worry about going inside”

Toronto Railway Museum
Ranked #95 of 505 things to do in Toronto
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Toronto Railway Museum is dedicated to preserving the physical legacy, history and experience of rail transportation in Toronto and Ontario. The museum encompasses Roundhouse Park with Stall 17 as the temporary home of the railway simulator and small artifact display. Don Station houses our gift shop and ticket sales for our Miniature Train ride. Explore the grounds to find our interpretive plaques!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Baby buggy parking
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Worth visiting, but don't worry about going inside”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Worth visiting for the outside features (which are free). Discover the original roundhouse and see train engines. On a beautiful day, be sure to have your camera! Lots of people taking pictures with the CN Tower, downtown, and waterfront condos in the background.

There is a small train which took passengers around a circuitous route on an outdoor track. I'm not sure the cost of this ride, but the children looked like they were having lots of fun.

I would suggest not paying the $5 for adults ($3 for children, free for preschool) to go inside the Museum. A few artifacts from the golden age of rail travel, but very few. What you see from the entrance desk is all there is. Much more development needed until it is worth the admission fee.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WestCoastCityBoy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    76
    50
    15
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“One of our favourite outdoor walks in downtown Toronto, in all seasons”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Like an earlier reviewer, I'd love to give 5 stars -- for more information and a better 'guide' to seeing the terrific array of train engines and equipment here. This is an incredible walk, lovely in all weathers (including in a snowstorm), to give the children a sense of how important the railways used to be, and of the incredible scale and engineering talent which went in to all aspects of railways. This 30+ engine roundhouse apparently was used until the 1970s! Brings many aspects of "Thomas the Tank Engine" to life, at the very least. Bring a picnic in good weather -- not only wonderful engines to see but great place to just be part of downtown Toronto, including in the evening watching the lights come on and then watching the CN Tower light up. While the brewery seems to be a good choice as a tenant for this historic Roundhouse, it is a huge shame that they gave the other half to a tacky furniture store. This is a regular and favourite stop on our visits to Toronto and we look forward to it every single time.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank BonjourduCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
733 reviews
341 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
“Nice Outdoor Exhibit”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Have always viewed the Toronto Railway Roundhouse from the Gardiner Expressway over the years when driving home from downtown TO. The best part of this tour as it is free but outdoors so one has to learn to live with the weather as it is. Numerous exhibits on different railway cars and trains. Well written notes at each station and how tthe railway has servered the TO area for over 15o years here. There is a small railway ride available for a small fee for children to enjoy.
Must see for people who like this type of transportation from the past to remember from a history point of view. Well done & keep up the good work here,

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank b0b55russell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
313 reviews
179 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 349 helpful votes
“Interesting Bonus to a visit to Toronto”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The outdoor exhibits to this museum in Roundhouse Park are very interesting and worthy of 30 minutes of your time. It is near the Rogers Centre - the home of the Toronto Blue Jays. Ideal opportunity to take some interesting snaps - we even photographed a black Eastern Grey Squirrel during our stop. Recommended but we could not find an internal section entrance to the display. Also nearby is a brewery - the Steamhouse Brewery and one can view the workers on the production line.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FarEastTraveller33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena, Alabama
Level Contributor
144 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Nice outdoor displays and garden train ride”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

As another reviewer noted, this attraction is a tough one. The Museum appears to be run on a shoestring by volunteers in some of the most valuable real estate in Toronto between CN Tower and Harbourfront Centre. There are several diesel-electric locomotives, one steam locomotive, and one Pyke crane on display along with several relocated historic railroad buildings and rail cars. The entire museum is essentially outdoors, free to stroll about. I appreciated that the locomotives were open to climbing aboard, for fear of lawsuits most museums have blocked off such access. The indoor "museum" is a tiny space that contains various Canadian railroadania. The vast majority of the John Street Roundhouse is a Loev's(?) furniture store and the Steam Whistle Brewery (also worth a visit). I'm giving the museum 4 stars because the outdoor exhibits are well worth the time to visit and the restored pieces were immaculate; consider giving a donation to the folks operating the museum too even if you skip the indoor portion.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank civilengtiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toronto Railway Museum also viewed

 

Been to Toronto Railway Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing