We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the Ramen!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Momofuku Shoto

Momofuku Shoto
Reserve with OpenTable
Momofuku Shoto is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #516 of 8,404 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: US$90 - US$150
Cuisines: Asian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Downtown West
Description: Shōtō is located on the third floor of Momofuku Toronto in the heart of downtown Toronto. The three-story building is also home to Noodle Bar, Nikai, Daishō and Christina Tosi's Milk Bar. At Shōtō, guests are seated along a kitchen counter where they are served a seasonally inspired tasting menu by the chefs. Dinner is comprised of 8 - 10 courses and served Tuesday - Saturday. Reservations and walk-ins are welcome.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love the Ramen!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Had a fantastic lunch here on a Saturday afternoon. Arrived just before noon to avoid the crowds (they do take reservations). The pork buns were outrageously good and the Ramen was homemade and delicious. We had the Momofuku Ramen and the ginger scallion. Both were exceptionally fresh and wonderful Stopped upstairs at Mil bar but we were too stuffed to have dessert!!! Next time for sure!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PattiT23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    81
    77
    31
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
69 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Daichen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Well it rare that I get excited to go to a new restaurant. I have heard about this place from NYC and was busting to go. Upon entering you walk right into the noodle bar and on the 3rd floor is Daichen. The food was very unique and was great. The buns and rice cakes where seriously off the hook. all the other stuff was very good but the steak i would pass on. All the food was so original but the steak just like any other. The whole place had a great vibe and I highly recommend this place to any foodie less the steak. Enjoy its worth it

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Trader12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If you are a fan of pretentious waiters”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

I was there to celebrate a friend's birthday. We were up at the 3rd floor. We ordered the bo ssäm, and a bottle of wine. The decor was great, food was al right, and the service was unacceptable. After picking at the pork for about an hour, we needed a different taste in our mouth. We kindly asked the waiter if there were any other sauce available (specifically bbq sauce). He seemed shocked we would make such a request, and was mumbling a whole bunch of stuff under his breath. The waiter reeked of smugness. The only sauces they had was Siricha (which was watered down to the point where it tasted like water with a hint of spice), pureed kimchi, and chopped green onions. If you want anything else, I suggest you smuggle in a bottle of actual Siricha or better yet, BBQ sauce. Would I go there again? Nope. If you are a fan of pretentious waiters, food lacking in flavour and limited options, this may be the place for you.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ragu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“On a Cold Windy Day Hot Ramen Hit the Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

I went to Momofuku Noodle Bar with a colleague who had raved about a previous visit to the eatery. We went a little early for dinner since the seating is "family style" and we wanted to make sure we got a table with chairs that have backs as opposed to the high tables were you sit on stools.

The vibe was good as was the service. everything were ordered was tasty and prepared as discribed. The meal was perfect for the weather that day in Toronto and I left feeling full but not stuffed. while not inexpensive it is also not overpriced and the portions are generous.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank EdandMarna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

This is probably one of the best meals I've ever had, and I've been to some nice restaurants. After watching David Chang's PBS show, we were excited to eat at a Momofuku location. The food was exquisite. The pork buns were amazing and the ramen was excellent with many subtleties in flavour. I also had an excellent cocktail.

Honestly, if I could only eat one thing for the rest of my life, it would be those pork buns! The chefs at Momofuku really love food and finding new creative ways to feature it. The value for money is really exceptional considering it's not extremely expensive.

Afterwards we went upstairs to the milk bar-- I was a bit disappointed as I was expecting more of a café, but it was just a very small refrigerated store with some pre-packaged items. I guess the milk bar items are made in NYC and shipped in. Still recommended, however!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank emilybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Momofuku Shoto also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Momofuku Shoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing