We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Toronto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Ranked #9 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

As a meeting planner, I stay at many, many hotels....I'm so proud to have this hotel as a "go to" in Toronto. Everything from the service upon check-in, the cozy lobby, fantastic room amenities - top notch 100%!

Room Tip: Corner suites are amazing! - fantastic bed and bathrooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickey6928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we are now your ‘go-to’ hotel in Toronto! We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    841
    153
    51
    17
    12
See reviews for
189
376
39
299
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

"Shangri-la" means heaven on earth and my recent stay in Toronto was just that. Perfect location : close to business and entertainment. Extraordinary views up University avenue. I can't remember staying in a better, well thought out guestroom ever. And as a meeting planner I have seen many. Every last detail has been seen to in order to ensure a super comfortable, luxurious stay. AND: lovely, well appointed meeting rooms with lots of light and a lively lobby-bar where all the action is. And of course, efficient attentive service. Highly recommended for any type of Toronto visit. Enjoy...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BusyLizzy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Shangri-La Toronto. We appreciate your kind words and are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and the stunning view overlooking University Avenue. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

This hotel exceeded all my expectations! I stay on some if the best luxury hotel round the world as an event manager and can be very critical however this hotel can not be faulted!!! The lobby has a fantastic atmosphere and is the real hub if the hotel with the bar and restaurant adjacent!! I was fortunate enough to be allocated a huge suite and this has All the amenities you can imagine and more!!! The spa is fantastic and the cabana beds are perfect for relaxing with a book pre or post spa treatment!!! My only slight criticism is breakfast, I'm a firm believer that fruit, pastries, yoghurt etc should be a buffet and not ordered individually. Even if these items came to the table on wheeled trolly to enable the guest to choose or serve themselves!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amyt1985London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are so please to hear that you enjoyed your suite and you had the chance to relax in the cabanas! We strive to provide excellent service to our guests and are happy that you had everything you needed. Your idea for breakfast is quite appealing, we will review how we can enhance our breakfast service. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Came into the Lobby Lounge for drinks last week. The service was excellent and there was live music! It was a fun and relaxed atmosphere. We ordered the gin basil smash, pacito and a raspberry elderflower mocktail to drink, we then had the salmon sushi, tuna sashimi and calamari to snack on, everything was delicious!
My friends and I loved it and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppy908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so delighted to hear that you and your friends enjoyed the signature cocktails, food, and live music in our Lobby Lounge. We look forward to welcoming you back again!
Sincerely,

Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denver
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

they do everything right. rooms are beautiful with excellent attention to detail. staff is terrific and the service reflects that. it is definitely the best 5 star hotel in Toronto. They even have a top notch fitness center and an awesome restaurant

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zooche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Shangri-La,Toronto. We strive to have high quality standards in our hotel and are pleased to deliver personalised service to each of our guests. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your room as well as the restaurant and the health club.
We look forward to having you back soon!

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

By far one of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed at. The decor is smart, the service impeccable, and the ammenties plentiful and top notch. The fitness facilities are fantastic (reserve a cabana by the hot tub and relax with an inwall TV), the food at Bosk of the highest quality, and even the scented air has been planned out!

Rooms are spacious and bright (although there are a few per floor with smaller windows) and all rooms come with luxury toiletries, an iPad to interact with the hotel, fantastic linens, and lots of amazing little features (can you say motorized drapes and sheers?).

Room Tip: Each floor has a suite of three rooms that have a shared entrance (for larger groups - but each room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post about your experience at the Shangri-La Toronto. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here, especially at our signature restaurant bosk and our health club facilities. We strive to deliver the highest quality and are pleased that you were impressed. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Recently stayed at the Shangri-La in Toronto and found the experience to be worthy of sharing with others. Studious travelers should know that this is a new establishment and remarkable in style and décor. The rooms are extraordinarily well appointed and will meet or exceed the expectation of the most discriminate traveler.

The lobby did attract much attention and kept the staff busy attempting to accommodate the desires of all visitors. The restaurant meals and staff were nothing short of excellent and are deserving of recognition. Prices are competitive with the finest restaurants.

Finally and most importantly the staff provided service is beyond compare. You will not find this level of service elsewhere and I urge anyone considering a vacation stay in the Toronto area to spend a night or so at the Shagri-la.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank benfen6293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear Ben,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the Shangri-La Hotel, Toronto. We always strive to provide excellent and personalised service to our guests and it makes me happy to hear we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown West
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Midtown
The Hazelton Hotel
The Hazelton Hotel
#1 of 132 in Toronto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Toronto

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Address: 188 University Avenue, Toronto, Ontario M5H 0A3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Toronto 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 202-room luxury hotel is situated in a new 66-storey tower on University Avenue at Adelaide Street. Shangri-La Hotel, Toronto occupies the first 17 floors of this development, which incorporates the historic "Bishops Block"- one of the oldest remaining buildings in Toronto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, TravelUp and Travelbag so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing