We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great with some caveats”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Ranked #10 of 138 Hotels in Toronto
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The rooms and bathrooms are relatively large and well done. The fitness center and lap pool are great pluses. The staff is helpful but their enthusiasm far outstrips their knowledge. The place provides (ipads) or will lend (laptops) high-tech gadgets but the staff can't tell you how to use them. (For a simple thing like changing the language of an ipad, they sent an engineer to my room instead of just quickly explaining what to do.)
Another caveat, they seem to want to turn the lobby into a large bar, with singers most nights. This might be nice for a younger crowd but makes it loud and uninviting for many others.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buckaroo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,147 - 1,153 of 1,273 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2013

Just got back from 2 nights at this wonderful Hotel in the heart of the city. The huge reception area also serves as a wonderful meeting place with comfortable chairs and sofas, afternoon tea,drinks, or just a great place to relax.Elegant but so inviting. Rooms are well appointed, lovely linens, great bed. Large bathroom with separate shower and toilets. Room service was fast and delicious. But its the Staff which really make this a very special place to stay at. They greet you by name, are so friendly in a subtle way, they are there for you to make your stay as pleasant as possible, and it was a very pleasant stay.Breakfast was very good as was the Restaurant, highly recommend, a little pricey but well worth it. This is one Hotel we will definitely be staying at again......absolutely a 5 star....

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EuropeLaSalle_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Toronto, we appreciate your kind words about our hotel. We are pleased that you appreciated all the details of the room. Our team strives to deliver an excellent service and we delighted to know that you enjoyed it and it enhanced your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Sincerely,

Richard Cooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

This property clearly is a real 5 star Hotel. The check in was smooth and quick, the suite 1715, grandiose and fantastic. The attention to detail is second to none, I truly recommend the you experience the Shangri-La hospitality, at least once on your life!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adriano A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Dear Adriano,

Thank you for sharing your excellent experience with us. We appreciate that you took the time to give your feedback about Shangri-La Hotel, Toronto. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed every detail in our hotel. Thanks for recommending us and we look forward to see you again!
Sincerely,

Richard Cooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

You really cannot go wrong with this hotel! It is fabulous luxury! We arrived in Toronto and had booked into a different hotel that we did not like so moved to the nearby Shangri-La hotel which was a great move!

The Shangri-La is in an excellent location, easy to walk to all areas in the city. The hotel has a very decadent, luxurious feel to it, fabulous design, large rooms and bathrooms, excellent furnishings. We had a fabulous executive king room with views of the city and CN tower. The staff at the hotel were all so incedibly friendly, polite and helpful.

We highly recommend this hotel and we will only choose this hotel for any future visits to Toronto.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel13Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Shangri-La Hotel, Toronto. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the location of the hotel, view from your room and our professional staff who strive to provide the highest standards of service. We are honoured to be your only choiсe for your next visit to Toronto and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Sincerely,

Richard Cooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

As a meeting planner, I stay at many, many hotels....I'm so proud to have this hotel as a "go to" in Toronto. Everything from the service upon check-in, the cozy lobby, fantastic room amenities - top notch 100%!

Room Tip: Corner suites are amazing! - fantastic bed and bathrooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mickey6928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we are now your ‘go-to’ hotel in Toronto! We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

"Shangri-la" means heaven on earth and my recent stay in Toronto was just that. Perfect location : close to business and entertainment. Extraordinary views up University avenue. I can't remember staying in a better, well thought out guestroom ever. And as a meeting planner I have seen many. Every last detail has been seen to in order to ensure a super comfortable, luxurious stay. AND: lovely, well appointed meeting rooms with lots of light and a lively lobby-bar where all the action is. And of course, efficient attentive service. Highly recommended for any type of Toronto visit. Enjoy...

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BusyLizzy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Shangri-La Toronto. We appreciate your kind words and are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and the stunning view overlooking University Avenue. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

This hotel exceeded all my expectations! I stay on some if the best luxury hotel round the world as an event manager and can be very critical however this hotel can not be faulted!!! The lobby has a fantastic atmosphere and is the real hub if the hotel with the bar and restaurant adjacent!! I was fortunate enough to be allocated a huge suite and this has All the amenities you can imagine and more!!! The spa is fantastic and the cabana beds are perfect for relaxing with a book pre or post spa treatment!!! My only slight criticism is breakfast, I'm a firm believer that fruit, pastries, yoghurt etc should be a buffet and not ordered individually. Even if these items came to the table on wheeled trolly to enable the guest to choose or serve themselves!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amyt1985London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are so please to hear that you enjoyed your suite and you had the chance to relax in the cabanas! We strive to provide excellent service to our guests and are happy that you had everything you needed. Your idea for breakfast is quite appealing, we will review how we can enhance our breakfast service. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
The Adelaide Hotel, Toronto
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#22 of 138 in Toronto
3,777 reviews
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Toronto

Address: 188 University Avenue, Toronto, Ontario M5H 0A3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 138 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range: £253 - £419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Toronto 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 202-room luxury hotel is situated in a new 66-storey tower on University Avenue at Adelaide Street. Shangri-La Hotel, Toronto occupies the first 17 floors of this development, which incorporates the historic "Bishops Block"- one of the oldest remaining buildings in Toronto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, TravelUp, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing