We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Etherial” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Toronto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Ranked #9 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
173 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Etherial”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Beautiful asian decor and etherial use of space. Its a very pleasant respite in busy Toronto. The room was beautiful and very very clean. Housekeeping staff were pleasant. Its a lovely place to stay, but perhaps a bit of an enthusiastic price point.

Room Tip: They all seem to be pretty nice. I was impressed at the soundproofing... no street noise in a TO hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Roger P,

Thank you for you feedback. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your guestroom and overall stay at the Shangri-La Hotel, Toronto. We will make sure to share your comments with our housekeeping staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Shangri-La Hotel, Toronto very soon.

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    844
    153
    51
    17
    12
See reviews for
189
377
39
301
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

For a hotel of this caliber there was just something missing. It didn't help that the fire alarm went off at 11 pm on the Saturday night. Wrong dish brought for lunch. Phone calls and no one on the other end of the line. Ridiculous prices in the spa for a very ordinary massage. The therapist had 4 years experience including her training - for $275 one would expect more - where was the wow factor or at least the feeling that she knew what she was doing. Was told that I could not use the business centre as there was a conference going on. All that glitters seems to do only that. Much better options in Toronto.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank TheGentleTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Simon T,

Thank you for your feedback. I am sincerely sorry to hear that you had less than a favorable experience at the Shangri-La Hotel, Toronto. I will make sure to share your comments with the Management team so that they can be addressed immediately. I really do hope to welcome you back to the Shangri-La Hotel, Toronto in the near future so that you can experience our great hospitality.

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

The spate construction of new high-end hotels in recent years has made it a buyer's market for up-scale accommodations in Toronto. The old Four Seasons in Yorkville had been our Toronto home for 20 years. It was tired but it had a soul. The new model is grey and characterless and will look dated by 2014. The Ritz-Carlton feels like a upper-mid hotel playing dressup.
The new Shangri-la on the other hand is the real deal. The hotel feels warm and inviting from the lobby to the rooms. The staff provide a service level befitting a hotel with Asian roots. Where the new Four Seasons is cold and grey, the Shangri-la in all wood and Oriental pottery.
The rooms are exactly what you would expect in a new hotel of this calibre. The lobby is open and bright and on the Thursday night we were there, was full to bursting with lobby bar patrons.
We had one disappointment when we discovered the pool was closed for installation of lighting. The gentleman who showed us through the pool and health club enigmatically asked us what our room number was. When we returned to our room after dinner we discovered a a bottle of wine and a note apologizing for the inconvenience. That is remarkable service and attention to detail.
We have eaten at all three of David Chang's restaurants in the building but they are not part of the hotel so I will comment on them separately. The only meal we had at the Shangri-la was breakfast. The bacon and eggs were prepared as ordered but the whole wheat toast and particularly the cherry tomatoes were of standout quality.
One thought, though. The hotel has a ferociously expensive Fazioli piano in the lobby. Please show it the respect it deserves and keep it in tune.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WaterlooMarmiton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear WaterlooMarmiton,

Thank you for your feedback. We are so delighted to hear that you had a wonderful overall stay at the Shangri-La Hotel, Toronto. We strive to ensure our guests have a seamless experience from the moment they walk into our hotel and we are so happy to hear our staff was able to meet and exceed your expectations. We will make sure to share your review with the Health Club team. We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Such a nice hotel. Shame about the service. Valet was non-existent when we arrived. Hotel Closed the lobby bar at 1230am on a Saturday night. We left at black tie gala (that hotel was a sponsor of) early to come back and chill in the lobby bar. Manager told us that the only way to get a drink was to order via room service and then we could drink in lobby. 45 mins later once we had our drinks (after having to wait in room for delivery), then we were told we could not drink in lobby by staffer and were evicted. They even turned the lights up and turned off the fireplace to encourage our departure at 1:45am. (With grim looking security lady looking on. I didn't realize thst two couples in tuxes and gowns looked so threatening..)

So it can't get worse right - wrong. Breakfast the next morning took two hours, table wasn't set, order was wrong and service was inattentive at best. But what do you expect for a $25 breakfast! When we voiced our dissatisfaction at checkout, a manager overheard us and did apologize and comped breakfast and our parking......but too little too late. There are too many great hotels in Toronto and I never have a problem getting a drink at 1230am on a Saturday night at the Four Seasons or Ritz or Hazelton. Shangri la is in great location, nice rooms.......Holt Renfrew decor with Dollar Store service. Shame.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
11 Thank duffyscores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We were staying at the hotel as part of the Bliss Ball. We had a great check in and when we got to our room it was lovely. Nice jelly candies and lovely decor. When we arrived back from the ball though that is when the problems started. We wanted a nightcap in the lobby and were told they did Last Call at midnite because it hadn't been busy. Despite the fact the hotel was a sponsor of the ball and there would be a number of people coming back from the ball to the hotel. Then we asked for the Suty manager in charge. Unfortunately we did not get this lady's name. We asked her if we could order drinks to our room and then bring them down to the lobby to enjoy with our other guests who were also staying at the hotel. We were told we could do that. My husband went upstairs, ordered drinks, waited about 30 minutes for the drinks to arrive and then when he finally brought the drinks down to the lobby for us to enjoy the Night manager told us we had to get the glasses out of the lobby immediately or they could lose their liquor license. We told him that we all heard the previous manager told us we could enjoy the drinks in the lobby and he did not believe that all 4 people heard the same thing. Then the hotel raised the lights, shut the music off and turned off the fireplace in the lobby. We then asked if the night manager would comp our drinks since we no longer could enjoy them in the lobby and he said he couldn't do that. We told him again we were with the Bliss Ball and the hotel was a major sponsor of the ball and how disappointed we were with their lack of customer service and lack of empowerment in their employees. This hotel is lovely if you don't mind BAD service and one person not knowing what the rules ate and the left hand not knowing what the right hand is saying and doing. Shame on you ShangriLa. For such a nice hotel you really have Bad service. I hope lots of people read this review and walk with their credit cards to another hotel that can provide the service one would expect in a major city like Toronto. Since when does the bar close at 12 midnite because they weren't busy the night before??!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
4 Thank golferprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Golferprincess,

Thank you for your feedback. I am sincerely sorry to hear that you had less than a favorable experience with us in the Lobby Lounge. I will make sure to share your comments with the Management team so that they can be addressed immediately. I really do hope to welcome you back to the Shangri-La Hotel, Toronto in the near future so that you can experience our great hospitality.

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibsley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

I would choose to stay here again, the beds are really comfortable and the pillows (Northern feather) are divine. Breakfasts are superb and every member of staff was smiley and helpful. Sometimes being away from home can be tough, but I loved my room so it was a pleasure to be at the Shangri-La.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank BirdyDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear BirdyDorset,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are so happy to hear that you had a great overall stay at our hotel. We try to make our guests feel like they are “home away from home” and we are happy to hear that you felt welcomed at the Shangri-La Hotel, Toronto.

Kind regards,
Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Stayed here for 1 night for business travel, and wish I had been able to extend my stay. The rooms are elegant and modern and all the comforts of home are included- and more! Its location in downtown Toronto is very convenient and you are in walking distance from many restaurants- including Momofuku which is located on the main floor of the hotel. Staff are very helpful looking after every need.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Femmedewinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Femmedewinnipeg,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are so happy to hear that you had a great overall stay at the Shangri-La Hotel, Toronto during your business trip. Our staff are all very passionate about delivering great guest experiences, and we are very glad you well taken care of. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown West
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Midtown
The Hazelton Hotel
The Hazelton Hotel
#1 of 132 in Toronto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Toronto

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Address: 188 University Avenue, Toronto, Ontario M5H 0A3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Toronto 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 202-room luxury hotel is situated in a new 66-storey tower on University Avenue at Adelaide Street. Shangri-La Hotel, Toronto occupies the first 17 floors of this development, which incorporates the historic "Bishops Block"- one of the oldest remaining buildings in Toronto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts and Travelbag so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing