We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Ranked #9 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic hotel”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Big room and bathroom, iPad controlled lighting/curtains, pool/gym is fabulous. Probably the best hotel I've stayed at so far. Excellent customer service. would definitely return. Excellent location for business

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank mahlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Mahlow,

Thank you for your comments! We are so delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay in one of our spacious guest rooms and enjoyed our Health Club facility. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    907
    164
    52
    19
    15
See reviews for
202
412
43
322
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Yes, we had to meet up with Canadian family and plowed north through the snow from Manhattan to Toronto, via NOTL. We have always stayed at the Windsor Arms, but wanted to try something different, and we are glad we did. A mini suite worked well for us, husband and wife in one room and two kids in the second connecting room. We all loved the vibe of the hotel, from the sleek, modern decor, the doormen rushing to valet your car as if you'd really just driven to LA not frozen Toronto. Except, here there is no attitude, no endless LA tipping, just smiling faces and genuine concern for our well being. The in-room coffee and tea amenities are fantastic.

The lobby is an oasis in the morning, sit by the perpetual fireplace and relax with the paper and steaming coffee. As the day progresses the lobby cranks up. By tea time it's bustling with a truly lavish tea spread. Be sure and reserve! Very popular.
The reason I rate this hotel so highly is because every time something went wrong, they fixed it.
The concierge was patient and positive. No room for tea because we didn't know to reserve?
A slight complaint his way, and viola! a call to our room that of course we could have tea.
Another complaint his way when I couldn't eat early with my teenagers at the insanely popular Momofuko Noodle Bar next door...and yes, viola! we were in.
Much appreciated.
The other best part? We three escaped a sick husband and literally wanted to live on the pool floor, with our own cabana, tv, towels, cold beverages, heated pool, sauna, you name it!
High end service here with just the right touch.
I personally cannot believe that this staff is from Toronto. I think they flew them all in from one of their other hotels in Asia! That good.

Room Tip: My main tip is to reserve spa treatments, tea time, and restaurants ahead if you can. Many locals co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BoysieW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear BoysieW,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so delighted to hear you and your family had a wonderful stay at the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto. We strive to provide genuine, sincere service from the moment you walk into our hotel and we are so happy to see you were able to enjoy the facilities and services we had to offer. We also believe in making our guests feel like they are part of our family by showing our core values of sincerity and genuine hospitality and we are so pleased to know that our staff made you feel welcomed at the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next trip to Toronto.

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The Shangri La is, in my opinion, hands down the best hotel in Toronto. To quote Eloise - I just love, love, love the Shangri La.

I own a travel PR firm and have travelled for a living for many years, staying in luxury hotels around the world. Here are the reasons I love this hotel:

1. The doormen are super professional and friendly, and always have a kind word for me even when they are busy or the weather is bad. They remember my name and always have a smile for their guests.

2. The lobby is lively and social, with great lighting. The fireplaces make it warm and welcoming, in the manner of great hotel lobbies in great cities. Some times I sit and have tea just to enjoy the lobby, and I always use it to host clients when they are in town. The windows show the streetscape of University Avenue and make the space feel airy and light.

3. The Shangri La has the best hotel pool in the city, a divine, beautifully lit salt water pool with natural light, an infrared sauna and hot tub beside it. On cold winter days, coming to this pool is like a staycation that clears out the cobwebs. The gym has great equipment and again, the large windows make it feel so open and bright you are motivated to work out!

4. The food at Bosc is healthy and delicious with quick, unfussy service. The bar is also a great place to occasionally enjoy a beer after I work out and clearly deserve a cocktail.

5. The Presidential Suite is a great place to hold a reception and all of my clients enjoy the rooms, particularly the multiple international plugs.

There are lots of hotels in Toronto, and yet this one is my home away from home, in my very own city. I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel to even the most discerning guest.

Ann Layton

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Ann,

Thank you so much for all your comments. We are so delighted to hear that our hotel services and facilities have exceeded your expectations! Thank you for selecting us as your number one choice of hotels in Toronto. From your home away from home, we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This hotel was extremely nice and elegant! The room exceeded my expectations with the TV in the bathroom mirror and room controls managed by an ipad.

Located in a great part of Toronto with welcoming evening music to unwind from a long work day.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Cathy,

Thank you for your comments. We are so delighted to hear that our guest rooms have exceeded your expectations, in particular our technology such as the iPad. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon.

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Stayed here for three nights on business, early part of January. The warm welcome, the attentive staff and the luxurious suite more than made up for the bitter winter cold! On site - Momofuku's Milk Bar, Noodle Bar and Daisho was amazing. No need to eat anywhere else. Will come back again!

Room Tip: Higher floors provide a buffer from the very loud lobby happy hour noise. Ask the concierge to book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Workingmama_11,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you had a warm welcoming stay at our hotel. Our attentive staff is dedicated in exceeding our guests' expectations by showing our core values of sincerity and genuine hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back again the near future.

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Had the great pleasure of dining in bosk on a recent visit to this hotel. What a restaurant! Service is impeccable, and among the best I have encountered.
Food is sublime, others in the city should take note. Lobster dish is rich and textural, the lamb was perfectly cooked and presented in a way I have not seen in my outings, the addition of the lentils is brilliant.
Jan Michael, our server, was a delight. He guided our night, and made every course an experience through his descriptions. He truly made us feel like he was only looking after us.
The Sommelier, Mark, was a treat. Jan Michael suggested we speak to him, and we suggest everyone does the same. He listened, guided , and educated us along the way. the stories of the wineries he had were amazing. We found out later through Jan Michael, that he had won the best sommelier award for Shangri la hotels. He himself never told us or let on, a genuine class act, compared to others we have seen.
Dessert was slightly disappointing, but still good.
Jan Michael arranged us a table in the hotels lobby lounge. It was a great gesture, but we found we were too old for that scene. It is lively, but if you want personal attention, its not the place for you.
I cant wait to go back and spend a night as a guest in the hotel, and will definitely make bosk my new go to restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Bryan,

Thank you so much for your review! We are so delighted to hear you had a wonderful dining experience at our restaurant! We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Had an amazing time at this truly luxurious hotel in the heart of Toronto. Food , Service and Wine at Bosk truly wonderful. Recommend the scallops and the lamb.
Room had an amazing view and all the amenities you could dream of

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Alexandra,

Thank you so much for your comments! We are so pleased to hear you had an excellent time at our hotel! We hope you will come dine with us again in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown West
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#20 of 136 in Toronto
3,144 reviews
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Toronto

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Address: 188 University Avenue, Toronto, Ontario M5H 0A3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Toronto 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 202-room luxury hotel is situated in a new 66-storey tower on University Avenue at Adelaide Street. Shangri-La Hotel, Toronto occupies the first 17 floors of this development, which incorporates the historic "Bishops Block"- one of the oldest remaining buildings in Toronto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing