We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Toronto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Ranked #9 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
128 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We live in Asia, so we know The Shangri-la's Hotel well, my husband is from Toronto, so when we were back this time we thought to stay for a couple of nights to try it and compare.
The Hotel smells great..is their signature smell (same perfume they use in Shanghai) good speedy checking process, Big spacious room, complementary coffee and water.
Complementary use of an i pad, great connecting plugs for all European Asian American gadgets... so no need for adapters.
The mattress was very comfortable.
Bathroom, great! (big and spacious) overall a good experience... we were there for the coldest winter in Toronto...so can not comment on the gym or pool.
the location is great 10 min walk to Queen street, the Hotel is right on University street.
Concierge service was good, knowledgeable and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nala1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Nala1111,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay at the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto and that you were pleased with our customer service, amenities and our signature scent "Essence of Shangri-La". Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back to the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto very soon!


Sincerely,

Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    842
    153
    51
    17
    12
See reviews for
189
376
39
300
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

This year I spent another great evening at the hotel. Once again it was a delight. However, this time I was facing South vs East. From what I can remember the room facing East had a better view. It is a hotel of perfection!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duckworths5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Duckworths5,


Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to hear you had yet another great evening at the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto. For your next visit, you can request your room preference and we will be more than happy to assist you. Thank you for staying with us once again and we hope to welcome you back to the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto in the near future!


Sincerely,


Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Great hotel. Everything you would expect from a 5 star hotel plus more. Loved the complimentary iPad in the room. The lobby is a bit cavernous and I think we caught Momofuko on an off night but I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebPEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear DebPEI,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us and enjoyed the complimentary in-room iPad. We hope to welcome you back again to the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto in the near future.

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel for a weekend getaway. Everything about this hotel was fantasitc. To start the rooms are quite large and the bed is very comfortable. One of my favorite features in the rooms is that the television has a volume limit so you will never hear your neighbors tv in the middle of the night.

The staff was extremley professional, well trained and very polite. Emmanuel at the concierge was very helpful with great recommendations for dinner and getting us reservations. Afternoon drinks in the lobby were enjoyable because it was was not too loud. Because it was so cold outside we spent most of our time in the hotel during the afternoons and it was quite enjoyable. We will be returning to this hotel and you have the chance to stay at this beautiful hotel you should do so,

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taramarievan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Taramarievan22,

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to hear you had a wonderful overall stay at our hotel during your weekend getaway with your husband. We strive to provide excellent, genuine hospitality from the heart and I am delighted to know that Emmanuel from Concierge was very helpful. We real look forward to welcoming you back to the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto in the near future.

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed in January. Room was incredible, Julian at front desk gracious. Our room overlooked university avenue, busy but you are downtown.
Dinner in bosk INSANE. Great food, wine list , and service. Stephen was our server, he was incredible, the sommelier, was exceptional, we forget his name, but WOW.
Lobby is great on weekend with live bands, Jamie our server was one of the best we have seen. The vibe is lively.
New York should have a hotel like this

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear John,

Thank you so much for your review. We are so pleased to hear you had an exceptional stay with us and had a wonderful dining experience! We'll be sure to forward your comments to Julian from Front Desk, Stephen and Mark from Bosk and Jamie from the Lobby Lounge. We hope to welcome you back to the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto very soon!

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Spent one evening at the Shangri-La for a business conference. This is a top notch property.

The room was fitted out with all the latest technologies, including an iPad in the room. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was top shelf and the room was spotless. All the staff we encountered were over the top helpful. The desk agent that checked me in even walked me to the elevator and pressed the button for me. That was a first...On top of all this, the rate was very reasonable (<$200 I believe). What else could you ask for from a hotel?

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelRevue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear TravelRevue,

Thank you so much for your comments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our in-room technologies and service during your stay for a business conference. We hope to welcome you back to the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto in the near future.

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Heard many great things about Shangri-La Toronto and we decided to try it for ourselves. I absolutely blown away by the lively yet elegant facilities of your hotel. Great meal and classical piano during our family gathering high tea made it that much special. I take my hat off to your staff particularly to a young lady named Lynn at the reception. She was absolutely amazing to have been so attentive with our children during our high tea. Our family absolutely blown away by her charming attitude since many high end places that we've visited do not treat children as such poise and grace. Bravo, Shangri-La! Highly recommended for its excellent all-round services!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Laura,

Thank you for your review. We are so thrilled to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We strive to deliver genuine hospitality from the heart and I am delighted to hear you found Lynn very friendly and helpful during you stay. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back to the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto soon!

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown West
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Midtown
The Hazelton Hotel
The Hazelton Hotel
#1 of 132 in Toronto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Toronto

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Address: 188 University Avenue, Toronto, Ontario M5H 0A3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Toronto 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 202-room luxury hotel is situated in a new 66-storey tower on University Avenue at Adelaide Street. Shangri-La Hotel, Toronto occupies the first 17 floors of this development, which incorporates the historic "Bishops Block"- one of the oldest remaining buildings in Toronto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travelbag and Agoda so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing