We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis in the City” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Toronto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Ranked #9 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Wayzata, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
176 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Oasis in the City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

The new Shangri-La offers a luxurious oasis in this busy city. The rooms are softly decorated in warm muted colors. Beds are super comfy. The rooms are very high-tech with auto-open drapes and lights. Internet is complimentary! The lobby bar attracts a well-dressed crowd and there is often live music. We are staying in a deluxe suite that has two full bathrooms. Showers are awesome. Enjoy both a fluffy terry shower robe as well as a yukata robe--what a treat. Evening turdown service is nice - and I appreciate the bottled water left next to the bed. First class in every way! If you eat at Momofuku or Bosk on property, you can charge the meal to your room.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gail V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Gail,

Thank you for your comments! We are so happy to hear our room you had an excellent stay at the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto. In particular, our comfortable rooms, luxury amenities, and turn down service. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back to the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto in the near future.

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    844
    153
    51
    17
    12
See reviews for
189
377
39
301
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

This was our fourth visit to Shangri la on business. The rooms are spacious, and beds extremely comfortable. The location is in the heart of downtown, and easily walkable to the business district and local shops.
Momofuku is attached to the hotel, however this time the food did not match the hype.
Reception is great, individual greetings that made you feel like they are really happy to see you. We had a lovely lady named Winnie help us this time. Se was great! The concierge services have always been great, we arranged our car service through Tony, as well as a dinner reservation.
We ate at bosk for the third time. It was as described by others, great again. We were saddened to hear there sommelier had left, he was also so friendly, otherwise we were pleased.
We can't wait to retun.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kayker98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Kayker98,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are so pleased to hear you had a yet another excellent stay at the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto while on business. In particular, the comfortable spacious rooms, great dining experience and were pleased with our customer service. We will be sure to forward your comments of Winnie and Tony to our management team. Thank you for staying with us once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto very soon.

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Exceptional politeness and intelligence. Wonderful lap-pool, and very patient and personal service for breakfast and at the bar in the evening. Couldn't be better! I was due to stay at the Sheraton two weeks later and I cancelled and booked in here againl.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank bristolprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Bristolprof,

Thank you for your review. We are so delighted to hear you had an exceptional stay with us and enjoyed our Health Club facility, had an excellent dining experience and were pleased with our customer service. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back to the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto in the near future.

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Great hotel experience. Super efficient and friendly. In the heart of Toronto, easy access, great dining experience. Very comfortable bedroom and layout of the room. Comfortable pillows and high end bathroom.


Room Tip: None that I can think of
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Vikash S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Vikash,

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to hear you had an overall great hotel experience, in particular the comfortable bedroom and high end bathroom. We hope to welcome you back to the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

As I write this review, I am still lounging in the comfy bed at the Shangri-La. This hotel is fabulous. As soon as we arrived, we were blown away by the service. The valet was kind and welcoming. The concierge was so helpful. The lobby of the hotel is great. Especially for people on business trips. It has many lounge tables with a warm and inviting fire place and live music every evening.
Everything they do here goes above and beyond what you would expect of customer service. My husband needed his shoes from his car, so what did they do? Deliver them to our room.
The health club is the best of any hotel health clubs I've seen in my travels and again, the staff here are incredibly helpful and service-oriented.
The rooms are spacious and the beds are very comfortable.
They offer lots of in-room amenities such as an espresso machine and an iPad. They also have lots of wall adapters for all your devices.
The price is a bit steep for those using the hotel for personal travels, but it's well worth the price for luxury and service!
I will gladly tag along with my husband on future business trips if it means staying here again :)

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MandyJennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear MandyJennifer,

Thank you for your feedback. We are so delighted to hear that you had a great overall stay at the Shangri-la hotel, Toronto. We strive to provide genuine service from the moment our guests step into our hotel and we are delighted to see that you were able to enjoy the facilities and services we had to offer! I will make sure to share your kind words to our team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Shangri-la hotel, Toronto very soon.

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakhurst, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Our stay was very enjoyable!! The staff, room and overall experience could not have been better!! The location is great, with everything you need very close by. I would highly recommend this hotel for pleasure or business!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
2 Thank ElleB1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear ElleB1011,

Thank you for your review. We are so delighted to hear you had a wonderful overall stay and that you enjoyed the location or our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Shangri-la hotel, Toronto in the near future.

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

A hotel is as good as its staff, The Shangri-La Toronto is no exception. Outstanding service from the moment you arrive at the hotel, and in all capacities, check -in, food & beverage service in the lobby lounge and Bosk, to banquet, and housekeeping. The rooms are magical, everything at your fingertips or a call away. A world class addition to the city of Toronto

Room Tip: The upper floor rooms I have had offer breathtaking views of this vibrant city
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Mary,

My sincere thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us. It was truly a pleasure to have you as our guest. At the Shangri-La hotel, we value in providing every guest true genuine hospitality and excellent customer service. We are so pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay with us and we hope to welcome you back to the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto in the near future.

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown West
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Midtown
The Hazelton Hotel
The Hazelton Hotel
#1 of 132 in Toronto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Toronto

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Address: 188 University Avenue, Toronto, Ontario M5H 0A3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Toronto 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 202-room luxury hotel is situated in a new 66-storey tower on University Avenue at Adelaide Street. Shangri-La Hotel, Toronto occupies the first 17 floors of this development, which incorporates the historic "Bishops Block"- one of the oldest remaining buildings in Toronto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelbag and TravelUp so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing