We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Ranked #9 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
hamilton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Modern luxury”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I stayed here for a business trip for 5 days. The room was the cleanest I've ever seen in a hotel...absolutely spotless! All the amenities are there plus some you might not expect. There's an IPAD that controls the drapes, lights, temp etc. The bathroom was phenomenal....TV embedded in the mirror, large glass shower etc. There is a coffee/tea maker with real milk!! The location is central. The staff were extraordinarily polite and courteous. I'm not a huge fan of the "Asian inspired" decor in the common areas but the room itself was very nice. There was some road noise from trucks going down University Ave.....otherwise I would have given 5 stars on the sleep quality.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Jim1011,

Thank you so much for your review. We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay during your business trip and that you enjoyed the guest suite, in-room facilities and amenities. It is always our pleasure to provide our guests with excellent service and we are happy to hear our staff was able to make your stay enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto in the future.

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    889
    162
    51
    19
    14
See reviews for
199
401
41
318
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights during a quick trip to Toronto. The room and bathroom were very nice, with all of the amentities you'd expect at a fine hotel. The hotel is well located -- close to the entertainment district, medical area, a quick walk to CN Tower & the waterfront, etc. But even better, the employees were very attentive from check in to check out. For example, when we came down one morning in our exercise gear, the manager gave us some wonderful recommendations for a good walk or run route. Overall, an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmsmith13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Kmsmith13,

Thank you for your review. We are very glad to hear that you had a wonderful overall experience at the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto. We strive to provide exceptional service and we are so happy that our staff was able to recommend a great walk or run route for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto in the near future.

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenosha, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Hotel is centrally located. Executive room has 2 queen beds with enough space to move around without bumping into one another. Beds were ultra comfortable. We had a partial view of the CN Tower and the windows provided great sunlight in the morning. Bathroom was exquisitely clean, modern. Room has an Ipad to control lights and drapes.

Staff was extremely helpful, polite & personal. Everyone from the valet, front desk, concierge, room service, pool/sauna, lobby entertainment made us feel welcome and pampered. Room cleaning service was great, giving us fresh towels, making our beds. Checked in Monday evening and the staff had our names memorized the next morning!

Pool, sauna, steam room were clean. Cabana given us was huge.

Surprisingly good food at restaurants Bosk and Momofuku. Night time lobby entertainment was fantastic.

Super satisfied experience overall. I highly recommend staying here. Will definitely stay with them next time we visit.

Room Tip: Room on 10th floor facing southwest has partial view of CN Tower. Spacious enough for family of fou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank C V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear C V,

Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted to hear that you and your family had a wonderful stay and that you enjoyed your executive room, the pool, cabana and our signature restaurant, Bosk. We strive to provide impeccable service from the moment our guests steps into our hotel and we are pleased to hear our staff was able to make your stay a memorable one. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto very soon.

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Very impressed. The room was large, clean, modern and well decorated. There was a great setup with the desk and internet which made it easy to get some work done. The complimentary tea and coffee was great quality and easy to make. The bathroom was a bit of an oasis and, with a tv behind the mirror, I found myself lingering in the bathroom in the morning.

There's a great atmosphere in the lobby. Each evening I came back to the hotel I found nice music (live music a couple of nights) and a hip crowd hanging out.

Staff was very friendly and welcoming. I echo the comments of others that every detail has been attended to -- even the taxi they sent us to the airport in at the end of our stay was clean and had bottles of water in the back seat.

The view from the room wasn't the best since the hotel rooms occupy the lower floors of the building, however, I wasn't in the room for much time so it didn't make much of a difference.

I would certainly stay at the hotel again and recommend it to anyone visiting the city.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison_and_Kevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Allison_and_Kevin,

Thank you very much for your review. We are very pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay during your business trip. We strive to exceed our guests’ expectations in all areas of the hotel – service, guest suite, in-room facilities, amenities and live music, and we are glad that you enjoyed your experience here. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto in the near future.

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I came Toronto to visit friends over Memorial Day 2014. I was originally drawn to The Shangri-La through its reciprocal benefits and discount program with my club The Soho House.

Overall, the value was excellent and the staff incredibly friendly. The health club and pool were in excellent condition. A complimentary room upgrade from the regular suite we booked to a deluxe suite was a nice touch upon arrival.

Overall, my partner and I enjoyed the hotel very much and would definitely stay here agin.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Alexander B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Alexander B,

Thank you for your review. We are so glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay and that you enjoyed the health club and pool. We strive to provide impeccable service from the moment our guests arrive at our hotel and we are pleased to hear our staff was able to make your stay a memorable one. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

By far the best hotel experience I've ever had. From the care taken at check-in, including being personally escorted to our room, to the customer service exhibited by every person we encountered, the customer experience was exceptional. The room was gorgeous, spotless & high tech (personalized iPad to control air, lights & drapes; tv embedded in the bathroom mirror). Loads of space, very quiet. The location was great, we were able to walk almost everywhere we wanted to go. Also tried Bosk, the onsite restaurant - excellent service and a very memorable meal. The music in the lobby was great - apparently it's a very happening place, as there was quite a crowd both weekend nights during our stay. We look forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank landminseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Landminseattle,

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad to hear that our guest-suite, in-room facilities, amenities and your meal at our signature restaurant, Bosk, added to your memorable experience. We are so happy to hear that you had a fantastic stay at the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto. We strive to provide exceptional service from the moment our guests step into our hotel and we are pleased to hear our staff was able to make your stay an enjoyable one. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

I traveled to Toronto on business and this hotel exceeded my expectations. Convenient location within short walking distance to practically everywhere.

The rooms are luxurious and spacious, staff exceedingly helpful and friendly. There is attention to detail in every amenity - separate shower stall, toilet and tub; lots of large and well lighted mirrors; great selection of teas and coffee for in room coffee service; iPads in each guest room with access to hotel services; remote controlled lights and drapes via iPad - in a word awesome. Now that I've stayed here, won't want to stay anywhere else in downtown Toronto.

On tip - request an upper floor if street noises affect your sleep. My room was on the 8th on University Ave side and the traffic and sirens late into the night was annoying. Otherwise a near perfect experience.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank LMR1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear LMR1995,

Thank you so much for your review. We are very pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay during your business trip and that our hotel exceeded your expectations. It is always our pleasure to provide our guests with excellent service and we are happy to hear that you also enjoyed our rooms, amenities and facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto very soon.

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown West
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Midtown
The Hazelton Hotel
The Hazelton Hotel
#1 of 136 in Toronto
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Toronto

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Address: 188 University Avenue, Toronto, Ontario M5H 0A3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Toronto 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 202-room luxury hotel is situated in a new 66-storey tower on University Avenue at Adelaide Street. Shangri-La Hotel, Toronto occupies the first 17 floors of this development, which incorporates the historic "Bishops Block"- one of the oldest remaining buildings in Toronto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing