We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mervelous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Ranked #9 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Mervelous”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed in a one bedroom delux suite , great lay out and found the price very fair, room was clean and fresh and modern . However lots of construction in the area and was very loud when trying to sleep view is not the best. Lounge is alway extremely busy and hard to find seating. We enjoyed Live music every night however would not recommend the food , we found the drink over priced . Wait staff seem overwhelmed however all other staff go out of their way to make your trip enjoyable

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillJKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    907
    164
    52
    19
    15
See reviews for
202
412
43
322
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2014

When I made the reservation I was told that all suites have butlers. That's not the case and there was no make good. Seems like most of the staff understands very little English and this has been problematic. The property is stunning but the service is not on point.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkbecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is my 2nd stay at the Shangri-La Toronto. The purpose of my visit was buiness. This hotel is outstanding in every way. The staff anticipate your needs and the hotel itself is beautiful. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable, as are the beds and pillows. The hotel has the feel of a resort/spa, a very nice way to unwind when you are away from home.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Jim C,

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay during your business trip. We strive to exceed our guests’ expectations in all areas of the hotel and we are pleased that you enjoyed your experience here. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto in the future.

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My first stay was this past weekend in the special suite. I've stayed at both the Ritz and the Hazelton in Toronto and have to say this hotel is now my favorite. We enjoyed an excellent dinner and breakfast at Bosk. The location is a convenient walk to King and Queen west shopping & entertainment. We had one small issue with the room which was looked after immediately and way beyond what we would have expected. Mistakes happen but it's how you respond and does the management ever know how to respond and look after a customer....thanks again Andrew.

Room Tip: We booked the suite on the weekend and breakfast was included!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Rob C,

Thank you so much for your review. We are very happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay and that the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto has now become your favourite hotel. We strive to provide impeccable service from the moment our guests steps into our hotel and we are pleased to hear our staff was able to make your stay a memorable one. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto in the future.

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My husband and I recently spent a night at the Shangri-La for our anniversary. We were blown away by our experience and have nothing but positive things to say. The entire staff were beyond attentive to our every need and even added some special touches to make our anniversary extra special. We had a couples massage which was the perfect way to relax, by far one of our best spa experiences. We had a three course dinner at the Bosk restaurant. There were some very unique options on the menu and each course was full of fabulous flavours. Our room was beyond stunning. We have decided staying here is a must for every anniversary!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Diane F,

Thank you very much for your review. We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay during your anniversary and that you enjoyed our signature restaurant, Bosk, the spa, and your room. We are delighted to hear our staff was able to make your stay a memorable one. We look forward to welcoming you and your husband back to the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I stayed at Shangri La with my bridesmaids the night prior to my wedding a few weeks ago. The suite was immaculate, and the staff was seamless in terms of service and attention. They brought up bottled water and delivered flip-flops for pool just as we were mentioning we had forgotten ours (mind-readers!) The staff at the pool showed me to my own cabana and set me up with magazines and drinks - they were extremely warm and welcoming, and made me feel at ease. When we returned to the room there was a delicious complimentary chocolate cake. Every room in this hotel smells amazing (even the elevators). The staff are doting and approachable, and it is by far the nicest hotel I've stayed in in Toronto.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiffy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Tiffy T,

Thank you very much for your review. We are so delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto the night before your wedding and that you enjoyed the pool and cabana. We strive to provide impeccable service from the moment our guests arrive at our hotel and we are pleased to hear our staff was able to make your stay a memorable one. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto in the near future.

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

One of the best business hotels around. Beautiful Asian art, great service and a lively bar. My last trip included a fantastic laksa from room service, discrete service at an important breakfast and a fun late beer. Just don't ask me what time i am leaving the minute i check in. It makes me feel unwelcome. Oh and omelettes should have fillings not toppings. But it is still top of the list.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear David J,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you had a great overall stay at the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto during your business trip and that you enjoyed the laksa from room service. We are sincerely sorry to hear that you had a less than favourable experience when checking-in. I will make sure to share your comments with the management team. We look forward to welcoming you back again to the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto very soon.

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown West
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#20 of 136 in Toronto
3,144 reviews
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Toronto

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Address: 188 University Avenue, Toronto, Ontario M5H 0A3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Toronto 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 202-room luxury hotel is situated in a new 66-storey tower on University Avenue at Adelaide Street. Shangri-La Hotel, Toronto occupies the first 17 floors of this development, which incorporates the historic "Bishops Block"- one of the oldest remaining buildings in Toronto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing