We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service less than desirable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Ranked #10 of 135 Hotels in Toronto
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I recently stayed with my husband and 2 teenage daughters and was disappointed. The hotel itself is conveniently located in the city to most activities/attractions and had several wonderful features. The lobby is beautiful and a nice place to sit and relax-have a cocktail or just people watch! The rooms (we had a corner suite) were on the small side but did have a lovely bathroom with wonderful amenities. The gym/pool area was wonderful and staff there were excellent. We did not have any meals at the hotel so I cannot comment on that.
When I booked the room I had requested a high floor, early check in, and extra pillows/towels. We did not arrive until just after 2 pm and the room was not ready. We were informed by the gentleman at the front desk they would call as soon as it was ready and he felt it would only be an hour. We left to explore the city and after 3 hours and still no phone call we arrived back at the hotel to find our room was ready and on the 6th floor(this is really the bottom level of the rooms) but we did not complain as we were tired and wanting to get ready to go out for dinner. Later that evening we called for ice for our daughter and after waiting for over an hour and no ice we were decided they were not bringing it.
The following day we left our room around 10 am and returned about 4:30 pm only to find our room had not been serviced yet. I called and they said they would be there shortly. We left for a few more hours only to return to find housekeeping still in our room!
I also would not recommend exchanging your money at the front desk as this was as close to robbery as one can come!
I will not plan to return to this hotel or any of it's other properties based on our experience here. I would recommend either The Trump or Mandarin-Oriental properties as they have not disappointed me with their service or hotel amenities whenever and where ever we stayed with them.

Room Tip: Don't stay here-stay at the Trump or elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank fredlovesbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Fredlovesbetty,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are sincerely sorry to hear that you had less than favorable experience with us. I will make sure to share your comments with our management team so they can look into it. On another note, we are happy to know that you found our in-room amenities comfortable and that you enjoyed our Health Club facilities. We truly believe in providing excellent service, and we really hope to invite you back in the near future so we can show you our unique Asian hospitality and you can enjoy the other facilities we have in our hotel such as the Spa and our signature restaurant Bosk. Please feel free to e-mail me directly at richard.cooke@shangri-la.com if you have any further questions or comments.

Sincerely,
Richard Cooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

994 - 1,000 of 1,315 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Exquisite! Inly a short stat but fabulous. The hotel lobby is beautiful and a nice place to have a drink when travelling alone.

Rooms are large and vert comfortable.

My luggage was lost and the concierge dealt with the airline to retrieve it!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank nidhochartaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear nidhochartaigh,

Thank you very much for your review. We are very glad to hear that you had a wonderful time at our Lobby Lounge and that you enjoyed the drinks. We strive to provide impeccable service from the moment our guests arrive at our hotel and we are happy to hear our staff was able to help you with retrieving your luggage. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto during your next visit to Toronto.

Sincerely,
Richard Cooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My family arrived late in Toronto after our BA flight was delayed. After a rather uncertain welcome (a beggar insulted my wife in the hotel driveway), and Reception being unprepared for my visit, things got better and better.

Once having checked in, and seeing our accommodation, I was much happier. Our one bedroom suite was very well appointed and comfortable. The bathroom had spectacular views through floor to ceiling windows. The rooms for the children were very satisfactory.

Reception, once it had worked out everything, became efficient and very welcoming.

I liked this hotel very much during my three day stay. Once the hotel recovered from it's poor start it was a pleasure to stay there. Service was very good, and all members of the hotel staff were extremely friendly and would do anything to help.

The concierge desk must take all the prizes here. Under the the expert supervision of Robin Elliott, all the concierges were brilliant. A special mention to Margarita Noel, who handled all my trips, including a spectacular day at Niagara.

One extra note....The hotel prices were very reasonable, especially with the the tthree nights for two offer

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dp103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Dp103,

Thank you for your kind review. We are so happy to hear that you and your wife had a great overall stay during your three night stay at Shangri-La hotel, Toronto. We strive to provide genuine service from the moment our guests step into our hotel and we are so delighted to know our Concierge team was able to assist you with your trip to Niagara. We really hope to welcome you back to the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto in the very near future.

Sincerely,
Richard Cooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Everything about this hotel is simply amazing. The atmosphere was great and the quality of everything was the very best. The staff were very helpful and always willing to assist you. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was spectacular. The built in television in the mirror was our favourite. Definitely will be returning to this Hotel.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Deanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Deanna M,
Thank you for your feedback. We are so delighted to hear that you had a great overall stay at the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto. It is always our pleasure to provide our guests with genuine service from the heart and we are pleased to hear that you also enjoyed our amenities in your room. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto in the future.
Sincerely,
Richard Cooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located in the heart of the entertainment district and everything from restaurants to clubs and other night life is a short walk away.The hotel staff are on top form and the service is excellent and always with a smile , whether it's an over night out or longer this hotel really is outstanding.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank AlKayvac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2014

Dear Lance K,
Thank you for your review. We are very glad to hear that you and your partner had a wonderful overall experience at the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto. We strive to exceed our guests’ expectations in all areas of the hotel – service, guest suite, in-room facilities, amenities and live music, and we are glad that you enjoyed your experience here. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto in the near future.

Sincerely,
Richard Cooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Excellent location and very comfortable rooms.....staff anticipated every need and made the visit completely stress free. Pool and the health club is excellent.
Excellent location and very comfortable rooms. Staff anticipates all needs and very accommodating. Pool and the health club is very nice.

One of the nicest hotels I have stayed at recently





Room Tip: Rooms are very spacious and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank I R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear I R,
Thank you for your review. We are so glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay and that you enjoyed our Health Club facilities and the pool. We strive to provide exceptional service from the moment our guests step into our hotel and we are pleased to hear our staff was able to make your stay an enjoyable one. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
Richard Cooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

As part of our family holiday we spent 3 nights at the Hotel and our first impression was one of friendly, efficient staff as the concierge beamed a welcome and valet parked our rental car. We also received a warm welcome from the check in staff who again, we're friendly and efficient as they were on check out. The rooms are extremely spacious and well appointed with the usual gadgets that one would expect from a relatively new hotel. Additionally, the Hotel is well sited and only walking distance from local amenities, transport and attractions. The Lobby Lounge has a lively feel to it and offered good quality live music in the evening however on the downside, the Greeting Girls were a little too aloof and appeared not to remember that we were staying at the Hotel even though we had met them on many occasions during our stay. This was however a minor irritation on what was a fantastic stay a wonderful hotel. Additionally, the Hotel restaurant Bosk is a gastronomic delight.

Room Tip: Try Bosk for dining excellence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Steve M,
Thank you for your review. We are so happy to hear our staff was able to make your stay at the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto an enjoyable experience. We strive to provide genuine hospitality from the heart and impeccable service from the moment our guests arrive at our hotel. I will make sure to share your kind comments with our management team about our Lobby Lounge associates. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future again.
Sincerely,
Richard Cooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
The Adelaide Hotel, Toronto
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#23 of 135 in Toronto
3,946 reviews
Midtown
The Hazelton Hotel
The Hazelton Hotel
#1 of 135 in Toronto
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Toronto
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Toronto

Address: 188 University Avenue, Toronto, Ontario M5H 0A3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 135 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range: £245 - £421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Toronto 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 202-room luxury hotel is situated in a new 66-storey tower on University Avenue at Adelaide Street. Shangri-La Hotel, Toronto occupies the first 17 floors of this development, which incorporates the historic "Bishops Block"- one of the oldest remaining buildings in Toronto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing