We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Ranked #10 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Overall an excellent stay. Unhappy at arrival as we had to wait 10 minutes in our car after which we had to lug all of our suitcases out ourselves. Not a good way to start at a Shangri La! After that all uphill. The room was very good. Service from all staff was excellent. The embedded TV in the bathroom did not work and the hotel ipad did not always connect.

Room Tip: 17th floor is the top floor. Room 1704 in the corner has great views.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank Tobias K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Tobias K,

Thank you for your feedback. It is always our pleasure to provide our guests with genuine service from the heart. We strive to make our guests feel like they are part of our family by showing our core values of sincerity and genuine hospitality and I will make sure to share your comments with my management team. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel very soon.

Sincerely,
Richard Cooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,197)
There are newer reviews for Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

878 - 884 of 1,197 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

My friend and I decided to treat ourselves to a stay-cation at a nice hotel downtown and we weren't disappointed. Even though we booked through a discount hotel web site, they upgraded our room at no extra charge. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. When we checked in the woman at reception took us up to our room and showed us all the amenities. The room was very nicely decorated, the bathroom was amazing and the beds were super comfortable. The in-room iPad is a nice touch too. The location is great. It is right downtown and on the subway line. It's a 10 minute walk to the Eaton's Centre for some shopping and there are a lot of restaurants close by. The pool area is very nice. Both times we went we were given an cabana with our own tv. The only negative to the Shangri La would be the signature scent they pump into the lobby and the hallways. My friend and I aren't allergic but it could be hard on people who are sensitive to perfumes.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debw1306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Debw1306,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay and that you enjoyed the in-room facilities and the cabana at our Health Club. We are happy to hear our staff was able to make your visit a memorable one. I will make sure to share your comments with our management team about the Lobby Lounge. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto in the near future.

Sincerely,
Richard Cooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel a year ago and were anxious to return to it's tranquil surroundings. Second time around we noticed the one bedroom suite a bit more weathered, only slightly used, but overall cleanliness and atmosphere were still superior. We didn't get that, "wow this place is perfect", feeling as we did on our first visit. My family and I usually stay at the Sheraton Downtown due to it's connecting walkways to the Eaton's Mall but felt drawn to Shangri la's ambience we experienced on our first trip there a year ago. For the rates we paid we were expecting perfection, although pretty close, still some room for improvement. Never the less we will return, this place is awesome.

Room Tip: A bit more quality control and maintenance to keep up the fit and finish of the rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
3  Thank 609Summer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear 609Summer,
Thank you so much for your review. We are very pleased to hear you and your family had a wonderful stay during your second visit to Shangri-La hotel, Toronto. . It is always our pleasure to provide our guests with excellent service the moment they enter our hotel. We will make sure to share your comments with our management team. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto in the very near future.
Sincerely,
Richard Cooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Very nice stay in Toronto thank to the friendly folds at the Shangri-LA. The rooms are beautiful and the ipad although a little gimmicky is a cool feature.
The food service is top notch as is their repair department, who took the time to professionally fix the broken wheel on my suitcase. Overall a great 3 night stay, now we just need the customs crew of dimwits at the toronto international airport to do their job and I might even consider another trip to Toronto.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roberto s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Robert S,

Thank you so much for your review. We are pleased to hear that you had a great overall stay at the Shangri-La Hotel, Toronto during your three nights here and liked the in-room facilities. We strive to provide excellent service and treat our guests as a member of our family so I am happy to hear you felt well taken care of. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Shangri-La Hotel, Toronto during your next visit to Toronto.

Sincerely,
Richard Cooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Although the lobby was so loud because of a live band we could not hear a word the check in person was telling us, once we got to the room we found a very large super modern suite full of technology like a tv screen in the mirror, massive tub, superb living area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johncaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Johncaro,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay and that you enjoyed your suite. It is always our pleasure to provide our guests with excellent service and we are pleased to hear that you also enjoyed our amenities and facilities. We hope to welcome you back to the Shangri-La Hotel, Toronto very soon.

Sincerely,
Richard Cooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I recently stayed with my husband and 2 teenage daughters and was disappointed. The hotel itself is conveniently located in the city to most activities/attractions and had several wonderful features. The lobby is beautiful and a nice place to sit and relax-have a cocktail or just people watch! The rooms (we had a corner suite) were on the small side but did have a lovely bathroom with wonderful amenities. The gym/pool area was wonderful and staff there were excellent. We did not have any meals at the hotel so I cannot comment on that.
When I booked the room I had requested a high floor, early check in, and extra pillows/towels. We did not arrive until just after 2 pm and the room was not ready. We were informed by the gentleman at the front desk they would call as soon as it was ready and he felt it would only be an hour. We left to explore the city and after 3 hours and still no phone call we arrived back at the hotel to find our room was ready and on the 6th floor(this is really the bottom level of the rooms) but we did not complain as we were tired and wanting to get ready to go out for dinner. Later that evening we called for ice for our daughter and after waiting for over an hour and no ice we were decided they were not bringing it.
The following day we left our room around 10 am and returned about 4:30 pm only to find our room had not been serviced yet. I called and they said they would be there shortly. We left for a few more hours only to return to find housekeeping still in our room!
I also would not recommend exchanging your money at the front desk as this was as close to robbery as one can come!
I will not plan to return to this hotel or any of it's other properties based on our experience here. I would recommend either The Trump or Mandarin-Oriental properties as they have not disappointed me with their service or hotel amenities whenever and where ever we stayed with them.

Room Tip: Don't stay here-stay at the Trump or elsewhere
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank fredlovesbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Fredlovesbetty,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are sincerely sorry to hear that you had less than favorable experience with us. I will make sure to share your comments with our management team so they can look into it. On another note, we are happy to know that you found our in-room amenities comfortable and that you enjoyed our Health Club facilities. We truly believe in providing excellent service, and we really hope to invite you back in the near future so we can show you our unique Asian hospitality and you can enjoy the other facilities we have in our hotel such as the Spa and our signature restaurant Bosk. Please feel free to e-mail me directly at richard.cooke@shangri-la.com if you have any further questions or comments.

Sincerely,
Richard Cooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Exquisite! Inly a short stat but fabulous. The hotel lobby is beautiful and a nice place to have a drink when travelling alone.

Rooms are large and vert comfortable.

My luggage was lost and the concierge dealt with the airline to retrieve it!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank nidhochartaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear nidhochartaigh,

Thank you very much for your review. We are very glad to hear that you had a wonderful time at our Lobby Lounge and that you enjoyed the drinks. We strive to provide impeccable service from the moment our guests arrive at our hotel and we are happy to hear our staff was able to help you with retrieving your luggage. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto during your next visit to Toronto.

Sincerely,
Richard Cooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
The Adelaide Hotel, Toronto
Downtown West
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 137 in Toronto
3,436 reviews
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Toronto

Address: 188 University Avenue, Toronto, Ontario M5H 0A3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range: £284 - £501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Toronto 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 202-room luxury hotel is situated in a new 66-storey tower on University Avenue at Adelaide Street. Shangri-La Hotel, Toronto occupies the first 17 floors of this development, which incorporates the historic "Bishops Block"- one of the oldest remaining buildings in Toronto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing