We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Algonquin House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Toronto
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Algonquin House
Ranked #6 of 118 Toronto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed 5 nights with Leora and were so pleased we booked Algonquin House. There are so many good reasons to stay here:
Friendly and helpful hostess
Free, safe parking nearby
Very comfy beds
Super hot and powerful shower with a cupboard of toiletries to choose from
Short walk to High Park and local shops
Good connections to downtown - park at the subway station for $5 a day or catch the bus
Wonderful home baking and delicious breakfasts that set you up perfectly for a day's sight seeing.
We were made very welcome and can't recommend this highly enough. A lovely home from home stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJfamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was our second visit to Algonquin House. Leora, our host, welcomed us warmly and included extra touches that helped make our anniversary weekend more special.. Our room included an extensive collection of books, interesting art work and a lovely secluded summer porch. We love the quiet neighbourhood close to friendly Roncesvalles village, High Park and easy transit to downtown. The breakfasts were wonderful. Many thanks. B and C

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My wife and daughter and I stayed at Algonquin House in early June and truly enjoyed our stay.
Our host Leora was very accommodating and so friendly. She truly made our stay very memorable with her hospitality and wonderful breakfasts!
The rooms and the house itself are very nice as well as the nice front and back gardens which we made use of for some relaxation.
The location is excellent - right next to High Park and close to Roncesvalles Avenue. The village atmosphere is very nice. There are plenty of restaurants and shops near by and lovely tree lined streets. Access to public transit and the freeway system are also very good.
We loved our stay and the special care that Leora provides and will certainly come back to Algonquin House when we are back in Toronto.

Wayne Benz
Cochrane, Alberta

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank WayneCochrane_AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This was our first time in Canada and Toronto.
We made really good choice in staying at Algonquin House. It was only a short taxi ride from the airport (cost about 45 Canadian dollars) and in an interesting and very quiet neighbourhood full of wonderfully traditional Canadian houses with wooden porches/verandahs and tree lined streets.
Leora was very helpful in giving us information about public transport, places to eat and we walked around High Park in the morning before we left. It is also very easy to get to the lake shore and we did walk back from downtown Toronto (about 2-3 miles).
The BandB is only a short distance from the tram system at Roncsevalles and this takes you to the metro (about 30 minutes to read the centre).
Leora's breakfasts were amazing. We were not sure how we would take to peach pancakes and bacon as english breakfasts do not usually mix sweet and salty ingredients - but it was delicious, as was the welcome tray of cake and lemonade and the morning tea.
There were plenty of places to eat nearby though we could not find the Cuban restaurant.
Altogether a wonderful place to stay and explore Toronto.

Room Tip: Wonderfully comfortable bed in the front room and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannah i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

A charming older home in a leafy and quiet area of Toronto, yet close to High Park and excellent shopping. Leora had everything ready for us and we felt at home immediately. All of the extra touches were most appreciated and the breakfast was outstanding. Thanks so much, Leora!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

If only all B&Bs were like this. From the moment my wife and I arrived we were pampered by Leora our host. A delicious "welcome" snack of homemade cake, cheese, crackers and tea awaited us in the sunroom off the back bedroom. Although we had chosen the huge front bedroom, (a difficult choice because both bedrooms had great features), since no one else was staying there Leora basically let us have the run of the whole floor.

Our king sized bed was comfortable and and so peacefully quiet. Although we were a floor away from the kitchen we awoke to the scents of fresh baking, coffee and bacon each morning. Even before going downstairs to breakfast, a tray of freshly brewed coffee was waiting for us outside the bedroom door. Back to the sunroom. I can't add anything more to the other descriptiions posted here of the breakfasts Leora conjured up each morning. We've never had such plentiful, gourmet treats as we had here. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer.

Yes, the neighbourhood has many attractive places to shop and explore, and yes it is convenient to transportation to the rest of Toronto, but the big attraction to my mind is the hospitality and warmth of Leora and the care she takes of her guests.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
word155019, Owner at Algonquin House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you so much for this most kind review. I enjoyed meeting you both and thank you for being so adaptable to my travel schedule.

Leora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This was our second stay at Algonquin House and the hospitality, comfort and care we'd come back for was as exceptional as ever. Leora looked after every detail to ensure our comfort and provide for any specific needs or preferences. The room (bed / sitting room) was so comfortable that we enjoyed relaxing there each morning and sometimes during the day, rather than leaving right away and spending the whole day out and about. Instead, we found a lovely service of delicious coffee waiting for us outside our door each morning, which we enjoyed while reading the paper before going down to breakfast at a leisurely time. And the breakfasts really were amazing - everything homemade, beautifully presented, and more than we could ever finish. Algonquin House paid for our parking, so we never had to worry about searching for a space. The location is great, right next to High Park and a nice walk from Roncesvalles. We plan to look up Lenora on our future visits to Toronto.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Teri V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Downtown Home Inn
Downtown Home Inn
#9 of 118 in Toronto
365 reviews
West End
Elliott House B&B
Elliott House B&B
#5 of 118 in Toronto
104 reviews
West End
Clinton and Bloor B&B
Clinton and Bloor B&B
#2 of 118 in Toronto
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Toronto Garden Inn
Toronto Garden Inn
#8 of 118 in Toronto
253 reviews
Downtown West
Making Waves Boatel
Making Waves Boatel
#3 of 118 in Toronto
202 reviews
Downtown
Comfy Guest House and Suite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algonquin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algonquin House

Address: 1 Algonquin Ave, Toronto, Ontario M6R 1K6, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > West End
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 118 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range: £72 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Algonquin House is a gracious renovated Edwardian house in beautiful High Park. Guests have the choice of a king bedroom with a fireplace, bay window and sitting area or a queen bedroom with an enclosed porch and sitting area. Both rooms have computers with internet access. A sitting room with a TV and fireplace as well as the English garden are available for guests' use. There is afternoon tea, morning coffee and a full breakfast with home baking. Cost of a room with a shared bathroom and full breakfast double occupancy is $112.00. Cost of a room with private bathroom and full breakfast, double occupancy is $135.00. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing