We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coming Home for My Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Drake Hotel Toronto
Ranked #7 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2013

I couldn't have been happier with my and my girlfriend's stay at the Drake. We're both native Torontonians coming home from Los Angeles for a little work and a little vacation, which the Drake perfectly melded the two together. The room was as welcoming as staying at your own apartment, but in the city--the best area in the city at that. And despite it being west of central, it was a quick bike ride downtown and to the Island ferry for a bit of a retreat. Must mention the Caesars downstairs that we sipped on all day while stealing the super fast Wifi signal. Go Drake!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (624)
There are newer reviews for Drake Hotel Toronto
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 624 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2013

I have been there for two nights in May 2013. It is absolutely fabulous for going to the restaurant, lounge bar etc. They have concerts, some sort of disco etc. But there are a few rooms, very small and it is all old fashion (on purpose) but not so nice if staying at night.

All staff is young and committed and they have a smile in their faces. Compared to Europe is all good.

To understand this, the hotel desk is beneath the restaurant desk.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PabloLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I've been staying at the Drake for the last six years - and when I stay it's usually for at least 8-10 days. I'm not going to lie. I love the Drake Hotel. I love the decor, I love the neighborhood, I love that I'm not staying in a clinical and sedate business hotel. I love that there is a curator on site (Mia) who has created a vibrant art scene in a hotel- no easy feat, but she makes it look natural and organic to the space. I also love that every year, IT GETS BETTER. The Drake is warm, alive, and energetic. This is largely due to the fact that this hotel take hospitality seriously while still maintaining a really fun and chic edge. The general manager, Jonathan, is EVERYTHING. He embodies what hospitality should be. I am always SAD to leave the Drake. By the way, did I mention that the night receptionist Alan offered to bring me a hot cup of tea because I was sniffling in the lobby? He even brought it up to my room with extra honey and lemon. He refused to let me carry the tray up to my room! I love this place.

Room Tip: There is no space or pool, but a great gym across the way!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrooklynWoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

This hotel was a nice surprise, rooms are small but have everything you need, a lot of attention to detail!
Very friendly receptionist who gave me 3 dollars for the streetcar because I had just arrived and had no cash, thank you!! :)
(I did pay it back ;))

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petitenana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We visited toronto from Dallas Texas and stayed at the drake a few nights. Loved everything about this hotel. The roof top bar/restaurant was amazing. The bar on first floor was so cool and hip, I suggest trying the sangria and lobster nachos. Also, they have a 3rd restaurant connected that we had brunch at ( bagels and locks). This hotel was in a very cool location and very easy to walk to other interesting areas. I will for sure stay here again. Loved it

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Devingantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed for Saturday night as we were seeing a show at the hotel. It was extremely convenient. Check in was quick and the staff is exceptionally friendly, our room was small as expected but laid out perfectly. My only complaint about the room would be the lack of privacy for the bathroom. This may not be the hotel to go to if you are in a new-ish relationship. We left after our show and found a bar downtown, when we returned there was a huge line up to get in to the club however we flashed our room key and were politely ushered in and welcomed “home” by the bouncer. Once the door to our room was closed the sound of the party going on was completely gone. We ate breakfast on the patio and it was fantastic, one of the best breakfasts I have had in a very long time, and the price for the meal was very reasonable. Overall I would suggest the Drake, and we will return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnisaMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

I was in town for a conference for the week and was looking for a non-corporate hotel that had a bit of style and activity.

The Drake exceeded all my expectations. First, the rooms are very efficient and well styled, think high end European experience.

They provided access to a fantastic local gym and I joined in 3 classes across the week, spin, yoga and kick boxing, all excellent. The staff carried the same approachable, engaging style of The Drake.

But the best was the bar/entertainment. The food was great, different live music with something to liberate your mind each night. I am a bit of a foodie and was delighted. The most joy was in finding a place that had Mixologists that brought cocktailing to an art-form. The best drink and service was provided by Brit, look for her on your trip...you will thank me!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
The Adelaide Hotel, Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Downtown West
SoHo Metropolitan
SoHo Metropolitan
#9 of 137 in Toronto
781 reviews
Midtown
The Hazelton Hotel
The Hazelton Hotel
#1 of 137 in Toronto
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drake Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drake Hotel Toronto

Address: 1150 Queen St W, Toronto, Ontario M6J 1J3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Queen Street and West Queen West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#10 Business Hotel in Toronto
#13 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: £156 - £328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Drake Hotel Toronto 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Drake Hotel Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toronto Drake Hotel
Drake Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing