We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Drake Hotel Toronto

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Drake Hotel Toronto
Ranked #7 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Collingwood, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

This place is ballin'! Everything good everyone here has said about it is true, so I'll save typing it out again. It definitely lived up to the hype, we had a fantastic stay and will be back for sure!

Room Tip: The suite was very nice and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrazyCanuck83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    92
    28
    13
    5
See reviews for
36
274
73
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

My wife and I chose the Drake Hotel for the first 3 nights of our honeymoon in Toronto based mainly on the plethora of positive reviews here on TripAdvisor.

We didn't regret this decision for a moment. From the moment we arrived, we loved the Drake. We arrived 2 hours early for check-in from the airport planning to sit in the bar till our room was ready. However, we were greeted at the door by a member of staff who had clearly worked out who we were as we came through the door and welcomed us with a handshake and hearty congratulations. Our room was already prepared and we were able to check straight in. Our room was quirky and comfortable and full of great little touches. The extras we had ordered were in place (the fruit and sweet platters are to die for) and we definitely appreciated the complimentary champagne waiting on ice!

Throughout our stay, the Drake staff were unfailingly polite, friendly and extremely helpful. The desk staff especially were always ready to answer our questions and often went the extra mile in finding things out for us. We loved the lively atmosphere and fascinating décor too.

Obviously with the lively nature of the hotel, it isn't always the quietest of environments in the evenings and I wouldn't recommend the Drake to anyone wanting a guaranteed 'silent night'. However, we stayed Monday-Thursday in Crash Pad 205 and didn't find things too noisy. But we knew what we were getting when we booked and loved it. If you stay, it's well worth checking out some of the events and entertainment on offer - there were bands on in the Undergound bar 2 of the nights we stayed and the Drake Trivia Night was lots of fun.

My wife and I had a wonderful time - thank you for helping us start our honeymoon in such style!

Lee & Ros

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

You cannot find hospitality like this at any other hotel in Toronto. It's genuine. It's informed and it is special. Once again we has an exceptional experience. It was a last minute decision, booked online at 3pm drove to TO and checked in at 530. THANK you! The crash pad for 199. Cannot be beat. Efficiently and artfully designed in a brilliant manner, taking into account the usefulness of every square inch. Then they match it with service. If it had been only once that this happened I would've chalked it up to just a great experience. A snapshot. But 4 stays over the last few years this consistent? Not a fluke. Ps: don't leave without experiencing the Brunch on Saturday or the perfectly paired general store next door.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LAPG2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

I've stayed at the Drake a few times before and it doesn't disappoint! It easily has the friendliest staff I have ever encountered especially Jonathan at the front. Everyone makes a point to know your name and shows a genuine interest in you and the quality of your stay. Of course they go the extra mile with turn down service and cookies in the evening and if you're lucky maybe champagne and a bag of caramel popcorn on arrival. The rooms are quirky with decadent bath products which is always a bonus too. My husband and I don't stay anywhere else in Toronto ever since we started staying at the Drake. It's our home away from home.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank plmcampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenora, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We recently stayed at the Drake for our second time and were once again was impressed by its character ... we love the uniqueness of the rooms and the overall attention to detail at the hotel! We were also impressed by the incredible service that Jonathan provided in order to accommodate our last minute early check in... from making our reservation, to the meals in the lounge, to checking out - we had great service at the Drake. We will definitely be back on our next trip to Toronto and will recommend to friends!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TapRoomManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

This place has nailed the boutique hotel idea!!

Classic old building retro fitted into a artisan style rooms, dining room and lounge.

Menu was interesting and uniquely fresh as was the Sky Lounge...even in THIS winter:)

The room was clean, warm and just as unique as the lobby and hallways! Lots of funky local art...appropriate for the area.

Jon and staff are very friendly, informative and helpful; at your call for dining and entertainment suggestions. We arrived a little early, left our bags with the front desk to make our hockey game. When we returned to get our keys, bags were in the room!

What steps them up is the services:
-properly stocked mini bar(bye bye airplane shooter bottles)
-fresh contemporary furnishings
-"in room" entertainment
-romantic gift shop (with class)

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Happywandererz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Not sure why it is high rated. I did not get a comfortable sleep, I can name dozens of other hotels in the city. The service, they do not even look you in the eye. Four Seasons model, whatever job you do, you greet the guest. Whether good morning or how you do. Toronto is great for restaurants and hotels. To me it pretended to be chic, but fell well short. really nothing good to say about it. It was loud with drunk middle age people. Totally different than the Ivy, which I think the best small boutique hotel in Toronto. Sorry, thumbs down Drake.

Room Tip: There is nothing good to say, honestly
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Hazelton Hotel
The Hazelton Hotel
#1 of 132 in Toronto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drake Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drake Hotel Toronto

Property: Drake Hotel Toronto
Address: 1150 Queen St W, Toronto, Ontario M6J 1J3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Queen Street and West Queen West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#10 Business Hotel in Toronto
#13 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Drake Hotel Toronto 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers and MrandMrsSmith so you can book your Drake Hotel Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toronto Drake Hotel
Drake Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing