We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Drake Hotel is Magic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Drake Hotel Toronto
Ranked #6 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Drake Hotel is Magic”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My Fiance and I just returned from the Drake hotel this past week. We were in Toronto for Field Trip. We stayed 4 nights in a Crash Pad Room. The smallest room type. But it was perfect, functional, and more important comfortable and romantic! It is truly the perfect place to Crash.
After a truly honest heartfelt check in with Samuel, this guy is so cool. We got to our room and waiting was two welcome bottles of champagne, sweet! After dropping off our bags, we went right down the hall to the Sky Yard. We sat down at the Bar, and Simon immediately introduced himself, and told us everything to do in Toronto, somehow he was able to make cocktails, it was packed, yet be truly warm and friendly, and told us to come see him again over the weekend which we did four times, and he always remembered our names and cocktails choices, wow that is service. Every morning we had brunch at the Drake Cafe outside on the patio, as lovely as the food, atmosphere, and screwdrivers was the outstanding service of Sofie and Gracie. I believe Gracie is the manager and she is super cool! High Fives each morning! After returning from our first day of sightseeing in the neighborhood. What a location!! Queen St is too much fun, and close by Ossington we discovered many great restaurants ( Union, Bar Isabel, Bellwoods Brewery) Samuel welcomed us back with open arms, and asked if we had plans tonight? Which we did not. He asked if we would like to go to a secret show in the Drake underground, of course. Oh and it just happened to be Feist with about 100 other people, truly amazing! On our last day after returning from Field Trip Jonathan asked us if we would like to have dinner in the Lounge it was the first night of Lobster Fest Sundays, he saved us the last two reservations. Jonathan is the Hotel Manager and he is Amazing. He could not be more accommodating, he is the definition of hospitality, he hugged us before we left, and asked us if we would be returning next year, we said Yes, and he reserved it. I think it all trickles down from Jonathan. The Drake Hotel is Excellent but the people there are Magic! We can't wait to return next year...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    92
    28
    13
    5
See reviews for
38
277
73
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I have been to The Drake a number of times, whether for lunch, dinner or drinks. We decided to head over for drinks and some sushi before our planned event. Drake's Après Work is basically happy hour; drinks and sushi for an amazing price. Every time I have been it is always great; service, drinks and food. But last night we chose to sit at the bar and enjoy ourselves. It turned out to be even better than any time I had been previously. Luckily for us, we we're served by Ryan, the head bartender and all around nice guy. He was so kind and took such good care of us, I cannot do anything other than gush over his amazing service, knowledge and expertise. He made us feel welcome from the start. If there was anything we wanted to ask about on the menu, he was our guy. Once we were ready to order our sushi, he helped pare down the menu and make sensible choices. And the sushi was incredibly fresh and so delicious. And when it came to our drinks? He explained what was in our cocktails with such sincere, unabashed enthusiasm that we could have listened to him all night long. He even offered to find us a room at the hotel that night in case we did want to linger but it was booked solid. He made us more cocktails that he created; not to "show off" or be pretentious; rather, to make sure we were having a great night and to genuinely make us happy. If we didn't enjoy the drink? No worries. He would have easily made us a new one. He was easy to talk to, didn't pester us or ignore us, and had skills and charm to carry the entire restaurant. In fact, we hope he does end up running it or something close to that. We can't wait to go back and return to see what Ryan has in store for us next time!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElizabethB1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

good room, very good rooftop bar, amazing cafe/ restaurant, cool decor
wld totally recommend this place if you wanna stay in a cool hotel in toronto, amazing vibe
crowd wasn't too young and staff was very helpfull
cld have done with a better lounge but I suppose the bar is a better place for that anyway ;)

Room Tip: mine was facing the main road and it got quite busy in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester, uk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Me, my fiancé and daughter of one and three quarters stayed here for a couple of nights at the end of our vacation. Jonathan was amazing on arrival and throughout our stay. I can not recommend this cool but welcoming hotel enough. Would only stay here when back in Toronto.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saskiametcalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed here on business for two days and had a great time. I opted for this over more standard alternatives like Royal York, Sheraton, etc. with no regrets. It's got a pretty lively restaurant and cafe, very original and spacious rooms, and a cool/hipster vibe. They also treat non-hipsters well and I must say the place was full of attractive people! Room was a little pricey at $279 but I stayed here more for the experience than anything, and for that, it's worth it.
My first night, we went up to the rooftop patio and ate lobster nachos, a root veg/greens salad, gourmet mac n' cheese, and a rum baba desert; three beers and a cocktail. Bill came to $100+tip and we were contently full of delicious stuff. Not a bargain, but again fun times!
The one cautionary note is that this place seemed to take forever to get to via streetcar from Yonge St./downtown hub. It's a great walk (lots of awesome boutiques/restos; the famous Bellwoods-Trinity Park) but I had to do the commute and found it a bit slow to get around.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liam0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Loved this hotel. Really comfortable rooms, great location, friendly and helpful staff, wide range of food options - all yum and everywhere was spotlessly clean. Very hip place and thought I might feel a bit out of pace but the staff are so lovely that you can't but help feel at home. Alan, John, Jonathan and a young man from the Sky bar (sorry don't have his name) were particularity nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here twice over 3 years - the second time I got a welcome back branded bag of popcorn. A classy and cool touch from one of my favourite hotels. The staff are great, the bar and rooftop are great and so is the food. The personality of the place and the people in it put it into a 5 star rating for me. Love it and will be back for more popcorn and the comfy bed!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank davefromebow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Hazelton Hotel
The Hazelton Hotel
#1 of 132 in Toronto
582 reviews
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drake Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drake Hotel Toronto

Property: Drake Hotel Toronto
Address: 1150 Queen St W, Toronto, Ontario M6J 1J3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Queen Street and West Queen West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#10 Business Hotel in Toronto
#13 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Drake Hotel Toronto 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Drake Hotel Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toronto Drake Hotel
Drake Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing