We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Funky, Trendy Alternative Oasis.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Drake Hotel Toronto
Ranked #8 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2007

I've just got back from staying at the Drake Hotel, Toronto.
This place is so cool with lots of nice touches, (especially the 'Sock Dolls' in each room). Super Trendy roof terrace bar called the 'Sky Yard', and a really nice Cafe on the corner of the hotel. Great location for lots of bars and restaurants. this hotel will appeal to those who are looking for something different than the normal stereotypical chain hotel. We stayed in a 'Crash Pad' room which was so well laid out, you soon forgot that the room was small.
Staff were excellent and will deffinatley return to the 'Drake'.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Bingmeisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (629)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

589 - 595 of 629 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2007

We recently flew to Canada from London, UK to produce an event at the Drake Hotel. As a first "snap shot" of Toronto is was a great starting point. The area is superb, probably the coolest part of Toronto - though i suppose we all have different cool-ometers! bars, restaurants, Trinity Bellwoods park, lots of shopping - it's all there. China town is a 20 minute walk as is Kensington if you are into a taste of Mexico and loads of second hand clothing stores. The experience at the drake could not have been topped. We stayed five nights and were gutted to leave. I think the hotel concept rocks - GREAT decor, amazing staff, cafe, roof top bar, lounge, bar, restaurant, club - all under one roof - all very arty and cultured in my opinion, complete with an artist in residence. Their finger is on the pulse and lots are seeming to follow. We were there on business producing an event called Shoot Toronto.. We ate breakfast at the hotel cafe every morning, used the free WIFI access to death - generally spent a lot of time in the cafe outside on the veranda - there was a heat wave that weekend...
This hotel is for the hip and not the hip replacements. I can't wait to go back. See my blog for more - htttp://www.shootexperience.com/blog

Stayed: May 2007
3  Thank ShootExperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2007

I stayed at the Drake hotel on March 1st, 2007. I just wanted to say that your hotel was fabulous. I will always remeber how wonderful it was because my now fiance asked me to Marry him there! I found the service just amazing. I used to work in the hospitality industry and I really value good service. All of your staff was super friendly and definetly exceeded our expectations. Thank you so much for making one of the most important days in my life even more wonderful!

Stayed: March 2007
2  Thank DesignDiva24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2006

Unfortunately I did not take the advise of a previous reviewer and I ended up in Room 203. What he didn't mention is the beer deliveries that commence each morning. Each keg as it is delivered at about 8 am is slammed onto the sideway. The finale is the noise as the empty beer bottles are sent dwon a conveyer to be loaded onto the truck. All this at about 8am.

The design of the room was brilliant and unique. The sheets nice, mattress could have been better.

The service was spotty. Some were pleasant and helpful at the front desk, some had an attitude - I think it is a age issue - all of them pretty young.

There is no help in to the front door even if you are struggling with two back and opening the door. I think they must be amused to watch. No bell man. Though they did find me help to get my bags up the stairs. Though I was on my own on the way out. No elevator.

I thought the location to be a bit out of the way in terms of downtown. There is a street car stop that makes it easier but if you just like to walk like I do - it is a hike.

The cafe was great - I enjoyed the yougart, fruit and granola dish. Lots of locals like it as there hangout. I wasn't too disturb by the evening activities but i see how some unexpecting guests would be. There are three bars and they are very well known. Noise wasn't too bad the days I was there.

Definite a place to stay at least once but for the price they charge I expect better service and attention and afternoon beer deliveries.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Chiorazzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
X_OH_DRAKE, Hotel Manager at Drake Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2008

Shortly after this traveler review was posted, our beer and kitchen deliveries schedule was revised. We are pleased to say that we have not had a single noise complaint from room 203 since, and our hotel guests have enjoyed restful sleep-ins (followed by luxurious breakfasts in bed from our new room service menu offerings!).

X[OH!] DRAKE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2006

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
X_OH_DRAKE, Hotel Manager at Drake Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2008

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2006

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank W L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2006

Stayed: April 2006
8  Thank Claireg800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
SoHo Metropolitan
SoHo Metropolitan
#7 of 137 in Toronto
812 reviews
Downtown West
The Adelaide Hotel, Toronto
Midtown
The Hazelton Hotel
The Hazelton Hotel
#1 of 137 in Toronto
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drake Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drake Hotel Toronto

Address: 1150 Queen St W, Toronto, Ontario M6J 1J3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Queen Street and West Queen West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#10 Business Hotel in Toronto
#13 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: £153 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Drake Hotel Toronto 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), MrandMrsSmith, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Drake Hotel Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toronto Drake Hotel
Drake Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing