We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap place to stay overnight, close to business district, good parking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Isabella Hotel and Suites
Ranked #111 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The rooms are very small but have what you need. The bathroom is also very very small but is ok. The decor is nothing special and the over all cleanliness is below par. The hotel is old and the climate Control makes dripping noises. The continental breakfast is subpar, for $99 this was cheap overnight stay in Toronto and provided a good enough stay but I wouldn't stay here for more than a night. Be sure to reserve your parking with the hotel as spaces are limited. In summary the Hotel is ok as long as you don't expect any bells and whistles.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canadianboywonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

119 - 125 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

Smallest hotel room I have ever been in (smaller than Manhattan). The elevator is so tiny, if you are claustrophobic you may have a hard time in there! Clean, comfy bed. No parking and the public lot near by is frightening (I kept expecting to run across a dead body or witness some other horrific crime down there) and a bit of a distance if you have a lot of stuff to carry. We were on the 7th floor and there was a constant water sloshing sound (like someone in the the bath tub) for the entire duration of our stay. I have no idea what it was. If you are a light sleeper, you will likely find this to be a huge distraction. Great location, very close to a Subway station. Would recommend for a clean place to lay your head down after a long day of sight seeing or after a special event, but not to spend any amount of time in, way too small.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TRVLGRL02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This hotel was decent for the price, and good location but was a bit loud. There was a pipe next to the bed with a constant flow of water which was a bit distracting, would not recommend if you are a light sleeper.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Terrible place....didn't look too bad in lobby intil you came upon the elevator or coffin...whatever you want to call it. It was so small my Girlfriend has clausterphobia and it scared her to death so we had to get a close to the main floor room. The Room was small barely enough to fit the queen size bed. The bed was comfy though. The bathroom was smaller than anything ive seen. You sit on the toilet and you would be able to touch both wall and shower stall with your legs....The shower stall was ok size but the entrance was very small u had to squeeze in. No bathtub...So we sat on the bed and i walked over to the other side to grab something and the floor was soaked...I looked up and the vent for the air conditioner was leaking...the whole rug was soaked...called the front desk they sent up a cleaning lady with a little tiny heater and plugged it in and said there ya go it shoudl dry up just dont use the air conditioning so we would roast...she smiled rudley at use when she left i had to change hotels with hotwire it was so bad....Terrible place will never go back...PLEASE dont waste your money! I wouldnt give it a 1 star...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Easy to book.com did not send my reservation to the hotel. Had to wait for them to fax it. Elevator barely fits one person. Unpleasant smell in the hallways. Could sit on the toilet and wash my hands at the same time. Not sure if that's suppose to be a bonus. Only small people could fit in that bathroom.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I've booked it using the Hotwire services, and in its profile they said it was a Boutique Hotel. But it's not ! It's a old building they painted, that's all.

But it's clean and close to the metro (but in the edge of Toronto's downtown). I did not fell safe on the street at night.

Simple breakfast, but fresh,

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danielvosilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I loved this property.

Had originally booked because my chains of preference were sold out or too high in price for the Saturday I was staying and I will come back to this hotel whether the others have availability or not.

I was travelling solo on a half-pleasure, half-business basis and have no complaints.
My room was adorable and had a great layout. It had more than enough floor and desk space. The windows were nice and large. The beds were comfortable (I slept like a baby). The free wifi worked just great. The staff were super friendly and built great rapport with me. There's a restaurant with a beautiful patio attached I really want to try next time.

Thanks for the great stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, the view is nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CaseyInRealLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown
Downtown
Wellesley Manor Boutique Hotel
Downtown
Comfort Hotel Downtown
Comfort Hotel Downtown
#77 of 137 in Toronto
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Studio 6 Toronto
Studio 6 Toronto
#97 of 137 in Toronto
188 reviews
Downtown
Town Inn Suites
Town Inn Suites
#66 of 137 in Toronto
761 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Inn City Centre
Comfort Inn City Centre
#80 of 137 in Toronto
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isabella Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isabella Hotel and Suites

Address: 556 Sherbourne Street, Toronto, Ontario M4X 1L3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range: £59 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Isabella Hotel and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Isabella Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isabella Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing