We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Discomfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Isabella Hotel and Suites
Ranked #108 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Discomfort”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Yes, that's the room, the whole room except for the bathroom, a chair, a small bar fridge and a
flat-screen television affixed to the unseen wall on the right. There is a tiny bathroom to the
left of the bed that opens with a sliding door. That's the only possibility. A standard door could not open. There is no furniture (except the chair) and no place to put things except a small narrow window ledge. There were dirty dishes left over from the previous occupant on the bar fridge. The air conditioning did not work. Two bathrooms off the lobby were out of service for the two days we stayed at the hotel. The lobby and outside sitting area looks nice, even inviting, but don't be fooled. This is the first time I can remember having to apologize to my partner for having made a bad mistake on a hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edgar007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    92
    104
    47
    64
See reviews for
35
154
41
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Ok to start off, I was TERRIFIED by all the reviews I read. We booked this hotel on hotwire and were not told which hotel until after we paid. When I read the reviews I didn't hear ANYTHING good.

When we got here I was really surprised. It was clean and organized. The staff was friendly. The hotel is in a fairly decent neighbourhood. 10 minute walk to Yonge street. For the price we paid it was definitely a good stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Amac95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

My son and I took a taxi from train station to the hotel. Soon as we pulled up we were greeted by a Hooker! There was also dog poop outside the main front door. Cameras in the street and bars in the doors and windows of the stores near by. Didnt feel safe in neighborhood so took taxis everywhere.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank RhinoBeatrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Pretty $#!++¥...

I'm definitely used to 'other' hotels. I'll just bullet point the issues that occurred:


* No air in my room yet somehow there was air conditioning in the hallway...

* Restrooms on first floor were out of service the entire time I was there (more than a few days)

* No parking when I requested it a day ahead of time

* Saw a squirrel eat off of an empty plate on the patio. Can we say rabies plates?

* Hair continuously in bathroom after housekeeper cleaned

* Hair & stains on towels

* Bedding with ink stain

* Bugs on wall near non-working air conditioning control

* Nasty, crusty stains on chair in room

* Bed sheets were low-grade & itchy

* Bedding wasn't changed for 2 days, even after requesting numerous time for it to be changed

* Room didn't have a safe. That's standard in hotel rooms. First one I've encountered without one.

I do believe I've entered 2 star territory & that is not my scene. Definitely got lied to by booking.com...


Only thing that was okay? The breakfast, but that was suspect too when I saw one of the staff putting bread & muffins away without gloves. They were just at the front desk handling office supplies. I didn't see hand washing occur inbetween.

I was appalled & grossed out. Thank god it was only a place to rest my head & I was out all the time. Ugh...

Saving grace? The nice staff. That's about it.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank JoeyGirl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

After checking on I contacted the hotel about a super high heat and no windows. It is cool outside btw. When the clerk did not get back to me, as he said he would, I again called a half hour later. His suggestion was that I could leave the hotel if I was not happy. He did arrive an hour after my call with a fan, which just moved the air around. When asked about speaking to a manager the next morning he said "she does not work tomorrow".

In the morning I got some different answers from the front desk clerk, but still no answers. I am still waiting a call from the manager, who is in this morning apparently, but running late. I lost a night's sleep, I am uncomfortable, and I feel it is important to warn others about this uncaring hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chad001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We found the hotel on groupon and were excited to stay in a rustic hotel in downtown Toronto. We were also looking for a budget friendly hotel such as an equivalent to a Red Roof as our trip was budget friendly. Unfortunately the hotel was less than satisfactory. The first night we woke up to a flood coming from a leak in the ceiling of our hotel bathroom. They upgraded us to a larger room which was nicer, considering the room we stayed in the first night was very tiny. There was barely enough room for a full sized bed and a stand up shower. There was a small chair holding a coffee maker.
What bothered me the most was both rooms were dirty. Brown stains on the towels, stains on pillow cases, and stains on bedding, and hair. I asked the nice girl at the front desk for clean towels but she informed me they did not have any because the washers broke and housekeeping had to take the laundry somewhere else to clean. I understand these situations happen, just wish our towels we did have were clean.
Also the hotel holds 100 dollars at checkin for incidentals which I didn't really understand because I have worked in the hotel business for 9 years and I have yet to see a hotel of that quality hold such an amount.
Breakfast was basic but nice considering the quality of the hotel.
Staff was friendly. The young lady especially the most informative when asking questions about local activities.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrsSmurfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Positive: The room and bathroom are small but clean. It is very close to the Sherbourne subway station. From this station, you can take the subway directly to Kipling to transfer to the airport rocket bus. From Kipling, it takes only 20mins to the airport. It cost $3/person for the entire journey (subway+bus). So much cheaper than the other airport transfers! We were able to walk to downtown in 20-30 mins.

Negative: Very few restaurants close to the hotel. The rate sent in the email confirmation by the hotel was lower than in booking.com. They simply multiply the cost of the first night by the number of nights, even though the rates were higher on the weekend. When we checked in, we were told the lower total rate applied. But at check-out, they insisted on the rate based on booking.com, as the price of the last night was much higher. Why can´t they send the correct price in the first place?! Not very honest. The windows in my room couldn´t be opened but there was a gap causing cold draught to enter the room. We could feel the draught in bed. Breakfast was simple. The stay was more like in a hostel than in a hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stray_vet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Filmores Hotel
Filmores Hotel
#112 of 136 in Toronto
22 reviews
Downtown
Town Inn Suites
Town Inn Suites
#64 of 136 in Toronto
718 reviews
Downtown
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Comfort Hotel Downtown
Comfort Hotel Downtown
#75 of 136 in Toronto
472 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Inn City Centre
Comfort Inn City Centre
#79 of 136 in Toronto
263 reviews
Chinatown
Studio 6 Toronto
Studio 6 Toronto
#96 of 136 in Toronto
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isabella Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isabella Hotel and Suites

Property: Isabella Hotel and Suites
Address: 556 Sherbourne St., Toronto, Ontario M4X 1L3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Isabella Hotel and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Isabella Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isabella Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing