We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasantly surprised!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ripley's Aquarium Of Canada

Ripley's Aquarium Of Canada
Book In Advance
More Info
US$66.13*
and up
Toronto CityPASS
Ranked #2 of 500 things to do in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Explore the Waters of the World at Ripley's Aquarium of Canada. Located in the heart of downtown Toronto at the base of the CN Tower, the aquarium is Toronto's newest must-see attraction for tourists and locals of all ages.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Stairs / lift
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very pleasantly surprised!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

My wife had just checked into our hotel and had an afternoon to pass until we attended the theatre at 7:30 PM, so we decided to check out the new Ripley's Aquarium. We decided to purchase our tickets on line, which turned out to be a wise thing to do to avoid the long, long lines to buy tickets. When inside, it just kept getting better and better as we moved from one exhibit to another. The moving walkway concept is spectacular and not to be missed. This is a "must see" venue for all ages, and Ripley's should be very proud of the entertainment/learning experience they have provided.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Malt O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,888 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,085
    3,561
    939
    206
    97
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lower Mainland, BC
Level Contributor
150 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Worthwhile visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Came here during the first week the Aquarium opened. It was packed with many families with children. The sea life is amazing but I found the way inside the building a bit confusing and had to double back many times to catch displays I had missed. Especially interesting is the part of the building that showed the mechanics involved in the maintenance of the fish tanks.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ShilohinBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Interactive & educational”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

Colourful displays and easy walkways lead to an abundance of marine life. Very interactive and great for families with kids. Try and be there early to avoid the crowds. Price is a little high, but take your time going through and get the most out of it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank HJCPEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
129 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Great place...excellent for kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

I took my 8 year old twice in one week. First day was a Friday afternoon ( 2pm) a few too many strollers but other than that this was a very well spent afternoon
Prices are not terrible - adults $30, children 6 - 13 $20 but about 40% more than what is charged for Ripleys in the US
We returned the following Wednesday at about the same time and enjoyed it even more. A lot less people and we were able to catch some of the feeding times and very informative shows. We mentioned to the young woman in the gift store (who was on her 2nd day) that we were there a few days before and she asked us if we knew of the annual pass (adults $100 and children $60) good for an entire year, for unlimited visits and since we were still in the building they would deduct what we paid for admission on that day...Sold.
Overall very informative but of course you have to weigh the positives and negatives. How many animals died as a result of the ones that were captured in order for us to be able to view them. But who knows what young mind or even older ones will be stimulated as a result of the awareness created.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank SHEAMUSToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, ON
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Excellent aquarium!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

We have been to many aquariums around the world - and I would say that this one rivals the better ones. After reading other reviews - we decided to NOT go on a weekend day. We went on a Monday morning, and did not have any issues with crowds. There were school groups, which is to be expected. We spent about 2 hours looking and learning at the exhibits. My children really enjoyed the whole experience. We stepped off of the moving floor and just looked and enjoyed being in the tunnel, surrounded by ocean creatures. All staff were friendly and happily answered our questions. I do think that the prices are a little expensive - and I feel saddened that many families will opt not to come here because of the cost factor.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank butterfly123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ripley's Aquarium Of Canada also viewed

 

Been to Ripley's Aquarium Of Canada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing