We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place with great design and modern tasty cuisine”

Reds Midtown Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Reds Midtown Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #112 of 8,516 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$23
Cuisines: Pub, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Cross street: Yonge and Gerrard
Transit: Conviently located a minutes walk north of the Dundas Subway Station.
Ferrara
Level Contributor
284 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Nice place with great design and modern tasty cuisine”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We have been there on a Saturday for dinner, and were very satisfied. The restaurant has a NY style design which made us feel very comfortable. From the food menu we had the grilled Pacific Albacore tuna Nicoise and the Steak fries: don't miss them, they are delicious ! Staff was also very prompt and helpful.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gian Luca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SIRCorpEst1990, Manager at Reds Midtown Tavern, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Thank you for the review! Pacific Albacore tuna nicoise was a great choice : )
Looking forward to hosting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    119
    36
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
101 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Had a great time here!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Went here with 12 people for birthday drinks...what a fantastic place for that! The outside patio is right on Yonge St- so great people watching. They have an amazing Ceasar (Bloody Mary with Clamato for other Americans reading this). Our server Jana was fantastic...very attentive extremely nice she was great! We also went back the next day for brunch and sat at the amazing U shaped table they have which is perfect for large groups. They had bacon cheese grits that were better than you can get in Georgia. Apple fritters, bacon donuts- AMAZING. A little pricey, but most places are...it's worth it! I forgot to mention how beautifully decorated it is- upscale but not stuffy, very comfortable.

Helpful?
Thank DR540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SIRCorpEst1990, Manager at Reds Midtown Tavern, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Thank you! Jana is a great server glad to here she was able to take care of all your needs : ) Really happy that your party had a good time both for dinner and brunch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laconia, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
120 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Casual fare, great beers!”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My first dine in Toronto. On the corner of Gerrard and Yonge; very busy intersection. We ate outside; the inside is nicely dimmed and looks quite comfortable. Our waitperson, Jake, (from Australia) was very efficient and accommodating. The drinks arrived quickly, the food was hot and tasty. I had the cheeseburger: very tasty and the horseradish sauce they serve with it is outstanding. Friends had calamari appetizer and they were very pleased. I agree with Hon B re: the Crispy Potato Flatbread; it's delicious! Would definitely go there again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HelenDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranbury, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outdoor Dining and a Cigar”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Outside Hostess was very welcoming and friendly, and arranged for seating for our large group without so much as a frown.
Street noise was fairly well blocked by glass partitions, and it was much quieter outside for conversations (inside the restaurant was nice, but both night's we went they had music - too loud for conversation).
Service ranged from excellent to exceptional.
Food choices were limited, but very good and reasonably priced.
And with our after dinner drinks, good sized ashtrays were provided for cigar smoking.
It was so good the first night, we went back 2 nights later.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New rRed's location great for lunch!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Love this new location! You must order the pull apart Crispy Potato Flatbread! Very tasty toppings and can share! I enjoy seafood fare and there was quite a range of items available- I had the fresh shucked oysters!

Location actually closer to Gerard not Midtown? Red's lived up to it's claim of being ultra accommodating to my needs and menu items have a calorie count! Only issue is that staff are perhaps inexperienced and a little forgetful but make up for it with smiles and jumping to it when called upon!

Enjoyed an organic beer - have yet to try the corpse reviver not a lunchtime drink:)?!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Reds Midtown Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Reds Midtown Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing