We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sure beats a hotel”

Bonnevue Manor Bed & Breakfast Place
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bonnevue Manor Bed & Breakfast Place
Ranked #19 of 118 Toronto B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed at the Bonnevue Manor condo in downtown Toronto and what a treat it was. Over looking the CN tower, the view was amazing. We had rented the condo for a week. It was a self-contained unit with one bedroom, living room, full kitchen, dining room, and full bathroom. It was the same cost as a hotel but much more comfortable. We were living at home while away from home. Transportation was very handy. The street car is located right across the street. The street car took us everywhere we wanted to go. To the harbour, to the grocery store, to China Town, to the business zone. It was only $3.00 per person to ride a street car. Much more economical than a taxi. We bought our own groceries and prepared our own meals so we didn't have to eat restaurant food all week. There was internet, wifi, TV, and all the ammenities of a hotel. Glenn, the host, was great. He was so helpful when we needed information or directions. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CherylinWpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2012

This B&B, in an impressive former mansion in west Toronto (very easy access from the Gardiner Expressway/QEW) is outstanding! From the warm welcome by Dorothy, to the delicious breakfast by Glenn, to the warm and comfortable bedrooms, everything is excellent! With free off-street parking in the back yard, and the included hot breakfast, the cost is much better than mid-class hotels in Toronto. Easy access to King St. West and Queen Street West makes getting around simple. Each room and the public spaces (including even an ironing room!) all have ample supplies of reading materials, from novels to magazines (including Gaiety) to guide materials. The managers are friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: All four rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank enwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We loved this place and will stay again. The breakfast was great, coffee was strong, room was clean, building was quiet.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

I stay at the Bonnevue for 5 days and toured Toronto from there. The location was good, in an older area. Queen St west is a bit rough but easy access to transit. The house is a lovely old heritage house with lots of brick and wood. Unfortunately it looks like they are going to paint some of the original brick at the entrance gold and cream, I guess they just don't understand the concept of "heritage" and how important it is to keep it original and intact.

The food was good and plentiful. An array of cold self serve breakfast items with cheeses, breads, cereals, fresh baked items and or a full hot breakfast of the day. They cater to dietary needs too.

The room I was on the second floor, had no bath but a lovely walk in shower. The bed was not terrible, had an egg crate foamy on the mattress but the linens were ok. The room was tight but had a large private deck to sit out on which was nice in the summer. Individual air conditioners in each room. I brought my own laptop and they have a cord you can sign out so you have internet in your room or from any electrical outlet in the house, not exactly wireless but it works well and it's fast.

The only thing I really did not like ewas the smell when I walked in the door. A strong smell of bad mens cologne. There was a bucket in the lobby that water was dripping into. Perhaps it was to cover the smell of stale water? I'm not sure but that part was not pleasant.

All in all a pretty good stay and a good location

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank equinequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

- beautiful house
- fine rooms with good beds
- leaf-covered terrace
- air conditioning throughout the house
- location good reachable by public transport
- we also walked Queen Street W all the way to downtown, a long route
with many shops. Recommended!
- both mornings of our stay owner prepared a very nice breakfast on request,
both hot and continental
- hospitable owner

Room Tip: Some rooms do not have bathroom inside, but a separate bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElsPluimakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

B&B people tend to fall into two basic types. One type is more interested in the accommodation itself - its historical significance to the area, the accuracy and uniqueness of the furnishings, the special "pampering" touches offered by the hosts (like afternoon tea, for instance), while the other is less focused on the features of the place (other than perhaps the location) and is interested in the human connections - the friendliness and local knowledge of the hosts, the people in the neighborhood, the interaction with other like-minded guests. And to be as transparent as possible, this author is clearly an enthusiastic member of the latter type. Some of the most meaningful travel experiences I have ever had have come from "inside local information" gleaned from helpful B&B hosts.

Make no mistake, Bonnevue is a beautiful historical home, which is nicely appointed and extremely clean, and it is set in a pretty neighborhood, which is a very easy streetcar ride into downtown Toronto, but its real charm comes not from museum-quality appointments, but its human connections. To find yourself witnessing a "cultural exchange" over breakfast between Glenn, the host, and a few of the guests about the differences in US and Canadian healthcare drives home the point that you are not staying at a Hilton -- and that is a wonderful thing. And to walk out front first thing in the morning and have a pleasant five-minute conversation with a neighbor from across the street is what makes the B&B experience so supremely satisfying.

As for the room, it was very clean (if not overly fancy), the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was throroughly modern (complete with a rainshower head), the A/C unit worked well, and the dresser worked (sort of...) - one of the pulls needed to be re-secured, but hey, that's the way old furniture works, right?

Finally, a quick word of warning about the hot breakfast option: it is only for the truly committed! Everything that came from the kitchen was hot and tasted great, but if you are a light eater (or health-conscious), there is more than enough on the continental bar to get you going for the day. This may be the first (and only) time I will ever have THREE different breakfast meats on a plate along with my scrambled eggs and hash browns!

Highly recommended to the culturally-minded traveler!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keaddajeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

We originally focused on Bonnevue because of its location near High Park, the Lakeshore and my son's place.
The room we had was on the second floor with a private covered deck. Sounds of birds filled our mornings. Breakfast was amazing. Our host, Glenn, catered to needs such as a lactose intolerance with grace and creativity.
We enjoyed access to a common living room. Computer with internet access was in Fedora , a Linux system, and quite slow so only good to look up quite items or send textbased email.s.
Location was close to Kind and Queen streetcars and walking distance to Roncesvalles, Highpark and Tennis, rowing clubs.
A great alternative to hotels downtown if you are looking to get a bit off the beaten path.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thompson119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown
Scarborough
Best Western Plus Executive Inn
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#58 of 137 in Toronto
2,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Clinton and Bloor B&B
Clinton and Bloor B&B
#2 of 118 in Toronto
706 reviews
West End
Elliott House B&B
Elliott House B&B
#5 of 118 in Toronto
104 reviews
Downtown West
Making Waves Boatel
Making Waves Boatel
#3 of 118 in Toronto
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonnevue Manor Bed & Breakfast Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonnevue Manor Bed & Breakfast Place

Address: 33 Beaty Ave, Toronto, Ontario M6K 3B3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > West End
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 118 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range: £100 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bonnevue Manor Bed & Breakfast Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing