We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1891 was a good year.”

Bonnevue Manor Bed & Breakfast Place
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bonnevue Manor Bed & Breakfast Place
Ranked #20 of 115 Toronto B&B and Inns
Mid-Ontario
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“1891 was a good year.”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed at Bonnevue Manor in Parkdale Village in the west of Toronto.at the tail end of the terrible winter, when nothing looks it's best. However, once inside this Victorian home, we found every effort had been made to maintain this home in splendid and one might say florid style. Glenn, the owner, says he allowed an OCAD student to go wild, and the main floor is in a flood of primary colours and floral murals, whereas the upper floors had been done in a more conservative Victorian mode. Period electric lighting fixtures stay,though knob and tube wiring has been replaced and the plumbing and airconditioning have been attended to.
New tile flooring and bathroom amenities indicate the pride of the owner in this business.
Breakfast was exceptionally good, There is the option of an excellent self-service buffet and/or cooked breakfast.

Room Tip: The website doesn't indicate that most of the bedrooms have en-suite or private baths. Keep ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Bystander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    16
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
16
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

Ok so I'm a little bit late on writing this review, me and my two friends stayed here in 2005 being quite young and traveling a long way on our own the staff made us feel like family, the lady who made us breakfast was amazing who knew there was so many ways to cook eggs lol the man who owned it also showed us how to get around and the cheapest things to do, our room was good can't remember much other than a huge shower I loved my stay in Canada however I could have stayed in a box and loved it the people definitely made our trip amazing :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ebony85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Bonnevue from Aug. 2nd to Aug. 5th. We chose the Bonnevue due to its close proximity to the Gardiner Expwy since we were in town for Carnival. Glenn and his wife Dorothy are wonderful hosts with useful information, great stories and very warm personalities. They have been there for over 30 years and I appreciated their knowledge and guidance during this trip. Our room was a comfortable size (rm. 13), it had just the amount of room needed for a couple. The bathroom was lovely with a very spacious shower. There was a closet and a dresser for your clothing, both of which we used and found to be enough storage. The place is very quiet, sleep is very sound. Our neighbors were quiet as well, we often felt as if we had the entire third floor to ourselves. Breakfast is yummy, they ask you in the beginning of any dietary restrictions/allergies and go out of their way to make sure you are satisfied with alternate choices you make. I welcome anyone to try this B&B if you're looking for a more intimate lodging experience. Parking is included in your stay, which is a great added value since street parking in Toronto can be a bit difficult during Carnival time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peachrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elora, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We stayed one night in Bonnevue and found it perfect for our needs. Clean, comfortable, convenient to Queen and King streets, this B&B covers all the basis. Our host Glen told us some ghost stories on arrival, gave us a little history and showed us all the amenities. Our room was small, comfortable and surprisingly quiet. Big, clean bathroom with all the necessities! We opted or the full breakfast which was yummy and offered loads if breads and cereals on top of our hot meal. For the price, Bonnevue was all we could want. Thanks Glen! We loved staying with you!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nodata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Although the staff are friendly and the breakfast was amazing, the beds are uncomfortable and the rooms are small. We were put in the room on the main floor, right across from the dining area and were awoken all morning when people came for breakfast. We asked the staff to be moved as soon as we saw where they had us and they wanted $30 more per night to do so. We checked in right at 3pm, so there should have been some better options.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crynos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Looking for a place to stay in Torontos less than fashionable West End I came across the Bonnevue and thought I'd give it a try.
The B&B is located on a pleasant tree lined street North of King (the dividing line between 'sketchy' and OK) and South of Queen. These are the two main East West arteries in Toronto. Both have streetcar service which trundles you pretty much anywhere a tourist needs to go. It also has the advantage of being closer to the airport than most downtown or east end places. My single room was on the top floor (3RD) .The bathroom was spotless with an excellent shower. In fact it seemed to have been redone recently. The walls were rather thin and I could hear my basically quiet neighbours, but fortunately it wasn't a problem. Garrulous Glen and quiet Dorothy were excellent attentive hosts, providing everything one needed. The food was splendid. Great breads and croissants. Fresh Fruit. Plain Yogurt ( requested and provided).Hot milk for the strong coffee (also requested and provided) Wi Fi and free parking in the rear through a very narrow passage.
Nearby Roncesvalles is a thriving food and boutique street, and not far away one can walk along Lake Ontario. A great stay. I'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulieinBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We received a warm welcome from Dorothy, the room was great, washroom area very clean. The beds where iffy (eggcarton foam on top of mattress). I didn't look beyound as I may have left then and there. Breakfast was great, good selection.

As for some of the quest the night we stayed I thought I was at a fraternity house, the exccessive noise went on until 4:30AM. There is no access to a public phone when management is not there, they do not stay during the night so if you have a problem big or small make sure you bring your cell phone and don't hesitate to use it.

Parking should not be an issue although is was for us because to the unruly guest. The neighbourhood is so so but, we where not bothered by anyone.

Lorraine
Ottawa

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lorraine v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
West End
Gladstone Hotel
Gladstone Hotel
#26 of 136 in Toronto
719 reviews
Queen Street and West Queen West
Drake Hotel Toronto
Drake Hotel Toronto
#6 of 136 in Toronto
608 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonnevue Manor Bed & Breakfast Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonnevue Manor Bed & Breakfast Place

Property: Bonnevue Manor Bed & Breakfast Place
Address: 33 Beaty Ave, Toronto, Ontario M6K 3B3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > West End
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bonnevue Manor Bed & Breakfast Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing