We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're Gay”
Review of Church Street

Church Street
Ranked #120 of 515 things to do in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Oakville, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“If you're Gay”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

This is Toronto's gay district. It is clean and modern, however there are a lot of people who proposition you, which made me uncomfortable. Some bakeries here are a.mazing though

Helpful?
Thank Jazz15_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    34
    15
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
746 reviews
344 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
“Hang Out For The Gay Community & Pawn Shops”
Reviewed 25 April 2013

If this is your sexual orientation than this is the part of town to go to check this type of thing out. I don't make it a habiit to go to this part of town in Toronto but like to check the pawn shops just south of this community. There is always sommething interesting to check in these type of shops plus well controlled by Metro Police as they keep an eye out for stolen property. I am amazed on what people will pawn when they need the money for whatever purpose. These pawm shops maybe not be like Pawn Star on TV but entertaining to check out when on Church Street in Toronto!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank b0b55russell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing character”
Reviewed 27 February 2013

I've lived in this area and visit it every summer. It's a very friendly area and always seems like people have time to sit on patios or in coffee shops. The pubs in the area are great and I've seen a few good shows in the clubs. It's all good fun!! Pride is unreal so much going on and always a few naked men so be prepared!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dq18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Alternative life styles”
Reviewed 25 January 2013

For some reason Church has become the club house for many of the gays in Toronto. Not that there's anything wrong with that. What they see in this grotty street, escapes me. No trees. Just a lot of two story red brick. Lousy parking. No half-decent restaurants. It's only saving grace is that it turns into muscular Mt. Pleasant at Bloor St. It's only claim to fame is that it once housed Canada's largest and most accomplished television commercial production house. Which explained the little knot of Ferraris, Porsches and Corvettes.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ON
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place if you're comfortable with sexual diversity”
Reviewed 31 December 2012

The south end of Church Street is rather mainstream, nothing special other than the occasional shop or restaurant, North of Carleton it becomes the gay village. I'm not gay, but I love to run my errands in the little shops or grab a coffee and find it lively, friendly and pleasant...at night it gets especially lively and a little racier. Harmless enough though, in my opinion its cooler than Yonge St.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Kikat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Church Street also viewed

 
 

Been to Church Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing