We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome concert hall”
Review of Massey Hall

Massey Hall
Ranked #70 of 515 things to do in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Halifax, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Awesome concert hall”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Highly recommend Massey Hall to take in a concert. Just saw Coeur de Pirate with Bry Webb and the atmosphere and acoustics we're amazing. Can't wait for next time

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MelandLuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    78
    27
    12
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Greatest Concert Venue in the City”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My favourite place to see concerts in the entire city. Small, old and intimate, I have yet to be disappointed by this venue.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carmen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
767 reviews
236 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 595 helpful votes
“What a venue to enjoy a show, though a bit tight!”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Massey Hall is a grand venue to enjoy a music or comedy show. I had the pleasure of enjoying a Craig Ferguson show. The architecture, the sight lines and sounds are splendid at this great old building. The location of Massey, right near the Eaton Centre in the heart of downtown allows the patron to enjoy shopping, sightseeing and dining all close by to Massey Hall. The seats at Massey could be a little more comfortable, they are tight! You do feel a bit cramped. The washrooms are incredible, the attention to detail in the tiling is amazing. This type of building would not be built today, the price tag would be too high. You feel the history in Massey Hall, the nostalgia. You are now a part of Toronto history by walking in here. The bar downstairs is littered in playbills and souvenirs. Just cool!! If you ever find an event that is available to see at Massey Hall, I would strongly recommend that you go and be a part of Toronto history. Go to Massey Hall !

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank tdsuperstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Amazing Acoustics - Fantastic Show- Buddy Guy but Show too short!”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We went to the Buddy Guy show on April 4, 2014. It was the first time that we saw Buddy Guy in concert. The show was excellent but too short...only 1 3/4 hrs and there was NO encore i.e. very disappointing.

We sat in the last row of upper balcony - row J seats 52 and 53. View was excellent. If you have never been to Massey Hall, make sure that your seats are not blocked by a post/pillar. I bought tickets online to see Heart and when we arrived, we discovered the seats were behind a pillar and you could not see the stage. I went and complained to the person at the box office since there was NO mention of blocked view online. They agreed and gave us other seats.
My suggestion, if you are buying seats at Massey Hall, call the box office.and check the view before spending your money.
Also, be prepared to climb a lot of stairs. There is an elevator for seats in the orchestra.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank tweet2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice place to see concert”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Very nice concert venue, the upper balcony has a lot of stairs and wood chairs so could be somewhat uncomfortable, but the venue in small, we went to see Randy Bachman who was Meh? but its the first time in Massey Hall and I would love to see a good act there. accessiblity is limited for people with mobility problems.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Massey Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing