We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“National ballet”

Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts
Ranked #69 of 505 things to do in Toronto
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Canada's first purpose-built opera house was completed in 2006 and is the home of the Canadian Opera Company and the National Ballet of Canada. Highlights of the Four Seasons Centre include the world's longest freespan glass staircase and a horseshoe-shaped, European style auditorium featuring phenomenal advancements in modern engineering and acoustical design. Facility tours are available. For upcoming opera and ballet performances, visit the Canadian Opera Company and The National Ballet of Canada websites.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“National ballet”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Romeo and Juilliet was outstanding! The music was brilliant. The costumes and sets were something out of a renaissance masters painting.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelswithteens2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    49
    9
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful Venue ... BUT!”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

So it was my first time at the Four Seasons on March 13th 2013.. we saw Romeo and Juliet. The Performance was amazing.. It is such a beautiful venue.. i forgot my tickets (my fault) but they were kind enough to print them out for me. We had box seats which were the BEST $100 i ever spent (after discount). the view to the stage was amazing.. I would never go any higher than the 2nd or 3rd floor as your experience will not be worth it. The venue itself is a multi-level venue with a beautiful stair case and bars on every floor. HOWEVER, they ONLY accept Cash at these bars and they DONT tell you until after they poured your drinks. on the main floor bar they do accept debit card.. BUT there is only ONE machine and a HUGE lineup to pay! by the time you pay, you have to go back in as intermission is over. this happened 3 times. They dont even have an ATM On site.. you have to run across the street to one of the banks. this was a HUGE disappointment and it actually ruined the whole experience for me and my wife.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Nutcracker”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

An annual celebration with grandchildren gets better as they age. Again, the location provides easy access via public transportation and walking having stayed at the Sheraton Centre. The facility itself is world-class.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 1632Kingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
165 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Beautiful Building”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We attended the National Ballet of Canada's production of The Nutcracker, in December 2012. It had been a few years since I had seen a Ballet, having been a frequent visitor at the old Hummingbird Centre. This venue is modern and spacious - one can actually SEE regardless of the seat purchased. The sound is magnificent. There are five tiers, and even in tier 5 (top) the view is unobstructed. The glass walls, view of downtown, dance performances on the landings up to the fifth tier, golden dance floor flooring, and modern washrooms and "actual person operated" elevators (should one want to actually take an elevator!) all make this venue a must see. The Ballet - a bonus! The National Ballet of Canada company is second to none. There is also a food area as one enters, and the seats are extremely comfortable. Parking is also available. Enjoy!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank highlandancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Fantastic Accoustics”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

It's a very modern house with a minimalist finish. The Canadian Ballet and Opera companies put on great shows worthy of where they are staged.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank thepossum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts also viewed

 

Been to Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing