We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Experience - If the price is right, will return in a heartbeat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Executive Hotel Cosmopolitan Toronto
Ranked #44 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Cosmopilitan for the weekend. We thought it would be bigger then what it actually was. We stayed in a Lotus Suite which was BEAUTIFUL - looks like a little apartment. The bathrooms could be a BIT bigger - we both couldn't get ready in there together. Our rooms were spotless and very clean and the staff was super helpful.

We had vouchers for 2 free drinks at the bar downstairs - when we got back from dinner at around 9pm it had turned into a "club" (no one was in it) yet they wanted us to pay $10 dollars each to walk in use our free vouchers to grab our drinks and walk back out - we thought this was stupid, so we let out vouchers go to waste.

Breakfast in the morning was pretty basic a buffet of - Bagles, Muffins, Cereal, Tea, Coffee, Orange Juice and Milk, nothing to special but we didn't mind!

I would recommend this hotel if you have $250 a night to spend on a hotel, if not, Groupon and Wag Jag always have deals for this hotel so if you see one make sure to grab the deal!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stavalexiou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (890)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

548 - 554 of 890 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed in The Cosmopolitan because our nearby apartment is being renovated so we wanted a clean place to stay for the night. We chose it because we got a great deal via Jetsetter, $120 + $20 for the night for a Lotus room.
For that price, the room was great. It was set up like a tiny apartment, with living areas and sleeping separate, and a kitchenette plus laundry. The laundry was super convenient and it was nice to be able to make breakfast in the room. The kitchenette features a dishwasher and probably everything you'd need. The laundry machines washed and dried well and quickly--great for travellers as well.
The bathroom was not exactly a spa (pretty basic), but it was clean, bright and comfortable. The bed was also clean but I found it a little hard for my tastes and couldn't sleep. My husband was ok. It seems a bit smaller than a queen to me. The bedding was decent but it was super luxurious, like a W or something.
The living area was also nice. The TV was pretty crappy which we only noticed because we were too dead tired to go out.
We live in the neighborhood so obviously we love it. Check out the St. Lawrence Market, St. James Cathedral, "Old Toronto", the lakefront (now improving on the east side up to Sherbourne), and you're a short walk to the Eaton Centre, the subway and a million other things.
All in all, for $120, very good. I'd recommend for people on long trips especially. Again, it's not a super luxurious hotel, but it's clean and comfortable. (I do hope they get softer beds though).

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CristinaSim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

This used to be my favourite hotel in Toronto until my most recent stay. The rooms were dirty and falling apart. The bathroom fixtures were either loose, or didn't work, including the sink being stuck closed. The Zen fountains inside the rooms smelled a bit, likely from not being cleaned properly. There was clear grime in the kitchenette and the bathrooms.

Don't be fooled by their included breakfast; it is served in the bar downstairs and consisted of stale cereal and toast, bagels, milk and juice.

Was also offered 'free Martinis' - when we cashed them in at the bar, we found out they didn't even have a martini menu and the bartender wasn't very helpful. We felt like a nuisance to them.

There is also no consistency with the room types. For the same price some rooms have a balcony, some do not. Some have a shower and a tub, some just a small shower. Some have a sitting/bar area, some just have a small shelf with stools to sit at.

Their customer service has also declined. Twice I have requested a room with a tub, twice I have been denied, even though the reservations were made well in advance. They emailed me an offer, but then wouldn't honor the advertised price. No explanation was given.

For the prices they charge, you may want to conisder an alternative. It isn't the boutique hotel it used to be.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank t.ocouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Pros:
-Convenient location downtown, a block away from the King St. stop
-Large, quiet rooms with full-sized bathrooms (a culture shock for those used to miniscule, noisy New York, London, and Tokyo accommodations)
-Inoffensive, generic, spa-modern decor of pale monochromes and bamboo flooring (a relief for those with an allergy to chintz, furze, and Fauxtorian decor)
-Floor-to-ceiling windows and a decent-sized balcony
-Mini-kitchen with micro, coffee-maker, dishwasher, clothes washer, and electric kettle
-Comfortable bed

Cons:
-Decor and fixtures are starting to get run-down and in need of refurbishing
-WiFi was intermittent and slow to the point of agonizing (a major annoyance for those traveling on business), and available only for an extra charge per day

Overall it was a perfectly decent experience. It won't rock your world, but it's a mid-range alternative if you'd prefer to avoid one of the chain hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Used a Groupon (sucka!) that promised luxury spa getaway meets boutique hotel. Again - - gotcha sucka! The hotel is centrally located,actually great location that is close to Front St., downtown shopping, entertainment venues, etc. No complaints on that score. Groupon sold the deal with a $25 hotel credit to upgrade from a Zen suite to a Lotus suite. Sadly, as soon as the word groupon escaped our lips, the hotel was sold out for the night and we could not use the credit to upgrade -- unless we wanted the penthouse suite for $3500 a night. I wish that I had taken photos of our Zen suite, replete with stained Ikea Klippen sofa, because the notion of anything in the Cosmopolitan, short of a used car in their parking garage, being worth $3500 is insanely funny. The "suite" was really a dorm room with very dirty, dusty, yucky decor nods to new age/feng shui....two water features with bamboo (and algae!)...a yoga mat that I would not use without a round of penicillin....and empty wine bottles as design. Thoughtfully, the management had loaded the CD player with something that sounded like the music/bird sounds they play when you are getting a massage. Also interesting were the slightly Scientology looking literature/pamphlets on finding your inner healthy child that were left on the tv stand but could be purchased at checkout for $19.95. We looked for Yanni, Ramtha and Linda Evans in the closet but couldn't find them. We faced a rooftop exhaust system so all the yoga and incense in the world would not have made this serene or tranquil.
Congratulations to the Cosmopolitan (and Groupon) for zapping us for $159.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank sarahej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

My husband and I thought the Cosmopolitan was okay. It was in a relatively convenient location close to the subway and the bed was comfortable. But the biggest issue? We came back to our room one day and noticed the door wasn't closed all the way (slightly opened, the door had not "clicked" close). When we noticed and opened the door, we thought maybe housekeeping was there, but they were not. We then inquired downstairs at the front desk and they said housekeeping had just finished our room recently. They must not have closed the door all the way by accident. That is a pretty big accident. Luckily, we did not have any valuables lying around. Furthermore, we didn't think the room was that well kept either. There was definitely dust balls in the hidden areas and the furniture seemed a bit worn out. Another thing to mention is that upon arrival, front desk had asked us what incense we would like for our turn-down service, so we checked "lilac." However, during our whole stay, we never got this incense at all. At check out, we mentioned it and they offered to give us some "to go." We would probably opt to try another hotel if we visit Toronto again.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank jtml0802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Just returned from a quick one night stay at the Cosmopolitan Toronto-
I travel frequently to the city and have been curious to try it out-as its well situated and I always enjoy a boutique hotel experience.
I was well in a nutshell-very underwhelmed.
Apart from the good service by the front desk staff and Valet-the Cosmo comes up way short.
I stayed in room ONE on the 20th floor-which features a very strange layout, and really could not accommodate more than 1 adult.
The hotel seems to lack in basic upkeep-
The rooms have been furnished with what comes across as cheap imported furniture-and they are really showing wear and tear-and really not up to a 3 star rating-
The cleanliness also is very concerning-the room was definitely surfaced clean-and my socks were covered in dust after simply unpacking-
The room features a very nice shower-but again has not been kept up-and there was very obvious mould and mildew all over the tiles –I had checked in during the evening and only noticed this in the am-or I would have requested another room right away.
Also encountered issues with the TV and phone system-both did not work-
I had really hoped to like Cosmopolitan.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank montrealtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Cambridge Suites Toronto
Cambridge Suites Toronto
#35 of 137 in Toronto
1,832 reviews
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#39 of 137 in Toronto
1,067 reviews
Downtown West
One King West Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Novotel Toronto Centre
Novotel Toronto Centre
#46 of 137 in Toronto
2,184 reviews
Downtown
Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Executive Hotel Cosmopolitan Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive Hotel Cosmopolitan Toronto

Address: 8 Colborne St, Toronto, Ontario M5E 1E1, Canada (Formerly Cosmopolitan Hotel Toronto)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#29 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: £117 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Executive Hotel Cosmopolitan Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban oasis in the heart of Toronto's financial district, the Cosmopolitan Toronto Hotel & Spa is a leader in the newest trend in lifestyle hotels and is recognized for its exceptional design concept, service and ambiance. A stay at the Cosmopolitan is the ultimate in intimate, modern comfort. With only 5 suites per floor, the amenities are generous and include windows & balconies that open to spectacular views of the city and Lake Ontario, hardwood floors, full kitchens, washer/dryers, 32 inch flat screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Executive Hotel Cosmopolitan Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Toronto Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing