We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very small rooms, old hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Knights Inn Toronto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Knights Inn Toronto
Ranked #113 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Livonia
1 review
“Very small rooms, old hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

The staff was very nice and helpful. The location was good, as it was in walking distance to the Eaton Center. The neighborhood is iffy. We were told by another guest not to go out at night and watch our car. The parking spaces are quite small and difficult to get into. When we checked in we were given a small room (just enough room to walk around the 2 beds) and no place to put the luggage. There were 3 of us. They moved us to a room on the 2nd floor that was bigger. To get to it, we had to climb numerous multi level steps, down a few different hallways. No internet connection in this far room and TV reception was bad. The hotel is nothing like the pictures shown on the internet. We couldn't get the room temperature adjusted. They had a baseboard heater and a window unit air conditioner that was hard to adjust.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reonkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    46
    58
    32
    62
See reviews for
27
69
30
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

I stayed Knights Inn Toronto as a Ryerson student for almost one year. The staffs are all friendly and professional. I don't know why some people speak ill of this hotel. Great location, reasonable price, clean room and waffles for breakfast. I really enjoyed my stay, thanks Sam!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yutaka7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munira D, Manager at Knights Inn Toronto, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our property. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hope to see you on your next trip to Toronto.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

We decided last min to go to Toronto and booked this hotel. The pictures looked ok. When we got there've ask for a quiet room. Well the room was all but quiet. First night I got 3 hours sleep , door banging, water frim other rooms , people screaming, well I can not recommend this place at all. Rooms are tiny, shower is a small corner .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank volker07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Toronto hotels

Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

I stayed there for one night. The staff were nice and helpful and the room looked OK before going to bed. The bed was full of bed bugs and I could not sleep at all. I had bites all over my neck, hands and legs. I moved to another place for the next night.
The breakfast was minimum and the price was too much for a room that you couldn't even use its bed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Super nasty. Pictures are not even closer to the real hotel. Rooms were super small and super nasty!! Carpet was dirty, bathroom was nasty nasty nasty. Price was not fear for what I got. I would never ever stay there again, not even if it is for free.
I went there with my whole family, we had 4 rooms, and all rooms were dirty !! The only good thing is the location.
Parking is $15 per night and there is a public parking right accross the street for $5 per night.
Not happy at all!! DO NOT STAY THERE.! I had a bad experiece, I hope you find something better

Room Tip: Super nasty. Pictures are not even closer to the real hotel. Rooms were super small and super nasty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marcela a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights at the Knights Inn, the room was small but clean with a comfy bed. What more do you need when you're out explorig Toronto? The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, giving advice on where to eat. The beds were made and towels replaced daily which I did not expect for a low price/budget hotel. The street the hotel is on was nife and quiet but there were some interesting characters in the area, this is the price you pay for staying downtown in a big city!! No sign of bed bugs or pests of any kind. Highly recommended to anyone on a budget. Also, car parking very reasonable at $15 a day.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saspa20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munira D, Manager at Knights Inn Toronto, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our property. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.


Hope to see you on your next trip to Toronto.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

I was in Toronto for a conference during he film festival so rooms were ridiculously expensive. This room was reasonable, pretty close to conference. Near the university, not the most savoury area but not unsafe. Bed was comfortable, bathroom decent, and breakfast was a nice touch, especially make your own waffle. TV had limited stations but free internet was reasonable speed and worked ok in room on second floor. Staff were helpful and very polite.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgefromAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Comfort Inn City Centre
Comfort Inn City Centre
#82 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Downtown
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown
Downtown
Isabella Hotel and Suites
Isabella Hotel and Suites
#108 of 132 in Toronto
3.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Filmores Hotel
Filmores Hotel
#107 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Chinatown
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#100 of 132 in Toronto
3.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Etobicoke
Canadas Best Value Inn Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Toronto

Property: Knights Inn Toronto
Address: 117 Pembroke St, Toronto, Ontario M5A 2N9, Canada (Formerly Downtowner Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Toronto 1.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Downtown Toronto, this historic property offers the contrast of old town look with newly renovated rooms. Conveniently located, this property is mere five minutes walk from the Eaton Centre, Allan Gardens, Dundas Square and many other tourist attractions including award winning restaurants. It is one of the few hotels in Downtown which has survived the York period (Former Toronto). Hop onto a street car or Subway and you are at the Toronto Convention Centre, University of Toronto, CN Towers, Rogers Center, Hockey Hall of Fame, China town,American Embassy and Harbor front within ten minutes. At Knights Inn we are committed to making your stay as comfortable as possible. All our staff members are dedicated and will provide you with excellent service, making your stay memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Knights Inn Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtowner Hotel Toronto
Downtowner Motel Toronto
Downtowner Inn Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing