We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Budget Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Knights Inn Toronto
Ranked #117 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I won't bore you with a lengthy review, just points to help you decide if this is a good place to stay:

-Staff were very friendly
-Location is very good and within walking distance of many amenities including the subway
-Neighborhood for some would seem sketchy, but we walked back to the hotel at 12 at night and felt totally safe. We come from a 'not great' neighbourhood so we were used to this
-Place could have definitely been cleaner. POOP SMEAR on bathroom wall by toilet paper roller, walls looked dirty, splashes, stains. Gummy tree sap on carpet by door made for not-fun-times with socks. Breakfast area was very clean, bed was spotless with new sheets. NO BEDBUGS, nor sign of any previous bedbug problems.
-Room for 2 was $60+ tax.
-No amenities in room: no chair, no bedtables, no microwave, no phone book. Very basic.
-BREAKFAST: Toast w/jam, butter, marmalade. Tang orange juice, coffee, milk. Corn flakes. Struggled with running out of spoons and knives. Had to get the front desk to come out and restock. They did have a waffle maker, but watching 5+ people using it that morning, all the waffles stuck to the machine, even with oil. Very basic breakfast, but it will get you by if you just need something to start the day. Coffee was actually very good!

All aside, I am definitely going to stay here again. We come to Toronto a few times a year so hotels get expensive. We really just need a place to lay our heads, and get up and going in the morning. I can forgive the poop smear. I mean, I'm not sleeping on the walls.

A good stay for a night or two, any longer and you might want to check out the Super 8 in Chinatown (another hotel we enjoy).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rochelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munira D, Manager at Knights Inn Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you for taking time to review our property. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you on your next trip to Toronto.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
There are newer reviews for Knights Inn Toronto
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 130 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Knights Inn
Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Munira D, Manager at Knights Inn Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The Royal York this hotel is not, however the nightly charge is a fraction of the cost!
The sheets + towels were spotless, pillows brand new! Bathrooms spotless, not a hair or a spec of dirt! Air-conditioning, refridgerator worked well. Staff, Incredible, basically bent over backwards to try + accomodate every request.
Pluses:
Downtown, decent area, clean bedding + bathrooms, exceptional service, free breakfast, brand new TVs
Minus:
Old, tired carpets + rooms, cable stations lacking, small windows with no view
We stayed here during our Lions convention, (4 women). I have stayed many hotels, but I have to say the friendliness + customer care makes this little Gem the best secret in the entire down town area!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bickerton2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munira D, Manager at Knights Inn Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you for taking time to review our property. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you on your next trip to Toronto.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Knights Inn
Thank Dulce R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Munira D, Manager at Knights Inn Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Staff was nice but room was very small, missing bed tables, a lamp did not work ,bed was mediocre and hurt myself few times on corner extending from the base of the bed. Many loose baseboards surrounding heating system. AC was very dirty. One towel in bathroom only. Very disappointing experience

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Knights Inn
Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munira D, Manager at Knights Inn Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you for taking time to review our property.

We have heard your concerns and we are working on them to resolve the issues at the earliest to provide better customer service. At any time during your stay with us please feel free to contact the front desk if any issues/ problems arise.

Hope to see you on your next trip to Toronto.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Knights Inn
Thank Dustin B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Munira D, Manager at Knights Inn Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Knights Inn
Thank Etienne P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Munira D, General Manager at Knights Inn Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown
Downtown
Comfort Hotel Downtown
Comfort Hotel Downtown
#78 of 137 in Toronto
483 reviews
Downtown
Filmores Hotel
Filmores Hotel
#111 of 137 in Toronto
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Comfort Inn City Centre
Comfort Inn City Centre
#81 of 137 in Toronto
276 reviews
Chinatown
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#96 of 137 in Toronto
197 reviews
Chinatown
Studio 6 Toronto
Studio 6 Toronto
#98 of 137 in Toronto
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Toronto

Address: 117 Pembroke St, Toronto, Ontario M5A 2N9, Canada (Formerly Downtowner Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range: £79 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Toronto 1.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Downtown Toronto, this historic property offers the contrast of old town look with newly renovated rooms. Conveniently located, this property is mere five minutes walk from the Eaton Centre, Allan Gardens, Dundas Square and many other tourist attractions including award winning restaurants. It is one of the few hotels in Downtown which has survived the York period (Former Toronto). Hop onto a street car or Subway and you are at the Toronto Convention Centre, University of Toronto, CN Towers, Rogers Center, Hockey Hall of Fame, China town,American Embassy and Harbor front within ten minutes. At Knights Inn we are committed to making your stay as comfortable as possible. All our staff members are dedicated and will provide you with excellent service, making your stay memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knights Inn Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtowner Hotel Toronto
Downtowner Motel Toronto
Downtowner Inn Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing