We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its a cool place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Knights Inn Toronto
Ranked #117 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Halifax
1 review
“Its a cool place”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The place is calm, and good for the money. Especially the fact that its downtown Toronto makes it a great spot

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Knights Inn

Helpful?
Thank Oluwaseye M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munira D, Manager at Knights Inn Toronto, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our property. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you on your next trip to Toronto.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    47
    62
    34
    71
See reviews for
30
74
35
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I spent a night in this place thinking that it was a nice quiet place far from the crowd of the city .
I did not sleep one minute , the bed was smelling so bad that i had to spend the night on a chair .
I would differently not recommend this place to any one .
Thank you .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hab A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munira D, Manager at Knights Inn Toronto, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our property. We understand your concerns and are actively working closely with the housekeeping team to provide a much cleaner and pleasant experience.

Hope to see you on your next trip to Toronto.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius
Level 6 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I booked only because I was in transit to the airport & only for one night. Almost cancelled after reading all the bad reviews but have travelled enough to know not to let the bad reviewers win. I'd got the bus down from Montreal and arrived at Bay St... I walked to the hotel, very simple route & took only 25 minutes.

I was given room 233, it was much bigger than anticipated, bed etc were very clean, bathroom & shower looked like they had been recently renovated, a couple of small shampoo & soaps.

Staff at front desk very helpful & pointed me in the direction of CN Tower (which was decidedly unexciting).

Breakfast in the morning was ok... about what I'd have at home... a coffee, some watery juice & a bowl of cornflakes & a couple of slices of toast.

The airport bus wasn't very far away... maybe 500 m.

So overall, I got what I paid for. I work in the tourist industry & have stayed in all standards of hotels all over the world... some (even 5*) I wouldn't go near again... here I'd quite happily stay for a night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GordonRVilnius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munira D, Manager at Knights Inn Toronto, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our property. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you on your next trip to Toronto.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

place was a dump. location was okay, room was a dump bathroom was discusting mold and missing/broken floor tiles, crap all over the walls. stains on the floor ants all over the place.. complementary brekfest was a joke.. toast and 1 kind of cereal. coffee was gross and orange juice was water basically. no on site parking and nearest parking is few blocks away.. will never go back. worst hotel iv ever been to..

Room Tip: spend little more and get a better hotel/ location..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cbfourr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munira D, Manager at Knights Inn Toronto, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our property. We apologize for the inconvenience caused. The breakfast is complementary and includes waffles, cereals, toast , coffee, tea and one type of juice.

We value your feedback and will work towards the best customer satisfaction.

Hope you will give us another chance to serve you better.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

The staff are very friendly and helpful but aside from that I would not recommend the knights in as a place to stay. The hotel is in a very dangerous area, there in an emergency homeless shelter on the next street and drug addicts/drunks in the park beside the hotel all day and night. The area is very run down and poorly lit and full of unsavoury characters.

The hotel itself is in poor condition, there is no elevator, the air conditioning is next to useless and the rooms are filthy, the bed sheets where clean.

I am sure there are safer and better hostels to stay in.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Numpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munira D, Manager at Knights Inn Toronto, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our property. We regret that our property did not meet your expectations. We have heard your concerns and we are working on them to resolve at the earliest to provide better customer service.


Hope you will give us another chance to serve you better

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welland, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I won't bore you with a lengthy review, just points to help you decide if this is a good place to stay:

-Staff were very friendly
-Location is very good and within walking distance of many amenities including the subway
-Neighborhood for some would seem sketchy, but we walked back to the hotel at 12 at night and felt totally safe. We come from a 'not great' neighbourhood so we were used to this
-Place could have definitely been cleaner. POOP SMEAR on bathroom wall by toilet paper roller, walls looked dirty, splashes, stains. Gummy tree sap on carpet by door made for not-fun-times with socks. Breakfast area was very clean, bed was spotless with new sheets. NO BEDBUGS, nor sign of any previous bedbug problems.
-Room for 2 was $60+ tax.
-No amenities in room: no chair, no bedtables, no microwave, no phone book. Very basic.
-BREAKFAST: Toast w/jam, butter, marmalade. Tang orange juice, coffee, milk. Corn flakes. Struggled with running out of spoons and knives. Had to get the front desk to come out and restock. They did have a waffle maker, but watching 5+ people using it that morning, all the waffles stuck to the machine, even with oil. Very basic breakfast, but it will get you by if you just need something to start the day. Coffee was actually very good!

All aside, I am definitely going to stay here again. We come to Toronto a few times a year so hotels get expensive. We really just need a place to lay our heads, and get up and going in the morning. I can forgive the poop smear. I mean, I'm not sleeping on the walls.

A good stay for a night or two, any longer and you might want to check out the Super 8 in Chinatown (another hotel we enjoy).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rochelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munira D, Manager at Knights Inn Toronto, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our property. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you on your next trip to Toronto.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown
Downtown
Filmores Hotel
Filmores Hotel
#113 of 137 in Toronto
22 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Hotel Downtown
Comfort Hotel Downtown
#75 of 137 in Toronto
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Comfort Inn City Centre
Comfort Inn City Centre
#80 of 137 in Toronto
269 reviews
Chinatown
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#91 of 137 in Toronto
196 reviews
Downtown
89 Chestnut
89 Chestnut
#105 of 137 in Toronto
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Toronto

Property: Knights Inn Toronto
Address: 117 Pembroke St, Toronto, Ontario M5A 2N9, Canada (Formerly Downtowner Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Toronto 1.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Downtown Toronto, this historic property offers the contrast of old town look with newly renovated rooms. Conveniently located, this property is mere five minutes walk from the Eaton Centre, Allan Gardens, Dundas Square and many other tourist attractions including award winning restaurants. It is one of the few hotels in Downtown which has survived the York period (Former Toronto). Hop onto a street car or Subway and you are at the Toronto Convention Centre, University of Toronto, CN Towers, Rogers Center, Hockey Hall of Fame, China town,American Embassy and Harbor front within ten minutes. At Knights Inn we are committed to making your stay as comfortable as possible. All our staff members are dedicated and will provide you with excellent service, making your stay memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Knights Inn Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtowner Hotel Toronto
Downtowner Motel Toronto
Downtowner Inn Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing