We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs improvements” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Knights Inn Toronto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Knights Inn Toronto
Ranked #113 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
London, Canada
Level Contributor
261 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
“Needs improvements”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

Can't believe this is a wyndham property, first time staying here it wasn't so bad, we knew what to expect with no fancy room amentities or perks but this stay the room was in pretty rough shape. Bed was missing a headboard, had the puddy still on the wall from where the headboard goes, the bed frame was crooked and part of the bed was hanging over the side with the wooden bedframe showing. Not a single table or chair in the room besides the small night stand, the clock radio sits on the window ledge. Remote control for tv had no battery cover. Room was very small just enough to fit 2 beds basically. Towels for the bathroom were on the bed because nowhere else for them to put them, no glasses or cups in room, nothing. Location was ok for us as we've been before and knew the area, but for first timers you may have a hard time finding this place, down a side road and from the street you can't even see the Knights Inn signs or as a matter of fact can't even tell it's a hotel, large trees cover the front and entrance is surrounded by a wooden fence. 5 tiny parking spaces right out front, lucky if you get one. If not then park down the street somewhere in a lot.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    46
    57
    32
    62
See reviews for
27
69
29
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Bay, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

Stayed here this past weekend, all I can say is I would have rather slept in the park. The hotel overall is a complete dump. Spend the extra $$$ and stay in a real hotel. Hotwire should take this off their list. I will never use Hotwire again. DISGUSTING

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1boomee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Toronto hotels

Halifax
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The place is calm, and good for the money. Especially the fact that its downtown Toronto makes it a great spot

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Knights Inn

Helpful?
Thank Oluwaseye M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munira D, Manager at Knights Inn Toronto, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our property. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you on your next trip to Toronto.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

I spent a night in this place thinking that it was a nice quiet place far from the crowd of the city .
I did not sleep one minute , the bed was smelling so bad that i had to spend the night on a chair .
I would differently not recommend this place to any one .
Thank you .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hab A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munira D, Manager at Knights Inn Toronto, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our property. We understand your concerns and are actively working closely with the housekeeping team to provide a much cleaner and pleasant experience.

Hope to see you on your next trip to Toronto.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

I booked only because I was in transit to the airport & only for one night. Almost cancelled after reading all the bad reviews but have travelled enough to know not to let the bad reviewers win. I'd got the bus down from Montreal and arrived at Bay St... I walked to the hotel, very simple route & took only 25 minutes.

I was given room 233, it was much bigger than anticipated, bed etc were very clean, bathroom & shower looked like they had been recently renovated, a couple of small shampoo & soaps.

Staff at front desk very helpful & pointed me in the direction of CN Tower (which was decidedly unexciting).

Breakfast in the morning was ok... about what I'd have at home... a coffee, some watery juice & a bowl of cornflakes & a couple of slices of toast.

The airport bus wasn't very far away... maybe 500 m.

So overall, I got what I paid for. I work in the tourist industry & have stayed in all standards of hotels all over the world... some (even 5*) I wouldn't go near again... here I'd quite happily stay for a night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GordonRVilnius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munira D, Manager at Knights Inn Toronto, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our property. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you on your next trip to Toronto.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown
Downtown
Comfort Inn City Centre
Comfort Inn City Centre
#82 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Downtown
Isabella Hotel and Suites
Isabella Hotel and Suites
#108 of 132 in Toronto
3.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Filmores Hotel
Filmores Hotel
#107 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Chinatown
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#99 of 132 in Toronto
3.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Etobicoke
Canadas Best Value Inn Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Toronto

Property: Knights Inn Toronto
Address: 117 Pembroke St, Toronto, Ontario M5A 2N9, Canada (Formerly Downtowner Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Toronto 1.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Downtown Toronto, this historic property offers the contrast of old town look with newly renovated rooms. Conveniently located, this property is mere five minutes walk from the Eaton Centre, Allan Gardens, Dundas Square and many other tourist attractions including award winning restaurants. It is one of the few hotels in Downtown which has survived the York period (Former Toronto). Hop onto a street car or Subway and you are at the Toronto Convention Centre, University of Toronto, CN Towers, Rogers Center, Hockey Hall of Fame, China town,American Embassy and Harbor front within ten minutes. At Knights Inn we are committed to making your stay as comfortable as possible. All our staff members are dedicated and will provide you with excellent service, making your stay memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knights Inn Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtowner Hotel Toronto
Downtowner Motel Toronto
Downtowner Inn Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing