We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!!!”
Review of Gladstone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gladstone Hotel
Ranked #20 of 138 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2012

My friends and I stayed at this hotel after girl's night out at the Drake back in May. (FYI, I live in Toronto so I don't often book hotel rooms here.)

We chose the Billio Room and it was just the perfect room for a girl's night out! The room was a bit small but the decor was just lovely that we didn't mind at all. It was so good for taking pictures (which I can't upload due to privacy concerns of course)! It made our girl's night out extra special and more authentic if I do say so myself.

Overall, I really like this hotel. In fact, I'm thinking of booking a couple of rooms again in January for my birthday. YAY!

BONUS: We also especially liked the fact that we were able to ride on the antiquated elevator.

LINK to see the Billio Room: http://www.gladstonehotel.com/hotel/rooms/gimme-more/314-billio-room/

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mschocobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (807)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

510 - 516 of 807 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2012

After weeks on the road, staying mainly in chain hotels, we were happy to arrive at the Gladstone. If the purpose of travel is to try new things and to see new things, staying in corporate hotels doesn't enhance that experience. The Gladstone is an old hotel, renovated, but not scrubbed of its history and patina. There are beautiful, wide floor-boards, a vintage elevator, art installations and gallery spaces on every floor. Each room is uniquely decorated by (local?) artists. We were in two different rooms, because of a small problem with the bedside lamp in the first room. They were very different from one another, met all our needs, and NOTHING like a generic hotel room. The bathroom was small and painted lipstick red. I loved the look of the hot pink plexiglas shower door, but the mechanism was a bit awkward. That is a minor quibble with our overall enjoyment of the Gladstone. The staff was helpful in steering us to local restaurants and museums. I will stay there again.

Room Tip: I noticed that some complained of noise. We were at the rear of the property and had no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Got married on August 17th. I needed a place close to my venue to get ready and have some photos taken. They accomadated my request for early check in which was very cool. They also brought a steamer up to the room for a bridesmaids dress fix which was very helpful.
Or room was awesome. The interior and exterior where great for the pictures. The staff was all very friendly.
We even had a breakfast in the hotel restaurant the next morning with our out of town guests and the eclectic menu was quite good. Would absolutely stay again... Maybe for an anniversary:)

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ratmonkey13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Well, I just loved this place; wasn't sure about it on arrival, but once you head up those wide wooden stairs with that fab art up on the walls, you realise that this 'oldest boutique hotel in the world' is actually pretty special. The room was fun and they all seem to be individually decorated; sleep was excellent, but possibly my favourite part of the hotel is the lobby area on each floor...it is so peaceful there in the early morning, you can work, read, think with large self-service carriers of coffee and tea just around the corner. Free WIFI everywhere and no need for a password: loving that. The tram stops literally in front of the hotel (the 501), but even a trot down town is worth it because you end up passing great shop after great shop..NOW, the annoying thing is (a) shocking placement of sockets in the room (they actually appear to want to hide them) and (b) VERY noisy on weekend nights with the band bashing it out in the club below. So push that into your thinking when you look for your room - head up to the top floor if you can...anyway, from the groovy art, very helpful front desk to the funky staff and liberal-artsy feel to it, I warmed to this hotel after 20 minutes and that warm glow stayed with me for the four days of my stay - VERY GOOD VALUE TOO when compared to the anodine competition down town..

Room Tip: Be aware of band noise at the weekends - and try and get up to the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ReindeerSpotting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Being a Toronto native I seldom have a chance to experience the local hotels on offer, but I was able try out several of the Gladstone Hotel's rooms while my home was being repaired after a flood. My job requires that I spend at least 1/3 of my year living in hotels, all over the world, so I consider myself something of an expert...though rarely do I feel compelled to write a review. The place would have to either be pretty awful, or absolutely amazing. Gladstone Hotel is firmly in the later category: amazing amazing amazing. Not only was each room entertaining, in their own uniquely beautiful way, but they were uniformly comfortable, spotlessly clean, quiet and generally well appointed. Keep in mind that I wasn't staying as a leisure tourist -- my days were spent fretting over the state of my home, so it's no small feat that the hotel managed to create an air of calm and comfort like the Gladstone did. A large part of this is also due to the incredibly competent and friendly staff they have working there. There is nothing more depressing than checking into a hotel and being made to feel like you're inconveniencing the staff. The Gladstone experience is quite the opposite. Courteous, welcoming, knowledgeable. On top of all this, the hotel has two fantastic restaurants (a cafe and bar). Usually I can't wait to get out and explore when I'm in a hotel, and usually the hotel restaurants are sub par compared to what's on offer nearby -- once again, the Gladstone surpasses expectations and offers up delicious, healthy food in a relaxed atmosphere. The staff in the restaurant are just like their front desk counterparts, kind and attentive.
If you're planning a trip to Toronto, I have to tell you that booking a room at the Gladstone will greatly enhance your stay. I can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: rooms facing north -- away from the street -- are a little more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LostFoundLostFound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

I really enjoyed my experience at this boutique hotel. The staff were friendly and took the time to talk to you, unlike many chain hotels. I stayed in the Model Citizen, which was beautifully-decorated and the furnishing were well-maintained. While the room was small, it didn't feel cramped. The historical elevator, seating areas and wide halls with artwork really gave the building a unique feel, while modern conveniences such as free WIFI is appreciated (although the signal wasn't very strong in the room)

The only drawback I caution is noise travels in the building and the neighbourhood can get really busy in the evenings. I suggest considering this when you select your room. I was located facing east on the 3rd floor at the end of the hall, so didn't notice outside noise. But at least they provide ear plugs in the room. Overall, a fantastic experience and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ml2982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Very trendy, fun hotel. Each room is uniquely decorated in an artistic manner. It also has a trendy bar so it's a great place for people looking to have a fun time. There was all sorts of interesting and unique pieces of are displayed in the hallways and there was even a performance going on in the hotel when we arrived. Be sure to go through the different rooms on their website to pick your favorite! Overall a nice hotel!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Kristina X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Queen Street and West Queen West
Drake Hotel Toronto
Drake Hotel Toronto
#11 of 138 in Toronto
638 reviews
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#22 of 138 in Toronto
3,770 reviews
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Downtown West
One King West Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gladstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gladstone Hotel

Address: 1214 Queen St W, Toronto, Ontario M6J 1J6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#32 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: £137 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gladstone Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gladstone Hotel is not only the oldest continuously operating hotel in Toronto, it's also one of Canada's favourite Art Boutique Hotels. Blending historical Victorian architecture with contemporary elegance, downtown culture and whole lot of art, the Gladstone Hotel has a very diverse client base and is a hub for locals and international travellers alike. 37 Hotel rooms each individually designed by different Canadian artists, 2 restaurants, 4 event spaces including a ballroom with a full size bar, 3 Art exhibition spaces and a meeting room. We organize private events, staff parties, corporate events, press/book launches, weddings and more. Find out what people are saying about the Gladstone Hotel in Toronto, or leave a review of your own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Gladstone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gladstone Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing