We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”
Review of Gladstone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gladstone Hotel
Ranked #26 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Erie, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The Gladstone Hotel in Toronto is one of the most charming places we have ever stayed. While the room we had was small it was very nicely appointed and unique. I believe that every room was decorated differently by local artists. The bar and restaurant were excellent also. If you want to stay there you have to understand that it is the oldest hotel in Toronto so if you are looking for a modern place you may not like it but if you do stay there you will not be disappointed. Great staff and great location on one of the main streets. Lots of things to do in this area

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    259
    58
    22
    23
See reviews for
85
346
66
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thorold
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were attending an art show in the neighborhood as well as visiting our kids. My wife got a deal on a room at the Gladstone, and we have wanted to stay here before but it never worked out. The hotel is beautifully renovated, lots of old wood and a really cool old elevator. Art is on every wall and makes an interesting walk around the public spaces. Our room was small but functional, the washroom was very small but did the job. Bed was really comfy and the sheets were nice soft cotton. Breakfast in the downstairs cafe was very good service was friendly and efficient. One downside is the parking $25 additional cost seems a little petty but it is Toronto. We will stay again if we have the need.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Just wrapped up a one week stay at the Gladstone - it was wonderful - the room designs are so imaginative (every one individually designed by visual artists), well executed and well maintained - its a very genuine place - all the essentials were provided (great bed linens, operable windows, good water pressure, quiet, very clean, etc.) and none of the superficial add-ons were missed (over-sized washrooms, bathrobe, slippers, etc.). The front desk staff were very laid back yet courteous and professional - I had to change rooms due to my first room was pre-booked for a particular date - when I arrived in my new room, I protested that I couldn't stay in a lavender room with black and gold peacocks painted on all the walls - fortunately another room was available and I was moved immediately with no questions asked - I was given a reduced rate due to the length of stay and when I reviewed the bill and highlighted an error, the bill was corrected immediately. The Gladstone provided a very special experience and I wish I could find similar hotels in other cities around the world.

Room Tip: perhaps have a look at their portfolio of rooms images prior to booking and pick one you like, or le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rembrant1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Great experience. We received this as an anniversary gift. We had a great evening in the Melody Bar listening to karaoke. A really mixed crowd where you felt part of the family. The staff were all courteous and helpful. Our room was great fun (although I can't remember the name of it). Breakfast the following morning was delicious. Overall, this was a really nice experience in a hotel with a lot of character. It even has the old manual elevator with the cage door!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We we attending a concert nearby and decided to give the Gladstone a try.

The rooms were each unique and the charm was felt everywhere. The decor was like eye candy and the food terrific!

I have stayed in many boutique hotels around the world - this ones charm is artistic.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kindkitchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

The service was always good, the only bad experience was on the restaurant downstairs, the food took (no kidding) 30 minutes to arribe, when it was only a cheese table. Besides that, the room amazing, the design stunning and the atmosphere incredible.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2013

This is the second time we have stayed. First time was a splurge in the Tower Room. This time more down to earth in the SkyGlazer Room. Loved the vib of the place both times. It is clean and friendly. Gets a little loud but not out of control. We will definiitely be coming again.

Room Tip: higher floors are probably the most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
SoHo Metropolitan
SoHo Metropolitan
#9 of 137 in Toronto
752 reviews
Downtown West
Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#40 of 137 in Toronto
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Saint James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Downtown West
Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gladstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gladstone Hotel

Property: Gladstone Hotel
Address: 1214 Queen St W, Toronto, Ontario M6J 1J6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Toronto
#24 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#32 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gladstone Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gladstone Hotel is not only the oldest continuously operating hotel in Toronto, it's also one of Canada's favourite Art Boutique Hotels. Blending historical Victorian architecture with contemporary elegance, downtown culture and whole lot of art, the Gladstone Hotel has a very diverse client base and is a hub for locals and international travellers alike. 37 Hotel rooms each individually designed by different Canadian artists, 2 restaurants, 4 event spaces including a ballroom with a full size bar, 3 Art exhibition spaces and a meeting room. We organize private events, staff parties, corporate events, press/book launches, weddings and more. Find out what people are saying about the Gladstone Hotel in Toronto, or leave a review of your own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Gladstone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gladstone Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing