We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip, urban in funky part of town”
Review of Gladstone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gladstone Hotel
Ranked #25 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hip, urban in funky part of town”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Very cool. Great for the urban traveler. Cool bar and restaurant - didn't try the club myself but seemed humming. All that is said about the noise is true. If you want peace and quiet - go to the country. This is for cool urban types. Best part of town - very funky.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Louise64London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    252
    57
    20
    21
See reviews for
81
334
65
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My wife and I and 3 daughters had a great stay - we took the Tower Suite which is one of the coolest and most charming hotel rooms we have stayed in. The hotel has a great urban vibe within a beautiful 100 yr old Victorian building in Parkdale. Very friendly staff, welcoming cafe/bar with interesting beers on tap and tasty fresh food! Great indie restos and shops within easy strolling. Sweet views from Tower Suite and nice walk-out large patio - highly recommend.

Room Tip: Put the ear plugs in before bed - lots of street noise in our suite. (but we were expecting this and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My 18 year old daughter and I stayed here on a recent trip to Toronto and absolutely loved it. As soon as we walked in, tired after a lengthy journey, our spirits were well and truly lifted. The Gladstone's a cool (in every sense of the word), calm, not at all try-hard sanctuary. There really isn't anything I can think of to criticise. Our room was The Canadiana (which we'd chosen in advance from the very easy to navigate website) on the fourth floor overlooking Queen West. It was certainly big enough for the two of us. We loved the buzz from the street below (earplugs thoughtfully presented for those who might be disturbed by the streetcars) and the graffiti on the train tracks opposite. Before we even left the hotel for the world outside we were able to enjoy a couple of exhibitions showing in the gallery spaces, a comedy evening in the Bar (pay what you could afford), a vintage fair, dinner in the Gladstone cafe (great, fresh and simple food and very good service), and perhaps the best thing of all - the amazing elevator! We ate breakfast in the hotel every morning (complementary as part of our package). There's a real sense of history and of the importance of continuity here. The area around The Gladstone is so worth exploring too - really diverse and creative - and the 501 Streetcar stops right outside taking you into the heart of Toronto in a matter of minutes. Please think about staying here - you won't regret it. We didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: If you think you might be bothered by the noise from traffic (though earplugs were provided in our r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faerietwinkletoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

Every time I've stayed at this hotel I've been oh so pleasantly surprised by the room that was chosen for me. Art is life at this place. Puzzled or gray your mood will be set by the magic of wonder. Parking the cheapest on earth. Canadians take their karaoke seriously in the bar downstairs. Don't forget to eat your breakfast because you will not regret it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flickering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

our stay was overall excellent. the room we stayed in was on the small side, but the room and the entire hotel was just full of character. the artwork displayed everywhere makes staying there an event in itself. the location is also very good, with many options for eating and drinking in the area. there is a street car and bus stops right outside it. the staff were very helpful. it doesn't get 5 stars because the AC was REALLY noisy - it rumbles into life and just vibrates the entire time it's on. it was hot when we were in Toronto and we couldn't sleep without it, though out sleep with it on wasn't much better. really, it was a bit miserable at night.
pros: location, artwork, morning coffee (delicious and free)
cons: noisy AC, tiny (i mean 1 meter square) shower

Room Tip: go when it's cool to avoid using the AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drsoum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Angled old wood floors, large halls filled with turn of the 20th Century millwork and an elevator to match. The staff here are always at your beckoning call and happy to be so. Although our room was small it was comfortable. The Hotel is in a real trendy neighborhood and fun to walk around and explore fashion and food.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ounfri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I recently stayed here with my 15year old niece. We both loved it! The art work, elevator, location were all awesome! I parked down the street & was able to see some of the neighborhood...& felt really safe & very hip. The shower was a little small, but seriously all anyone needs is that wonderful soap & a bucket. Great stay

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ADELE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Queen Street and West Queen West
Drake Hotel Toronto
Drake Hotel Toronto
#4 of 136 in Toronto
614 reviews
Downtown West
SoHo Metropolitan
SoHo Metropolitan
#10 of 136 in Toronto
717 reviews
Downtown West
Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Downtown
The Saint James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gladstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gladstone Hotel

Property: Gladstone Hotel
Address: 1214 Queen St W, Toronto, Ontario M6J 1J6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Toronto
#24 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#32 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gladstone Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gladstone Hotel is not only the oldest continuously operating hotel in Toronto, it's also one of Canada's favourite Art Boutique Hotels. Blending historical Victorian architecture with contemporary elegance, downtown culture and whole lot of art, the Gladstone Hotel has a very diverse client base and is a hub for locals and international travellers alike. 37 Hotel rooms each individually designed by different Canadian artists, 2 restaurants, 4 event spaces including a ballroom with a full size bar, 3 Art exhibition spaces and a meeting room. We organize private events, staff parties, corporate events, press/book launches, weddings and more. Find out what people are saying about the Gladstone Hotel in Toronto, or leave a review of your own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Gladstone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gladstone Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing