We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wedding at the Gladstone”
Review of Gladstone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gladstone Hotel
Ranked #26 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Uxbridge, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A wedding at the Gladstone”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

From the time we checked in to the time we checked out, the service was top notch. They couldn't be more attentive and helpful. The food was amazing and the venue just can't get better. The building is old and has many imperfections that make it spectacular. The art displays throughout the hotel are stunning along with the living plant wall. The elevator is an experience, beautiful crafted and quite unique. The room was beautifully decorated. They are small rooms, typical of a boutique style hotel. The Eggs Benedict was fabulous. It is definitely not for the economy minded. But worth the price we paid. Lovely stay.

Room Tip: We did hear that rooms facing Queen Street were a bit noisier than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brokebuttravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    259
    58
    22
    23
See reviews for
85
346
66
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel is set apart from all other classic everyday hotels. We stayed here for my 28th birthday, my husband found it and surprised me with a weekend in Toronto. The rooms are decorated beautifully and uniquely, and we had a great experience here. Amazing location and wonderful bar on the main floor. There was a mix up and we got bumped up to a new room on our last night which was on the corner and had a great view - no extra charge! Definitely recommend!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashleycee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

We choose the Gladstone for a January birthday getaway. It was perfect in every way. We booked The Racine Room as my husband is using old suitcases to decorate his studio at home so we wanted to check it out. The bed & linens were lovely. We ate dinner in the Cafe... ordering the chickpea salad, steak (which was superb) and pumpkin pie! Oh yes we did! What delicious food beautifully presented. My birthday question was answered with a fun & resounding yes!!!!
"Will ya still need me? Will ya still feed me! When I'm 64?".

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key Largo, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

No room is the same, the whole place is a art gallery with very unique pieces. Good location in the art district easy walk or tram to downtown. Great entertainment and restaurants in walking distance (Duke Hotel).

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are noisier (only single pane windows). Heat by A/C only. Room size varies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keysmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anahim Lake, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

My then boyfriend (now fiancé) surprised me with a room and dinner at the Gladstone Hotel. We stayed in the Billio room. It is a very romantic and beautifully designed room. The antique furniture held up by old books combined with modern hints and bold colours really had me in awe. It is an art hotel at its finest with a gallery on the second floor and art displayed on every wall. No two rooms are alike which you do not see anywhere else in Toronto and makes you want more. The elevator really stood out and made you realize that even with the modern art displays it is an old hotel. We loved the dinner as well. I highly recommend the lamb ribs. The sauce is divine and they are cooked to perfection. The service was friendly and ambience was cozy and romantic. We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel and plan on staying there again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adriana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We went to a friend's wedding on New Year's Eve. We booked this hotel because of its proximity to the wedding venue. Biggest mistake ever.I don't know where to start.

1) LOUD! We found out on check-in that the hotel was hosting a large party for NYE. The party was located on the 1st and 2nd floors of the building. Our room was on the 3rd floor, right above what sounded like a night club. We got back from the wedding at ~1am. The floor was shaking and it was impossible to get any sleep. There was also a party going on in the hallway lounge on our floor. I phoned the front desk to ask when the party would be over and they were not apologetic at all and didn't offer to move us rooms. They just said "shortly". We were never given any warning that there would be a party going on there that night. Had we known, we would have booked a different hotel.

2) TINY! My boyfriend could barely fit in the shower and he is very slim. There was no counter in the bathroom, which made getting ready difficult. Also, there was no large or full-length mirror. Two people could not stand in the room at the same time basically. Something I might expect for NYC, but certainly not Toronto.

3) Did I mention that this evening cost us $300. Complete garbage!

Don't waste your money!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank L_MOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2013

My Financee and I stayed at the Gladstone in room 406 and 407 (not sure which themes) for 4 days this past week. The customer service was impeccable. The front desk was more than helpful with any request we had but what was even better was the location of the hotel. You are on queen street west which is like the bohemian/arts/hispster vibe and it lended it self to a lot of different bars and places to eat. One place I would recommend to stop at is Grand Electric in Parkdale Village (less than a 5 minute walk). I enjoyed my stay and will be back in Toronto when it's warmer!!

Room Tip: There is a bit of a temperature difference between rooms facing the street. If you're hot-nature...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winglennika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
SoHo Metropolitan
SoHo Metropolitan
#9 of 137 in Toronto
752 reviews
Downtown West
Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#40 of 137 in Toronto
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Saint James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Downtown West
Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gladstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gladstone Hotel

Property: Gladstone Hotel
Address: 1214 Queen St W, Toronto, Ontario M6J 1J6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Toronto
#24 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#32 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gladstone Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gladstone Hotel is not only the oldest continuously operating hotel in Toronto, it's also one of Canada's favourite Art Boutique Hotels. Blending historical Victorian architecture with contemporary elegance, downtown culture and whole lot of art, the Gladstone Hotel has a very diverse client base and is a hub for locals and international travellers alike. 37 Hotel rooms each individually designed by different Canadian artists, 2 restaurants, 4 event spaces including a ballroom with a full size bar, 3 Art exhibition spaces and a meeting room. We organize private events, staff parties, corporate events, press/book launches, weddings and more. Find out what people are saying about the Gladstone Hotel in Toronto, or leave a review of your own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Gladstone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gladstone Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing